We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Desoto Terraces - Perfect for a Weekend Getaway”
Review of Desoto Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Desoto Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Tybee Island
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Desoto Terraces - Perfect for a Weekend Getaway”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

The Desoto Terrace properties are perfectly simple with several of the comforts of home. We stayed in the first floor property designed like a small studio apartment - including a king bed, pull out couch, small but complete kitchen (no dishwasher), washer and dryer, large dining table, and one bathroom. The kitchen also includes many dishes, glasses, cutlery and some pots and pans.

Staff were very friendly and the property was clean and well kept. As a guest of the Terrace properties, you have your own parking space and access to all the hotel amenities as well. The properties even have onsite recycling!

Best of all, are the large front porch and location. You are just steps away from the beach, and although the porch view of the beach is obstructed, you can enjoy the breeze, sounds of the waves, and the several rocking chairs and a hammock.

Room Tip: Hands down, I would suggest any of the DesotoTerrace Properties, especially those on the 2nd and 3rd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SegaSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    455
    339
    166
    79
    64
See reviews for
362
452
55
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We asked for an ocean view and loved it!! We found everyone to be nice there but we also had some trouble with the housekeeping not vacuuming. I also thought the room doors needed to be cleaned and the bathroom door and woodwork were dirty. The bedding could be updated for sure and the game area glass windows were awful!! Didn't use the pool, breakfast was okay, parking very tight. Overall, a pretty nice stay, but what we really paid for was the view, beach access, and balcony.

Room Tip: Ocean front for sure!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ssev7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowell, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We were looking for a hotel in Cocoa Beach when we were visiting the Kennedy Space Center. This hotel is wonderful, the staff is excellent and very helpful. Accommodations very good, we had an ocean front room and it was great.

Thank you for a wonderful time at your hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djhogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clyde, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We were very impressed with the cleanliness of our hotel room and of the entire hotel as a whole. We had a room with an ocean view which we would highly recommend. It was the perfect place to sit in the morning and watch the dolphins swim by. We went in early May and there were quite a few jellyfish washed up on the beach. It wasn't a big deal for us because we didn't go swimming out in the water but I would be concerned if I had small children swimming out there. This hotel is quite a way down the beach from the main public beach which worked for us. Walking down the beach was the perfect way to get some sun without laying there roasting. Most of the shops had the exact same tourist stuff so you could go to the store across the street from the hotel and see everything you would see if you went all the way downtown. At first we thought there weren't enough restaurants and bars on this end of the strip but after exploring we realized there were actually quite a few. We ate a Macalwees which was good but if you keep walking there are several nice places right after that.

Room Tip: Get an ocean room view with a balcony. Worth the extra money because you can sit and watch the beac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulielolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Went for a quick weekend trip with me and my 3 daughters. Staff was excellent, beach was beautiful, chairs and umbrellas were resonabily prices and comfortable for a day of lounging on the beach. Rooms were nice and comfortable. Already planning our next visit. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Noting but good things to say about our experience. Visit the CRAB SHACK while you are in town. Super atmosphere and great crab legs!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GGlick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Economy, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Very nice Family oriented hotel with nice pool and easy access to the beach. Well appointed room, and adequate buffet breakfast. We found it to be an excellent value. The staff was very cordial to guests.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GramG08-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeSotoBeachManager, Manager at Desoto Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Thank You so much for your wonderful comments, we hope to see you soon. The DeSoto Beach Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

I booked another hotel online and arrived and found terrible everything. Left and drove to DeSoto. Spring break, but they had a room available for walk-in. Gave me discount for "walk-in". Felt much safer here, rooms were better and it was a good location. Parking lot a little tight. Best rooms will definitely be considered the OCEAN FRONT. Oceanview rooms over look parking lot. The hotel is "U" shaped and there is an echo from noises and especially talking that could be heard in room. Overall, MUCH better than the 1st one I went to - and I will definitely go back and stay at the DeSoto again.

Room Tip: Don't read reviews from just one website. First hotel had great reviews on one site. Afterward...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anonymous0621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tybee Island
10.5 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
1.3 mi away
Sea & Breeze Hotel
Sea & Breeze Hotel
#7 of 8 in Tybee Island
3.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
1.2 mi away
Admiral's Inn
Admiral's Inn
#5 of 8 in Tybee Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Savannah Historic District / Riverfront
1.2 mi away
Hotel Tybee
Hotel Tybee
#2 of 8 in Tybee Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
0.6 mi away
Surf Song Bed & Breakfast
Surf Song Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 8 in Tybee Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desoto Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desoto Beach Hotel

Property: Desoto Beach Hotel
Address: 212 Butler Ave., PO Box 1398, Tybee Island, GA 31328-9794
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Tybee Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Tybee Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Desoto Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only oceanfront hotel on Tybee Island. Direct beach access with oceanfront pool sundeck and game room. Free continental breakfast and WIFI. Voted best place to stay 7 years in a row. Beautifully re-modeled rooms and a heated and cooled pool depending on the weather. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Desoto Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desoto Beach Tybee Island
Hotel Desoto Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing