We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only hotel on the beach”
Review of Desoto Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Desoto Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Tybee Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 June 2014

The Desoto is a fine hotel, you just shouldn't expect luxury. Everything you need is within walking distance, so it's easy to park your car for your stay. They do have a fridge, microwave and coffee maker in the room, and the also have a continental breakfast in the office.
The pool is much smaller than we expected, but you do have a ocean close by.
The staff is all very pleasant.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank DeeBJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,183)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

851 - 857 of 1,183 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2014

My friend and I spent three nights at The Desoto Hotel this past week-end and we had a wonderful time!!!! We had one of the 3rd floor ocean front rooms and loved it!!! Sat on the balcony mornings and evenings....enjoyed the island and the cute shops....loved the Tour of Homes.....rented a two-seater electric car and had a great time!!!! The Desoto Hotel was great, staff was very friendly and helpful! YES, WE WILL GO BACK!!!!!!! Thank you, Desoto Hotel!!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Judye7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeSotoBeachManager, Manager at Desoto Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

We loved having you and your girlfriend stay with us, what can we say Plan more Ladies weekends!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

Very friendly staff and super clean! This is our second trip to tybee and love it every time. Very impressed by this hotel! Free parking on site is also a plus since parking anywhere on the island is "pay to park" we even walked the 1.5 miles down to the end of the island. VERY NICE!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Melinncj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

The DeSoto is by far the best hotel on Tybee. The staff went above and beyond our expectations to ensure that our every need was catered to. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a nice, family friendly, comfortable hotel. I can't say enough about the staff. Exceptional!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Susieque13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeSotoBeachManager, Manager at Desoto Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank You so much your comments and feelings mean the world to us, we enjoy serving our guests with all we possibly can and with respect and smiles. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We went and visited Tybee Island, Georgia for the first time and stayed at this wonderful hotel. The staff were always helpful and gracious hosts while we stayed there. There room was beach front and was a great view as well as being right on the beach and within walking distance of great places to eat and shop.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeSotoBeachManager, Manager at Desoto Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Thank You Jennifer for your wonderful comments, we surely appreciate them, we hope you return real soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

For $220 a night I expected a lot more! This is not worth it. No ocean view for that price,only view of the parking lot. Rooms are not clean to my expectations. Staff was not friendly. If I'm paying $220 a night I would think a beach chair and umbrella could be included in that price. Not. The pool was not refreshing whatsoever. In fact it was hot water and extremely small. There are many other places on Tybee to stay. I won't be staying at Desoto again and wouldn't recommend it to anyone!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Annette G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeSotoBeachManager, Manager at Desoto Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Thank You for your comments, I do apologize for the heat of the water in the pool, we do have a heated and cooled pool however the heat was set too high I wish you would have let us know while you where here we could have rectified that immediately. Thank You once again and we hope we have the opportunity to better serve you when you return to the Island.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Spent 3 wonderful nights here in early April on a sister trip. We booked the "Honeymoon Suite' for the ocean view, and loved the suite, huge bathroom, walk in closet, big comfy king size bed, and the sound of waves at night. The woman who fixed our breakfast was very helpful with local info. Breakfast was cooked to order every morning, and there was lemonade and cheese and crackers every evening. Not a place to stay if you have trouble going up stairs, for there were two long flights. We loved waking early to the beautiful sunrises and shelling in the tidal pools. Found some great treasures. Easy to walk to most places on the island. We rented one of the little electric cars one day and that was fun access to go farther. (We did not have a car) Bikes are also available. Inexpensive taxi trips to and from Savannah.

Room Tip: We loved the third floor honeymoon suite with balcony and sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tybee Island
1.2 mi away
Admiral's Inn
Admiral's Inn
#5 of 8 in Tybee Island
96 reviews
10.5 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
1.3 mi away
Sea & Breeze Hotel
Sea & Breeze Hotel
#7 of 8 in Tybee Island
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Best Western Ocean Breeze Inn
Best Western Ocean Breeze Inn
#11 of 28 in Hilton Head
313 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Tybee
Hotel Tybee
#2 of 8 in Tybee Island
772 reviews
0.0 mi away
DeSoto Beach Bed & Breakfast
DeSoto Beach Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 8 in Tybee Island
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desoto Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desoto Beach Hotel

Address: 212 Butler Ave., Tybee Island, GA 31328-9794
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Tybee Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Tybee Island
Price Range: £76 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Desoto Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only oceanfront hotel on Tybee Island. Direct beach access with oceanfront pool sundeck and game room. Free continental breakfast and WIFI. Voted best place to stay 7 years in a row. Beautifully re-modeled rooms and a heated and cooled pool depending on the weather. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Desoto Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desoto Beach Tybee Island
Hotel Desoto Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing