We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice!”
Review of Desoto Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Desoto Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Tybee Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I was very pleasantly surprised with the DeSoto Beach Hotel. The rooms must have been very recently renovated because the room was in excellent shape. New beds, new fixtures, new furniture. There is a small fridge with a small freezer in the room (that actually kept things cold!), a microwave, a nice wardrobe, and a brand new flat screen TV (although we never even turned it on). The free breakfast was pretty typical, but it was enough to get you started for the day. There was also free parking, which was great!The workers were all very friendly as well. You can also rent beach chairs and an umbrella in the front office to have some shade on the beach! The room was clean and comfortable. I'd stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karrie_625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,180)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

847 - 853 of 1,181 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014

After we leave "the city life" n downtown Savannah we head out to this lovely little beach! Its been a yearly trip now. Check in was a breeze friendly staff! But the "tourist" that come with vaction/summer time are crazy. We when left out for the day this little housekeeper was getting yelled at by this half naked lady about sand, in her room.. At the beach...(really?) she was apparently fresh off the beach and brought it in...and maybe drunk? At 10am? Who knows but It was so sudden how this lady appeared the houskepper was stuned. But she was quick to offer vaccum it up right away, but she yelled no, I'm here now and I want to shower. She offered to come later and she barked no that won't work for her she wants to sleep. I don't know what's wrong with these tourist these days. We didn't Get to see what happend but after those two options what else can you do? The young lady was so great she tried her best to help you could not even tell that that she was annoyed or that the crazy lady was bothering her she was willing to stop every thing and take care of her right then! Some people you can't help. This hotel is so close to the beach you can walk, you can really walk every where in this beach community. Or a beach cursier and ride all over! We love this place and will back next year!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashley s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeSotoBeachManager, Manager at Desoto Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank You for your wonderful comments and as always it was our pleasure having you stay with us year after year, see you again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

The Desoto is a fine hotel, you just shouldn't expect luxury. Everything you need is within walking distance, so it's easy to park your car for your stay. They do have a fridge, microwave and coffee maker in the room, and the also have a continental breakfast in the office.
The pool is much smaller than we expected, but you do have a ocean close by.
The staff is all very pleasant.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank DeeBJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

My friend and I spent three nights at The Desoto Hotel this past week-end and we had a wonderful time!!!! We had one of the 3rd floor ocean front rooms and loved it!!! Sat on the balcony mornings and evenings....enjoyed the island and the cute shops....loved the Tour of Homes.....rented a two-seater electric car and had a great time!!!! The Desoto Hotel was great, staff was very friendly and helpful! YES, WE WILL GO BACK!!!!!!! Thank you, Desoto Hotel!!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Judye7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeSotoBeachManager, Manager at Desoto Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

We loved having you and your girlfriend stay with us, what can we say Plan more Ladies weekends!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

Very friendly staff and super clean! This is our second trip to tybee and love it every time. Very impressed by this hotel! Free parking on site is also a plus since parking anywhere on the island is "pay to park" we even walked the 1.5 miles down to the end of the island. VERY NICE!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Melinncj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

The DeSoto is by far the best hotel on Tybee. The staff went above and beyond our expectations to ensure that our every need was catered to. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a nice, family friendly, comfortable hotel. I can't say enough about the staff. Exceptional!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Susieque13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeSotoBeachManager, Manager at Desoto Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank You so much your comments and feelings mean the world to us, we enjoy serving our guests with all we possibly can and with respect and smiles. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We went and visited Tybee Island, Georgia for the first time and stayed at this wonderful hotel. The staff were always helpful and gracious hosts while we stayed there. There room was beach front and was a great view as well as being right on the beach and within walking distance of great places to eat and shop.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeSotoBeachManager, Manager at Desoto Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Thank You Jennifer for your wonderful comments, we surely appreciate them, we hope you return real soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tybee Island
1.2 mi away
Admiral's Inn
Admiral's Inn
#5 of 8 in Tybee Island
95 reviews
10.5 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
1.3 mi away
Sea & Breeze Hotel
Sea & Breeze Hotel
#7 of 8 in Tybee Island
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Best Western Ocean Breeze Inn
Best Western Ocean Breeze Inn
#11 of 28 in Hilton Head
308 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Tybee
Hotel Tybee
#2 of 8 in Tybee Island
770 reviews
0.0 mi away
DeSoto Beach Bed & Breakfast
DeSoto Beach Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 8 in Tybee Island
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desoto Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desoto Beach Hotel

Address: 212 Butler Ave., Tybee Island, GA 31328-9794
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Tybee Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Tybee Island
Price Range: £77 - £216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Desoto Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only oceanfront hotel on Tybee Island. Direct beach access with oceanfront pool sundeck and game room. Free continental breakfast and WIFI. Voted best place to stay 7 years in a row. Beautifully re-modeled rooms and a heated and cooled pool depending on the weather. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Desoto Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desoto Beach Tybee Island
Hotel Desoto Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing