We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous hotel. It is one of my favorites!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Desoto Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Desoto Beach Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Tybee Island
Certificate of Excellence
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous hotel. It is one of my favorites!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

This is my perfect idea of a hotel. We stayed in the Deluxe King Room with Ocean Front View. We had everything we could want: a private balcony, lots of space, a safe, Coffee Pot, refrigerator, microwave and king size bed. We were on the top floor with lots of privacy. The staff go beyond what is expected. We arrived at 9 pm and the lady at the desk told me she was getting worried about us and was so happy we made it.. The night lady gave us lots of extra coffee. I can't say enough good things about the staff. Everyone was so friendly and helpful.. I woke up watching the sunrise with a great view every morning and we walked the beach at night with very few people. It was very quiet unlike some places where you cant escape the noise. However if you like more noisy, populated, partying, and drinking areas go to the south beach. I had the most fabulous vacation ever. I am so glad I found this hotel.

Room Tip: If you want peace and quiet at night stay here. The beach on the north part of the island (Desoto H...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank June G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeSotoBeachManager, Manager at Desoto Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank You so much for your wonderful comments, can't wait to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,060 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    434
    327
    161
    77
    61
See reviews for
345
437
54
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

location is good.very pricy. more than $200 per night with no view of ocean. Guess rooms with view of beach are higher. could not regulate temperature in room. Was shocked to learn that we would have to pay another $30.00 per day to use hotel umbrella and chairs on beach. would have thought that would be included. Clean place to stay but should get more for money.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank June F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

I was very pleasantly surprised with the DeSoto Beach Hotel. The rooms must have been very recently renovated because the room was in excellent shape. New beds, new fixtures, new furniture. There is a small fridge with a small freezer in the room (that actually kept things cold!), a microwave, a nice wardrobe, and a brand new flat screen TV (although we never even turned it on). The free breakfast was pretty typical, but it was enough to get you started for the day. There was also free parking, which was great!The workers were all very friendly as well. You can also rent beach chairs and an umbrella in the front office to have some shade on the beach! The room was clean and comfortable. I'd stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karrie_625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

After we leave "the city life" n downtown Savannah we head out to this lovely little beach! Its been a yearly trip now. Check in was a breeze friendly staff! But the "tourist" that come with vaction/summer time are crazy. We when left out for the day this little housekeeper was getting yelled at by this half naked lady about sand, in her room.. At the beach...(really?) she was apparently fresh off the beach and brought it in...and maybe drunk? At 10am? Who knows but It was so sudden how this lady appeared the houskepper was stuned. But she was quick to offer vaccum it up right away, but she yelled no, I'm here now and I want to shower. She offered to come later and she barked no that won't work for her she wants to sleep. I don't know what's wrong with these tourist these days. We didn't Get to see what happend but after those two options what else can you do? The young lady was so great she tried her best to help you could not even tell that that she was annoyed or that the crazy lady was bothering her she was willing to stop every thing and take care of her right then! Some people you can't help. This hotel is so close to the beach you can walk, you can really walk every where in this beach community. Or a beach cursier and ride all over! We love this place and will back next year!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ashley s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeSotoBeachManager, Manager at Desoto Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank You for your wonderful comments and as always it was our pleasure having you stay with us year after year, see you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
250 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

The Desoto is a fine hotel, you just shouldn't expect luxury. Everything you need is within walking distance, so it's easy to park your car for your stay. They do have a fridge, microwave and coffee maker in the room, and the also have a continental breakfast in the office.
The pool is much smaller than we expected, but you do have a ocean close by.
The staff is all very pleasant.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank DeeBJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Valley, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

My friend and I spent three nights at The Desoto Hotel this past week-end and we had a wonderful time!!!! We had one of the 3rd floor ocean front rooms and loved it!!! Sat on the balcony mornings and evenings....enjoyed the island and the cute shops....loved the Tour of Homes.....rented a two-seater electric car and had a great time!!!! The Desoto Hotel was great, staff was very friendly and helpful! YES, WE WILL GO BACK!!!!!!! Thank you, Desoto Hotel!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Judye7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeSotoBeachManager, Manager at Desoto Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
We loved having you and your girlfriend stay with us, what can we say Plan more Ladies weekends!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waynesville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

Very friendly staff and super clean! This is our second trip to tybee and love it every time. Very impressed by this hotel! Free parking on site is also a plus since parking anywhere on the island is "pay to park" we even walked the 1.5 miles down to the end of the island. VERY NICE!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Melinncj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tybee Island
10.5 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
1.3 mi away
Sea & Breeze Hotel
Sea & Breeze Hotel
#7 of 8 in Tybee Island
3.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
14.9 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Savannah Historic District / Riverfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Tybee
Hotel Tybee
#2 of 8 in Tybee Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
0.6 mi away
Surf Song Bed & Breakfast
Surf Song Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 8 in Tybee Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tybee Island Inn
Tybee Island Inn
#4 of 8 in Tybee Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desoto Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desoto Beach Hotel

Property: Desoto Beach Hotel
Address: 212 Butler Ave., PO Box 1398, Tybee Island, GA 31328-9794
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Tybee Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Tybee Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Desoto Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only oceanfront hotel on Tybee Island. Direct beach access with oceanfront pool sundeck and game room. Free continental breakfast and WIFI. Voted best place to stay 7 years in a row. Beautifully re-modeled rooms and a heated and cooled pool depending on the weather. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Desoto Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desoto Beach Tybee Island
Hotel Desoto Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing