We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Desoto Beach Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Tybee(Tybee Island)(Great Value!)
US$196
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$176
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sea & Breeze Hotel(Tybee Island)
US$130
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Sky Suites(Tybee Island)
US$117
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tybee Island Inn(Tybee Island)
US$270
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dunes Inn & Suites(Tybee Island)
US$182
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$159
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Admiral's Inn(Tybee Island)(Great Value!)
US$186
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$171
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Atlantis Inn(Tybee Island)
US$143
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Sandcastle Inn(Tybee Island)
US$161
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$156
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Georgianne Inn(Tybee Island)(Great Value!)
US$275
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,255)
Filter reviews
1,255 results
Traveller rating
515
376
190
90
84
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
515
376
190
90
84
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroom was cleanheated poolcontinental breakfastocean frontoceanfront roomprivate balconydesoto beachstaff was very friendly and helpfuloff seasonyogurtnice poolcoffee makerspring breaklaid backtybeeislandmicrowave
Filter
Updating list...
915 - 920 of 1,255 reviews
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Nothing fancy but updated rooms. Probably best beach motel on Tybee and definitely the only one that you can walk onto the beach. Only complaint is poor water pressure in the shower and poor drains I am sure from all the sand. However great service to fix any of those issues.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bfdexp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We found ourselves halfway home to New Jersey and the wife and I decided to take a break on Tybee Island to enjoy a few days of rest and sunshine. Stumbled upon the Desoto Beach Hotel and as luck would have it we were able to get a nice room during their peak season as a result of an earlier cancellation. The room although small was clean and well appointed and I must tell you that the sheets and pillow cases were all crisply ironed and smelled as clean as the summer fresh air coming off the beach! Ironed sheets at a small hotel like this was quite a treat and it said a great deal about the owner/management of the hotel's guest standards. Moreover, the thread count on the sheets must have been over 300 and it was similar to what we have seen in 5-star properties like the Ritz Carlton! Cudos to the laundry staff and housekeepers!!!

Room Tip: All rooms seem about equal as this is a small property.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
2  Thank Roadtripper20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Way over priced area. Go to Hilton head island. Same prices but nicer beaches, hotels, location, etc. Hotel was OK . room had fridge in room which was nice. Also had continental breakfast. Had decent beach on property

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mobly914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We booked our vacation at the DeSoto after reading many positive reviews here on Trip Advisor, but our experience there was far from pleasant. The desk staff were impolite, the room was small, had clogged drains, smelly carpet and very spotty wifi. The breakfast is no more than boiled eggs and stale pastry like you'd get in a vending machine. For what they charge you should be able to expect a lot more. Absolutely the only thing this hotel has going for it is its location on the beach. Do yourself and your family a favor and don't stay at the DeSoto.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jessie627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeSotoBeachManager, Manager at Desoto Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Thank You for your comments, we do take every comment to heart and try to fix any issues that may have come up, I just wish you had visited with me while here and I would have been more than happy to rectify any situations that you had. I am very surprised however that you had an issue with our desk, we do pride ourselves on friendly service and yes clean rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Check in was easy, room was clean and a quick walk to the beach. We stayed here from June 25-30, 2014 for a destination wedding. All in all we were happy with the property. My only complaint was the shower and house keeping. I wish the shower would have had better water pressure, and as far as house keeping there pretty much was none. I am a pretty clean and organized person. I made our bed everyday and made sure things were put away and garbage was at the door. The first day, the room was cleaned sufficiently, the second and third day however the garbage was never removed, towels were just thrown on the bed, and coffee was never replaced our entire stay. One of the reasons we opted for a room with a private balcony overlooking the ocean was to enjoy a cup of coffee in the morning. Other than that the staff were very friendly and we enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: You don't need to spend the extra money for the ocean view room, you can pretty much see it from any room. Only do this if you want a private balcony.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amycameron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews