We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can get a view from across the bridge (landing at Captain Mike's dolphin tours)”

Cockspur lighthouse
Book In Advance
More Info
US$205.00*
and up
Fort Pulaski and Downtown Savannah Helicopter Tour
Certificate of Excellence
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
206 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Can get a view from across the bridge (landing at Captain Mike's dolphin tours)”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We missed the turnoff for Ft. Pulaski, and decided there was probably an entrance fee, anyway. We pulled off the road at Captain Mike's dock to see if there was a trip we could get. They were finished for the day, but the location allowed us to get photographs of the light to our satisfaction. It would be interesting to do the walk, but we didn't have the time or the proper shoes/clothes to try to do. Didn't have the time to try to do Captain Mike's trip the next day.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank JohnandJana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    44
    24
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Arkansas
Level Contributor
61 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Don't walk from the Fort to see it. Take a boat or Kayaks”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

I took the walk from the Fort Pulaski to the lighthouse. It is just a little under a 2 mile hike there and back to see the lighthouse. When you get to the end of the trail you can not get very close. I might could have got a little closer but I was not willing to walk in the bush to get there. You never know what is hiding in the marsh. I think that if you rented Kayaks like other reviews have said they did you would be able to get much closer and a better look. All in all it was a nice day for a hike and it was very peaceful.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank medicheath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very cool”
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

My dad and I took our kayaks out from north beach and paddled there during low tide.very slippery on the rocks around it and very sharp oyster beds!!(wear shoes).very cool lighthouse,is very cool on the inside also.

Helpful?
2 Thank 1218pubo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrensburg
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Drive by in a boat”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

This is a cool, small lighthouse that is out on an island in high tide. We saw it up close when we were on Captain Mike's Dolphin tour (where we saw dolphins) They pulled the boat up close to it. It is not in use now, but they are trying to get it accessible to visitors.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Gloria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A place to clear your head”
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Peaceful and beautiful in a way that seems timeless. A great place to take in a moment and let your mind wonder.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cockspur lighthouse also viewed

 
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Cockspur lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing