We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Spanky's Beachside

Spanky's Beachside
Ranked #14 of 54 Restaurants in Tybee Island
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, View, Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
78 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Location!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

As soon as we arrived on the island we headed here for lunch. It was a pretty day and we sat upstairs--what's better than an ocean view for lunch!! The menu was what we expected, lots of fried sandwiches and entrees. I had the crab cake sandwich which was delicious. It's not fancy but it's not fast food either. There was one ladies room downstairs and the wait for it was rather long. This place is great for couples, friends, and families.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pittsburgh12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    149
    88
    18
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Peoria, Arizona
Level Contributor
82 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“It's great beach food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

Wife and I ordered crab dip appetizer and chicken fingers and spuds. All of it was really good. Server was excellent. The items were a great value, especially given the location. We will be back and will order the steaks next.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Putterface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Um, service was good but I wouldn't go back.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

So I read good reviews about this place. Great location good service but food was not so good. Prices were ok being that it was right on the beach. It was kind of dirty, old and kind of run down in my opinion. It needs a facelift. And a new menu.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dmf52190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
70 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Wonderful service and food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

A group of 7 of us ate here twice during our Tybee stay. The restaurant is in a very convenient location, and there was no wait. The servers were fabulous amd friendly both nights, and the food was fresh and tasty. Everyone in our group thought their entree was delicious, from the shrimp to the wings to the quesadillas. I would recommend this place to anyone looking for great service amd top of the line food.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bigtravelchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Worth the wait”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We had to wait over an hour to be seated. We had 6 in our party. Everybody was happy with what they ordered. The staff seemed a little overwelmed.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank shmuelj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Spanky's Beachside also viewed

Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Spanky's Beachside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing