We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great other than for one person”

StingRay's on Tybee
Ranked #10 of 54 Restaurants in Tybee Island
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great other than for one person”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

Seafood was incredible, best we had. Drinks were great and service fabulous. We went back the following night just for drinks and another wonderful evening. But a little different on our 3rd night. We wanted to get drinks and a little something to eat, it was crowded but the hostess said it was no problem to be served in the bar, busy also. We sat and placed an order, our waiter returned to say he was not allowed serve us because the "host", did not seat us. We could go to the bar and order our own drinks but would not be served at the table. With the bar being way too busy and this one A-hole not caring if we stayed or not, we had no choice but to leave and go someplace else. Stingray's was still a great experience and wound not let this one idiot keep us from going back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ccrawl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,581 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    640
    507
    244
    108
    82
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

Nothing great. Not exactly the amazing seafood restaurant that most made it out to be. The bar was alright and the servers were polite and nice. Located next to a bike rental for the island so made for good location. An alright restaurant with alright food.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kurt K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
“Best clay's low seafood Boil and crab legs”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

Excellent food! The steamer plate options were just divine! Great experience even though the service was a bit slow...

Helpful?
Thank julianalme g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonora
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Seriously????????”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

Our dinner table was about 6 feet from the unisex bathroom, which was almost blocked with a stroller and booster chair that had to be moved a bit to get to the door, which was open most of the time while we ate. We were shocked when the food, including the oysters and soup, was served on Styrofoam plates. The plastic utensils were a little too much. The oysters on the half shell were awful tasting. The soup was decent, once I went to the bar and got a spoon to eat it with. Long story short......worst meal we have had, ever on a vacation.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank imj9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blountville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The worst service in the area”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

We absolutely had the worst time here. We asked for our daughters food first and then we placed ours second. It took forever to get her's let alone ours. I think from the time we ordered til when we got our food was over an hour. We told the waitress that it was my aunt's birthday and she said she would tell the man who was singing to give her a shoutout, which she never did. She was too busy doing sidework and trying to leave!! And if that isn't infuriating enough... our daughter got sick and so we rushed her to the bathroom. We asked for boxes to go and although she did bring those.. I had to go track her down for the check!!! I will never eat her again and I will let everyone know that this place obviously does not focus on the training of their employees!! The food was ok, what little we ate. And they were out of their specials! Should probably let people know when they sit down!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JulieUprightLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed StingRay's on Tybee also viewed

Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 

Been to StingRay's on Tybee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing