We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely on the dock” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of A-J's Dockside Restaurant

A-J's Dockside Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 54 Restaurants in Tybee Island
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Local cuisine, Bar Scene
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Ottawa
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely on the dock”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

The food was good based on three visits. We loved the gumbo! Service was fine and so was the live entertainment.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,340 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    553
    481
    181
    70
    55
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
thatsnwbrdchick
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“When Did Politics Enter Restaurants?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

Food was eh, would have been disappointed had we waited more than a few minutes. My main gripe:
What's with all of the political crap? As a democrat (like many visitors to Tybee), it was uncomfortable to see signs, bumper stickers, etc. bashing "liberals" at the front of the restaurant. While waiting to be seated, our family was "lucky" to be surrounded with "No Liberals", "The Constitution: Frustrating Liberals since 1786", as well as a hand typed, laminated sign comparing the "Liberal Dream" to a prison. I really don't care what others' political views are, to each their own. However I personally find it completely inappropriate (not to mention, bad business) to hang signs everywhere bashing a large part of your customers the second they walk through the door. As a disabled veteran, it always irks me as well to see those types of statements hung next to military signs. The two views are not mutually inclusive. Please stick to improving your food, instead of insulting your customers.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank thatsnwbrdchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tybee Island, Georgia
Level Contributor
207 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Decent food with great view ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Though we are locals, we had honestly not been to A-J’s and a couple of years. Always a wonderful place to watch the sunset, and really nothing has changed since we were last there, as far as atmosphere. The food is decent though the portions are certainly not huge. My shrimp Caesar salad was tasty, but it had a total of six shrimp, and not so much as a cracker, a hush puppy, or piece of bread in sight to go with it..... Service again, decent but just decent.
When asked by tourists if this is my favorite place, there are other places that I would visit first.

Helpful?
2 Thank Tybeeite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cullman, al
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great food! Off the beaten path.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

This adorable dockside restaurant consisted of a wonderful menu. I had the shrimp and grits and most of our group had the mahi mahi. Everything was cooked perfectly, even the asparagus and mashed potatoes! Highly recommended.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pocoimaking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
83 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“great food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

We stopped here on a rainy afternoon and got excellent service. They were busy but friendly and food was brought out very fast. We had the 1# crab appetizer and the crab chowder to start. Both were amazing. Two of us shared the gumbo that was delicious and hugh. Two shared the hamburger and said it was good, they were not fish people. We all shared the pecan pie and enjoyed it. We enjoyed our visit and would return if we lived here.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank MGD828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed A-J's Dockside Restaurant also viewed

Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 

Been to A-J's Dockside Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing