We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food-- If You Can Get It”

A-J's Dockside Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 55 Restaurants in Tybee Island
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Takeout
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good Food-- If You Can Get It”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

The missing ingredient at this restaurant seems to be logic. Our party of six went at about 6pm and we were told we'd have a 35 minute wait. We were okay with that until 30 minutes went by and we started seeing that most tables didn't have food on them, and that some of the larger tables that could accommodate parties of 6 or 8 had only one or two people at them! Seems that no one used any logic regarding where to seat people. Then we grabbed a menu and saw that it says to allow 30-45 minutes for your food to come out since everything is made to order. That explained why most tables didn't even have any food. We were hungry. We left.

We went back another day around 4:30 and were seated right away. The food was good, but nothing to rave about and certainly nothing to wait so long for.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BrowsingtheAtlas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,441 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    612
    503
    190
    77
    59
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely on the dock”
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

The food was good based on three visits. We loved the gumbo! Service was fine and so was the live entertainment.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thatsnwbrdchick
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“When Did Politics Enter Restaurants?”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Food was eh, would have been disappointed had we waited more than a few minutes. My main gripe:
What's with all of the political crap? As a democrat (like many visitors to Tybee), it was uncomfortable to see signs, bumper stickers, etc. bashing "liberals" at the front of the restaurant. While waiting to be seated, our family was "lucky" to be surrounded with "No Liberals", "The Constitution: Frustrating Liberals since 1786", as well as a hand typed, laminated sign comparing the "Liberal Dream" to a prison. I really don't care what others' political views are, to each their own. However I personally find it completely inappropriate (not to mention, bad business) to hang signs everywhere bashing a large part of your customers the second they walk through the door. As a disabled veteran, it always irks me as well to see those types of statements hung next to military signs. The two views are not mutually inclusive. Please stick to improving your food, instead of insulting your customers.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank thatsnwbrdchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tybee Island, Georgia
Level Contributor
213 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Decent food with great view ”
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Though we are locals, we had honestly not been to A-J’s and a couple of years. Always a wonderful place to watch the sunset, and really nothing has changed since we were last there, as far as atmosphere. The food is decent though the portions are certainly not huge. My shrimp Caesar salad was tasty, but it had a total of six shrimp, and not so much as a cracker, a hush puppy, or piece of bread in sight to go with it..... Service again, decent but just decent.
When asked by tourists if this is my favorite place, there are other places that I would visit first.

Helpful?
2 Thank Tybeeite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cullman, al
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great food! Off the beaten path.”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

This adorable dockside restaurant consisted of a wonderful menu. I had the shrimp and grits and most of our group had the mahi mahi. Everything was cooked perfectly, even the asparagus and mashed potatoes! Highly recommended.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pocoimaking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed A-J's Dockside Restaurant also viewed

Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 

Been to A-J's Dockside Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing