We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay on Tybee Island”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
DeSoto Beach Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 8 Tybee Island B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Alabama
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great stay on Tybee Island”
Reviewed 20 November 2013

This was our first visit to Tybee Island and it was wonderful! This is a unique place to stay. We stayed in the Butler room on the main floor, and had access to the kitchen. Each morning we were greeted with a smile from Debra who prepared a delicious breakfast for us. She is a interesting person and shared her knowledge of the island and stories of Savannah. Each evening we relaxed on the porch and was served complimentary cheese with wine by Tony. Edward the raven also graced us with his presence. Tony went out of his way to make sure our
needs were met. The people at the front desk were friendly and extremely helpful. A note to the owner .... the staff working for you are definitely an asset to this bed and breakfast.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the Butler room, but if we stayed here again we would choose the upstairs suite. It has a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sailorboyAlabama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    29
    6
    4
    6
See reviews for
28
142
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toledo, Ohio, United States
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

The house was beautiful! It was peaceful and literally STEPS from the beach! We stayed in the Atlantic room which is at the back of the house. Our room had a huge window with a nice view of the beach. The pool was the perfect temperature, too! I really liked that you can rent beach chairs and umbrellas and the staff will set them up for you right away! Debra cooked a hot breakfast every morning for us and there was lots of different food to chose from (eggs, pancakes, bagels, sausage, bacon, biscuits and gravy, english muffins, etc.) ! She really made our stay memorable by taking excellent care of us and all our needs. She was very friendly and very polite. I would recommend this bed and breakfast to anyone and I am planning on visiting again next year!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whit R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenwood, South Carolina, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We were so glad to have found the only B & B directly on Tybee. Stayed in the Butler room which was very clean but a tad small. Next time we will reserve the upstairs suite. Nicest amenities included access to kitchen, fridge and all main living spaces. Hammock and porch also very relaxing areas. Daily wine and cheese hour! Homemade goodies also put out for guest by Debra. Excellent section of beach too.

Room Tip: Go for the Atlantic room or upstairs suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denine Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McDonough, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We happened upon this charming B&B by accident. We decided to take a road trip to Tybee Island and find a hotel when we got there.There were no vacancies at the Desoto Beach Hotel, so when they offered us a suite in their adjacent B&B we were so pleasantly surprised! The home was charming and the Tybee Suite was beautiful. It was furnished beautifully and best of all, it was immaculate. The king size bed and pillows were soooo comfortable, and the sheets were very nice. Even the towels and toiletries were great.The closet space was huge! it even had a refrigerator and safe. The entire home was impeccably decorated, even with beautiful tropical murals. The living room and dining room were huge. There were porches in the front and back with lounge chairs and a hammock. Our room had a huge private balcony overlooking the ocean. There is also ample parking in the front.

The BEST part of our (too short) visit was the Innkeeper, Miss Debra. She was so inviting, cordial, sweet, and gracious. She went above and beyond to make our stay wonderful. She made us three awesome breakfasts, one better than the next, and the last day surprised us with her DELICIOUS pecan French toast. There is a little visitor, a black crow named Edgar, that came every morning, and sat on Miss Debra's shoulder, as she fed him some goodies! Pretty cool! We so appreciated everything she did for us!

I would recommend this B&B to al that come to Tybee Island. It is little piece of Heaven and we can not wait to go back.

Room Tip: Tybee Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CHRIS425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rutherford, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

This B&B is run by a non-owner manager who is unsurpassed. She genuinely cares that your stay is all that you wish it to be, going far above & beyond the call of duty. Quietly, diligently, without intruding on one's privacy. I hope management realize what a gem she is. We had a very nice suite, the largest in this three bedroom B&B, well stocked with towels and toiletries which was a pleasant surprise. Breakfast was a good selection, with both hot & cold choices. There are nice areas to sit and relax, both inside and out.

Room Tip: The suite is the largest accommodation and was perfect for my husband & I who are older.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villa Rica, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013 via mobile

The rooms were clean and very nicely decorated outside was sitting area and only a short walk from there the beach we stayed here for pirate fest the location was great we will do it again this year and stay here for sure we also brought our 2 kids and we had plenty of room

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank McGunnL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Where to start; upon arrival the small garden area looked nice but turned out to be a place for peeps to just smoke. We stayed in the Gardens East. It was decorated lovely with artsy paint, granite counter tops and tile floors but was so small you could barely get around the coffee table. If you like windows like I do, you will feel claustrophobic for sure. The only window is a glass door. The kitchenette is a wet bar with no stove top for preparing meals. The closet has some tiny shelves with no hangers available so bring your own if you need them. I am considered a small person but could barely squeeze between the side table and the closet door to enter to reach my clothes. There is no rack to place your suitcase on. You can hear everything going on in the unit next door and above, the toilet, shower; everything. It has a sleeper sofa, but I don’t know where you would put the furniture to pull it out. The bathroom is located off the kitchen in full view of the entrance glass door so make sure you always have something on when you come out. We also had a problem with the negative way the rules were written which made you feel of no value as a guest and more like an intruder. The bed looked nice but had those nasty sponge pillows that get lumpy, the sheets were so thin and the mattress was lumpy with sinkholes that you could hide your foot in..Although I love Tybee Island and stay there often, I will never stay in the “Gardens” ever again unless it is free and I have nothing else to do.

Room Tip: Stay in the hotel not the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tybee Island
Desoto Beach Hotel
#1 of 8 in Tybee Island
1,145 reviews
The Kimpton Brice Hotel
#17 of 113 in Savannah
1,261 reviews
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#13 of 113 in Savannah
3,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Downtown
Olde Harbour Inn - River Street Suites
Downtown
Mansion on Forsyth Park, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DeSoto Beach Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DeSoto Beach Bed & Breakfast

Property: DeSoto Beach Bed & Breakfast
Address: 210 Butler Ave, Tybee Island, GA 31328-9794
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Tybee Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Tybee Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — DeSoto Beach Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DeSoto Beach Bed & Breakfast is the closest B&B to the beach, just steps from Tybee Island’s beautiful shores. Our beautiful Bed and Breakfast, circa 1936, has three unique rooms: the Tybee "Honeymoon" Suite, the Atlantic Room, and the Butler Room. While staying with us enjoy a full, hot, cooked Southern Breakfast each morning, fresh baked cookies in the afternoon, and reception hour in the evening. Our home has free wi-fi and off-street parking plus you will have access to our hotel’s heated beachfront pool and sundeck. Beach chair, umbrella and bicycle rentals are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your DeSoto Beach Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desoto Beach Hotel Tybee Island
Desoto Beach Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing