We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
DeSoto Beach Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 8 Tybee Island B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chillicothe, Ohio
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“great stay”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Stayed in the honeymoon suite at the Desoto Bed and Breakfast. Room was nice with a small private balcony overlooking the ocean between buildings. Entire house was very clean, king size bed (memory foam mattress if you like that), large bath with large walk in closet and safe. Claw-foot tub, shower, 2 separate sinks. Breakfasts were good with a good selection of food and eggs made to order. Debra was a great resource for dining and attractions in the area. We had a great stay and would consider it again!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OhioRN11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    150
    28
    6
    3
    4
See reviews for
24
141
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Abingdon, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 17 April 2014

My first B&B experience. Deborah(Inn-Keeper) is a delight. She made us feel as though we were at home. She is also an excellent cook! She is very much at home on Tybee and shares her love for the Island with much enthusiasm. The Inn is very well furnished and comfortable.

Room Tip: The Tybee suite is more spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abingdon, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 April 2014

First time on Tybee Island and it couldn't be better. This place is great. The Butler room was a little small but very nice. The Inn Keeper Debra is a hostess of charm and wit. She is very informed on the area restaurants. She is also a good friend of the elusive yet friendly crow known as Edgar. Which happened to stop in for a visit while we were there. This would just be another B&B if it were not for Debra... she truly makes it a home to all the guest. She cooks an incredible breakfast each morning. You need to try the caramel pecan French toast... it is unbelievably good. I can't imagine any B&B having more charm than this one. Oh yeah, we really enjoyed the porch hammock and the short walk to the beach!

Room Tip: Get the Tybee Suite or Atlantic Room if possible, however, the Butler room is nice.... just a little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wall E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
1 review
Reviewed 16 March 2014

This was our first experience staying at a Bed and Breakfast. We were not sure what to expect but upon arriving, we were not disappointed. The house is lovely, quaint, but updated and so is the location. You're right on the beach! We stayed in the Atlantic room and it was clean and comfortable. Ms. Debra, the Innkeeper, was the sweetest person and very helpful. She is true southern hospitality! The breakfast she cooked every morning was superb and delicious and if you wanted something else she was more than happy to cook it for you. We were celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary and Ms. Debra put together sparkling wine, and cupcakes and added her own personal creative touch and left it in our room. Very, very, thoughtful of her. We can't say enough about her. She made our trip and stay a wonderful experience.
Thank you Debra!

Tom and Aileen H
Florida

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ACH66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norman, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 March 2014

This was our first bed and breakfast experience and we loved it. The house is lovely and the location is even better. It is right on the beach! Debra is wonderful and she makes the best breakfast! Lemon poppy seed muffins were my favorite!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Christina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Best experience possible at the Desoto Beach Bed and Breakfast. Location on the beach-perfect. So clean, rooms comfortable and the food was delicious. Debra who runs the place is a wonderful employee and person. She was so helpful to us and truly made our trip a great experience. I can't say enough about her. Keep her forever! We want to come back just to visit with Debra. And Tony the maintenance man was also very kind and attentive and helpful. As some of the other reviews have said, it exceeded our expectations. Thank you Debra!

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice. But the top room does have a great view. We would choose that one next time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lenoir, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at the Desoto Beach Bed and Breakfast. The house is nicely appointed in traditional beach style and immaculately clean. It is almost right on the beach and two of the rooms do have a partial view of the beach. Debra who cooks breakfast and does most of the daily maintenance of the rooms does an outstanding job. Her breakfasts are superb and there is a huge selection. She is very personable and extremely helpful in directing you to attractions and wonderful places to eat on the island. The house has wonderful porches with chairs and a hammock. The house is very easy to find and has free, off-street parking - a must on Tybee Island. Its only about 50 yards to the water and less to the sand. A nice beach which is quiet in the off season. All of the staff were helpful and very friendly. A very relaxing place to stay.

Room Tip: The Atlantic and the Tybee rooms are on the beach side and are nice but only have a partial view of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HwyTraveler02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeSotoBeachManager, Manager at DeSoto Beach Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
We Thank You for your review, and it was our pleasure to serve you and have your stay at our delightful B&B. Hoping you return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tybee Island
Desoto Beach Hotel
#1 of 8 in Tybee Island
1,126 reviews
The Kimpton Brice Hotel
#17 of 113 in Savannah
1,241 reviews
Downtown
Andaz Savannah
Andaz Savannah
#13 of 113 in Savannah
2,992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Kehoe House - A Boutique Inn
Downtown
Olde Harbour Inn - River Street Suites
Historic District - North
DoubleTree by Hilton Savannah Historic District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DeSoto Beach Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DeSoto Beach Bed & Breakfast

Property: DeSoto Beach Bed & Breakfast
Address: 210 Butler Ave, Tybee Island, GA 31328-9794
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Tybee Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Tybee Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DeSoto Beach Bed & Breakfast is the closest B&B to the beach, just steps from Tybee Island’s beautiful shores. Our beautiful Bed and Breakfast, circa 1936, has three unique rooms: the Tybee "Honeymoon" Suite, the Atlantic Room, and the Butler Room. While staying with us enjoy a full, hot, cooked Southern Breakfast each morning, fresh baked cookies in the afternoon, and reception hour in the evening. Our home has free wi-fi and off-street parking plus you will have access to our hotel’s heated beachfront pool and sundeck. Beach chair, umbrella and bicycle rentals are also available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Desoto Beach Hotel Tybee Island
Desoto Beach Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing