We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Campground is in a Great location close to historic Savannah.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tybee Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rivers End Campground and RV Park
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Campground is in a Great location close to historic Savannah.”
Reviewed 27 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this campground so we would have access to savannah and sight seeing. It was a nice little campground with a nice a nice swimming pool. Take your bikes or walk the three blocks to the beach. We camped here in motor home.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank TeamNickle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    73
    30
    15
    17
See reviews for
101
79
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

I reneged on my husband's image of me being a camper. After a horrible tent camping experience, I declared myself a non-camper. He bought a pop-up trailer for us in an attempt to get me back. Mosquitoes, half-burned/half-raw food, community bathing facilities, and coming back with every thing you own smelling like smoke- no thank you! But Rivers End is not like that-- well, it is, but they do such a great job of maintaining the place and, well, it's on Tybee so there's that, that I'll stay there, in the pop-up, gladly, anytime.

First of all, the bathrooms are great. Sure, they could be bigger, but you can get around in them and they are clean and well lit so they work. I know people complain that the spots are small but I've seen some monstrosities pull in and set up so it's not "that" bad. Besides, when your neighbor is having a fire, it's super easy to borrow their coals to make a killer s'more and possibly a friend. The river beach is a decent walk from the campground and is nice- though, be careful of the flyers and jellies. Bugs and jellyfish abound. There is the ocean side too with its waves and breeze and, at the right times, dolphins (we've seen 'em!). If the open water isn't your thing, stay at the campground and swim in the pool!

If you are in the mood for inexpensive food and drinks on a great patio, be sure to take the back way in to Huc-a-Poos. It is within stumbling distance to the campground or you can rent a bike at the next-door rental place.

Oh! And you can bring your pets! Try that with the more expensive house rentals.

The only bad stay we had was during college spring break when 2 consecutive nights a couple of monstrosities tried to host a site-wide, park-loud party but a call to the cops (who are a block away) quelled those issues. Seriously, the only "bad" thing I can say about this place is that the office and its free coffee doesn't open until 9, oh, and they won't let my kids get my coffee for me. Doesn't matter. I've invested in a Chu's cup and go there at sunrise. It's a great way to wake up on Tybee (and, yeah, I'll admit that I usually get a bit "lost" on my morning coffee run. The ocean is too pretty not to enjoy even in the early morning).

Room Tip: Bring it! :D
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ReneeCK6195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

We loved the camp ground! We have a pop up camper which is ideal for this place. We got site number 61 A, it is a end spot so we weren't cramped at all. The beach is about a 5 minute walk and the staff was accommodating. They had movie night while we were there which is great with kids. We had a great time and will return.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FBBHHI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013 via mobile

What a perfect and blissful vacation! If you are looking for a quiet, convenient, low key vacation spot, this is it! Although this campground is small, its size adds to part of its charm. Located at the north end of Tybee Island, it makes it much easier to maneuver an RV, rather than drive through the village. It is a short walk to the beach, lighthouse, shopping, and restaurants. I cannot wait to return to Tybee, and would definately recommend staying here at Rivers End to anyone looking for a relaxing island escape!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank arockrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Augustine, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2013

Your tent camping options in the Savannah area are extremely limited - as far as we could tell you have only two. You're not coming here for the natural vistas; you're coming because it's one of two camping spots close to Savannah.

First, the upsides. The campground is located very near the beach and is a short walk to rustic boutiques and interesting watering holes on the main road into Tybee Island. The campground staff is pleasant, extremely helpful and accommodating. The washrooms are clean and a short walk from any site. The pool looked clean although we didn't spend any time in it. Firewood was readily available on the perimeter of the property. You get a steady breeze at night from the nearby ocean which was pleasant and you can often hear the surf when the wind blows the right way.

As far as a camping experience, however, it isn't really ideal for tents. Almost all the the tent sites are right on top of each other. You have your own table and fire ring but you're so close to the next site that you're basically sharing sites with strangers, almost akwardly. So forget about privacy. There isn't any. The property is maximized for RV use and nearly every square foot has been developed; there are no natural shields between tent sites. The property is situated in a residential and industrial zone and one of the tent sections backs up immediately to some sort of yard with industrial clutter plainly visible. The other tent section is simply an open field. If you have an issue with raccoons invading your site (we didn't) you'll want to take precautions. The arcade isn't much fun for kids - two of the games were out of order. Lastly, the primitive sites are a bit pricey considering the value.

If you want to camp near Savannah you might try the state park first but this will do if you aren't too particular.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Joel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Village, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013

This was our first time visiting the Savannah area. We are so glad we decided to stay on Tybee Island. Rivers End Campground is great! At check-in, our hostess changed our site to accommodate a problem we were having with our leveling jacks. Later, when I had trouble getting the cable TV to work, Cindy came right over to our site and showed me a switch I needed to change on the antenna booster. What a gem! The park, itself is nicely layed out, clean, level, and the bathrooms (each is a complete private bathroom with sink, shower and toilet) are clean and bright. What more could we want? It's an easy walk to the beach and the lighthouse from the campground and a short drive to the business area. We spent the first two days on the island itself. Dined at Coco's, visited Fort Pulaski, walked on the beach - right through the bird refuge area, and toured the town. We'll, finally, venture into Savannah tomorrow. Yes, the price is a little high, but, we're right off the beach and a short drive from Savannah; you pay for that.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mbe96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denison, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

We stayed 1 night in a 35' 5th wheel. I would probably rate this campground a 4 or 5 if were not for the "discounted" price of $57.50. We have stayed in campgrounds that pricey (and more), but they are always much more modern, pristine and better layed out. I'm sure the price is due to the location (the island is beautiful), and they are probably the only campground on the Island, and not far (though not on) the beach. The campground is attractive, but neither the sites nor roads are paved. The bathrooms are clean, but old and "worn" looking. We had planned to stay a couple days, but left after one day, partly because of the rainy weather, but also because of the price vs. what you get for the money. $30-40 would have been a much more reasonable, even considering the location. If you want to RV camp on the island, this is the place to be. You will enjoy the campground, and the island, but they've got you because they're the only game in town.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank DanJJr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tybee Island hotels
1.0 mi away
Desoto Beach Hotel
Desoto Beach Hotel
#1 of 8 in Tybee Island
1,145 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sea & Breeze Hotel
Sea & Breeze Hotel
#7 of 8 in Tybee Island
313 reviews
2.0 mi away
Admiral's Inn
Admiral's Inn
#5 of 8 in Tybee Island
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel Tybee
Hotel Tybee
#2 of 8 in Tybee Island
728 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tybee Island Inn
Tybee Island Inn
#4 of 8 in Tybee Island
415 reviews
0.5 mi away
Surf Song Bed & Breakfast
Surf Song Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 8 in Tybee Island
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rivers End Campground and RV Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rivers End Campground and RV Park

Property: Rivers End Campground and RV Park
Address: 5 Fort Ave, Tybee Island, GA 31328-9710
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Tybee Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Tybee Island
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
River's End is Tybee Island's only campground. We are 3 blocks to the beach and 16 miles from historic Savannah. We offer campsites for tent campers, RV's and we have cabin rentals. See you under the oaks! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rivers End Campground And Rv Park Hotel Tybee Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing