We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The office staff do not know what they are doing.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tybee Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rivers End Campground and RV Park
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The office staff do not know what they are doing.”
Reviewed 26 July 2013 via mobile

The word accommodating isn't in their vocabulary. The office staff is horrible. The one exception one the part time young receptionist. I have written two reviews in 5 years of traveling with my husband. This stay was negative review worthy. We left early and went to another campground I think that says enough.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Sagewood10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    70
    29
    14
    17
See reviews for
95
77
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Augusta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013 via mobile

We got site #151 next to the primitive tent area. We stayed from Wednesday to Sunday. We didn't realize the we were in a low lying area because when it rains heavily our site and all of the tent area was under water. We had a motorcycle pop up camper which can handle up to 4" of water but we had 6" of water and it flooded our lower section of our camper soaking all of our clothes and anything else we had on the floor. So during the down pour we had to unload our camper and put everything into our truck. The water finally went away around 5 am. Thank goodness we had an a/c and fan to dry out the tent camper the next morning.
I went into the office the next morning and asked if they knew it floods at our site and the woman said "well it was a lot of rain" and left it at that. Not a sorry or maybe a discount or is there anything we can do for you.... could have paid for us having to wash all of our clothes that got soaked... we spent 1/2 of our day cleaning up the mess from being flooded out.
The people in the tent area had to sleep in their cars.. I wonder if they still had to pay for their tent sites. Our site 151 is water and electric, not primitive.
*All in all we had a great time being walk distance to the beach, the bathrooms could have been a little bigger, but were clean and convenient. The people who were working and driving around the golf carts were very nice and help full, they were more friendly than the office staff.
We had some of our motorcyle group here consisting of two toyhaulers and 5 motorcycle campers. One of our members didn't have to pay for their site because they could barely fit the motorcycle camper on it, but we paid for a flooded site...
Okay, enough of the flooded area. NOT..
Stay away from site 151and primitive area next to it when it rains.. also it is very noisy at 6 am when the city trucks pull out from behind the camping area (sewage plant and recycler) The sewage plant gives a pleasant smell to wake up to on some mornings..
Well it is time to wait in line for a shower here at Rivers End Campgrounds. Until next time when we pick a dry weekend to camp here...

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peoria Heights, Illinois
Level Contributor
90 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We got in really late on our check in day, due to some unforseen circumstances. However, we had a reservation and it was so easy to find the map to our site and set up. Our pop up was the perfect size for our site, even though we got a really big one.(150) The next morning we completed our check in at the office. They give out free coffee in the mornings, too bad the office doesn't open until 9. :) The pool is nice, excpet I think it's heated, which makes no sense in the hot humid summer. The beach is 3 blocks away, perfect bike riding distance. The bathrooms are air conditioned and cleanest in the mornings. Although I wouldn't say that they are ever dirty, just sandy(as is everything else). The laundry facilities are great too. The kids (11 & 14) liked riding their bikes around to check everything out. All in all I highly reccomend this campground to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank phreakmamapink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maia, Portugal
Level Contributor
193 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

I satyed in this park for one night!....

The site is ok, clean and the spots are roomy and well prepared.

I would say that they should set more lights in the park in some areas.

The best thing is the fact that the park is placed very near the beach and the acess to the center can be done with the RV or Motorhome.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fneriteixeira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this campground so we would have access to savannah and sight seeing. It was a nice little campground with a nice a nice swimming pool. Take your bikes or walk the three blocks to the beach. We camped here in motor home.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank TeamNickle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

I reneged on my husband's image of me being a camper. After a horrible tent camping experience, I declared myself a non-camper. He bought a pop-up trailer for us in an attempt to get me back. Mosquitoes, half-burned/half-raw food, community bathing facilities, and coming back with every thing you own smelling like smoke- no thank you! But Rivers End is not like that-- well, it is, but they do such a great job of maintaining the place and, well, it's on Tybee so there's that, that I'll stay there, in the pop-up, gladly, anytime.

First of all, the bathrooms are great. Sure, they could be bigger, but you can get around in them and they are clean and well lit so they work. I know people complain that the spots are small but I've seen some monstrosities pull in and set up so it's not "that" bad. Besides, when your neighbor is having a fire, it's super easy to borrow their coals to make a killer s'more and possibly a friend. The river beach is a decent walk from the campground and is nice- though, be careful of the flyers and jellies. Bugs and jellyfish abound. There is the ocean side too with its waves and breeze and, at the right times, dolphins (we've seen 'em!). If the open water isn't your thing, stay at the campground and swim in the pool!

If you are in the mood for inexpensive food and drinks on a great patio, be sure to take the back way in to Huc-a-Poos. It is within stumbling distance to the campground or you can rent a bike at the next-door rental place.

Oh! And you can bring your pets! Try that with the more expensive house rentals.

The only bad stay we had was during college spring break when 2 consecutive nights a couple of monstrosities tried to host a site-wide, park-loud party but a call to the cops (who are a block away) quelled those issues. Seriously, the only "bad" thing I can say about this place is that the office and its free coffee doesn't open until 9, oh, and they won't let my kids get my coffee for me. Doesn't matter. I've invested in a Chu's cup and go there at sunrise. It's a great way to wake up on Tybee (and, yeah, I'll admit that I usually get a bit "lost" on my morning coffee run. The ocean is too pretty not to enjoy even in the early morning).

Room Tip: Bring it! :D
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ReneeCK6195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Carolina
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2013

We loved the camp ground! We have a pop up camper which is ideal for this place. We got site number 61 A, it is a end spot so we weren't cramped at all. The beach is about a 5 minute walk and the staff was accommodating. They had movie night while we were there which is great with kids. We had a great time and will return.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FBBHHI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tybee Island
1.0 mi away
Desoto Beach Hotel
Desoto Beach Hotel
#1 of 8 in Tybee Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,100 reviews
2.0 mi away
Admiral's Inn
Admiral's Inn
#5 of 8 in Tybee Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
10.0 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel Tybee
Hotel Tybee
#2 of 8 in Tybee Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tybee Island Inn
Tybee Island Inn
#4 of 8 in Tybee Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
0.5 mi away
Surf Song Bed & Breakfast
Surf Song Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 8 in Tybee Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rivers End Campground and RV Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rivers End Campground and RV Park

Property: Rivers End Campground and RV Park
Address: 5 Fort Ave, Tybee Island, GA 31328-9710
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Tybee Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Tybee Island
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
River's End is Tybee Island's only campground. We are 3 blocks to the beach and 16 miles from historic Savannah. We offer campsites for tent campers, RV's and we have cabin rentals. See you under the oaks! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rivers End Campground And Rv Park Hotel Tybee Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing