We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Construction site campin'”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tybee Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rivers End Campground and RV Park
Certificate of Excellence
Athens, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Construction site campin'”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Well, folks, this past weekend my boyfriend & I stayed in the primitive camping area at Rivers End on Tybee Island, GA. There was a broken water main, so no water or "facilities" for the entire park on Day 1. On day 2 the water was back on. Yay.
At the primitive campsite there were pools of standing water. Also, there's a construction site 10 feet from the camping area, featuring a giant hill of dirt, nail guns, and large manpowered machines. Construction begins at dawn every day except Sunday. Several of the camping plots have manhole covers leading to raw sewage lines. All the sites are a small rectangle of earth, often on an incline, that is filled with sand, gravel, cigarette butts, and the occasional patch of grass. It was not a pristine, gorgeous spot by any means. And it is NOT on the beach. Not by a long shot.
Here are the things that made this place bearable:
- Everyone else in the campsite was equally disgruntled and so we were comrades
- We cooked steak every night and bacon every morning
- Decently clean showers
- On Friday, there's a killer bingo night that starts at 8pm at the American Legion a few blocks away.
- And, of course, the beach is lovely (Rivers End is the laid back side of the island. If you want to party, ride your bike to the side of the island where the pier is.)

Room Tip: This is first & foremost an RV Park. If you want to camp in a tent, I suggest finding another l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Claire C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiversEndCampground, Front Office Manager at Rivers End Campground and RV Park, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Hello Claire! Thank you so much for your feedback. I am so sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at our park. The construction next door has certainly been a nuisance this summer and I am sorry to hear that it affected your stay. The project is scheduled to be completed in September and things should be much quieter then. It was actually the construction crew at that project that broke a water main on the Friday you were here, but luckily the water was back up and running in about three hours. Our fall projects include some significant upgrades to the Primitive Tent Site area and we expect them to be much nicer and more comfortable. We are not beach front and do our best to make that clear on our website and in our marketing materials. I apologize if you were misled to believe that we are on the beach. The beach is about 3 blocks away (or ½ mile), but easily accessible from the park. We truly hope that you will give us another chance after the construction has stopped and our site upgrades are completed!
Sincerely,
Rosie L. at River’s End Campground
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    67
    29
    14
    17
See reviews for
91
73
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Augusta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

This was the 2nd time we have been here, last year around the 4th of July our campsite #151 flooded. (Site 151 is now gone and they fixed that area from flooding. This year wasn't too bad, although we got rained out again and we had a 6" river flowing through our site at #69. We did some trenching to force the flow of water to the drainage ditch. We did see that the primitive camp area that was located near the side street going to the beach was flooded out again this year.
We had a very good camping experience and have re-booked for next year and of course we have decided to move our site again to higher ground. Hopefully next year will be better.
We know this place is over crowded, but the convenience of being a walking distance (1/2 mile or so) makes it worth while.
We can actually say that we enjoy coming here, but they really need to hire people who know how to control water flow and correct the drainage. You would think being City Owned that they could fix the problem.
I really like the set up they have for the bathrooms, Privacy! I have seen complaints about the bathrooms being dirty. If the kids would use the outside foot wash before entering the bathrooms, they would stay cleaner. The floor is always full of sand because people and kids don't rinse off before entering. The showers, toilets and sinks were always very clean! I have never seen them dirty.. For the complaints about kids on their bikes after quiet time.. Who Cares!? We sit up until 2 am and socialize with our friends. This is not a quiet campground, most people come here to enjoy a getaway and have fun.. If you want a quiet time, stay somewhere else..
We may have been Flooded out, but we sure do love coming here to stay a week to relax and enjoy the beach and get together with our camping friends..

See you next year!

Room Tip: Find High Ground campsite..
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amherst, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

I am not sure if all the negative comments if they were staying at the same campground, the site we were in was spacious and clean - I did note that some sites are closer together then others. The staff was wonderful, we had truck problems and ending up stayig three extra days they worked with us and got us moved to another site. The pool area was clean and well maintained, fellow campers were nice and at no time were we bothered by noise etc. The beaches were a 5 minute ride on a bike. Enjoyed every minute of it. We will be back. Bruce & Sue

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

This is our second trip in less than a year and we'll be back. First trip we stayed in our tent and the campsite was very clean and well maintained. Showers/restroom facilities were well stocked, clean and the water was hot.

Cabins are "close-quarters" but with small children, and in-house bathroom/showers much easier to handle.

Staff is courteous and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dturner57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

our family stayed there this pass week and I will not stay there again the sites are to close to each other, the staff are rude.at 10 pm its quite time, ya right kids running up and down the road yelling and riding bikes, then all the party's till way in the morning. the bath room/ showers were not clean and not enough of them, the beach was in walking distance 2 to 3 blocks away.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank katrina a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

The sites at this campground are ridiculously close together. Tents were practically tied off on top of one another. No shade-no space. We ended up going to a state park. Terrible! I don't recommend this campground if you want any privacy!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tyreefam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

We decided to camp here on our first trip to Tybee Island as it was the only campground on the island. We were there with our 8 and 12 year old grandchildren in a pop-up camper. When we arrived, we were disappointed to see how very close the sites were to each other and very little grass and absolutely no privacy in between sites. The worst part of our stay was the other campers next to us. They arrived at 10:30 pm with not one but two campers and several small children. It took them nearly 3 hours to set up, all while hollering to one another, talking very loudly and laughing and actually pointed their truck headlights into the campsite in order to see how to set up their sites. Needless to say, we got very little rest. There also was a "reunion" going on at the pool area until nearly midnight. This also was loud and disruptive...One more thing, the bathrooms were not very nice at all. I am a very small person, and could barely fit into the extremely small show stall. Not enjoyable.....The staff was friendly, but the fact that campers were allowed to make pretty much as much noise as they wanted, no matter how late it was, is the main reason we will not return or recommend this campground.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tybee Island
1.0 mi away
Desoto Beach Hotel
Desoto Beach Hotel
#1 of 8 in Tybee Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,089 reviews
2.0 mi away
Admiral's Inn
Admiral's Inn
#5 of 8 in Tybee Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
10.0 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel Tybee
Hotel Tybee
#2 of 8 in Tybee Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tybee Island Inn
Tybee Island Inn
#4 of 8 in Tybee Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
0.5 mi away
Surf Song Bed & Breakfast
Surf Song Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 8 in Tybee Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rivers End Campground and RV Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rivers End Campground and RV Park

Property: Rivers End Campground and RV Park
Address: 5 Fort Ave, Tybee Island, GA 31328-9710
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Tybee Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Tybee Island
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
River's End is Tybee Island's only campground. We are 3 blocks to the beach and 16 miles from historic Savannah. We offer campsites for tent campers, RV's and we have cabin rentals. See you under the oaks! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rivers End Campground And Rv Park Hotel Tybee Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing