We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smaller Than Expected”

Tybee Island Marine Science Center
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: We provide year-round programs for island visitors and groups . . . On the beach, in the marsh, on the water, in the classroom, and our Coastal Georgia Gallery. Our mission is to cultivate responsible stewardship of coastal Georgia's natural resources through education, conservation, and research. Island's Visitors: Walks, Talks & Treks and Sea Camp: Coastal Kids Ocean Adventure Corporate-Family-Elderhostel Groups: Authentic Coastal Experience and Floating Classrooms School Groups: Coastal Classroom Girl Scouts: Coastal Badge Program Boy and Cub Scouts: Barrier Island Patch Program and Oceanography Merit Badge Program Our Ocean Outreach program extends our educational reach to public and private events
Alamo, Georgia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Smaller Than Expected”
Reviewed 29 January 2014

First, the kids loved it. It is only two small rooms with aquariums but the displays are nice and neat and fun. I was disappointed with the touch tank. It is small and only had two small shell creatures.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cody S, Public Relations Manager at Tybee Island Marine Science Center, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Hi there! Thanks so much for reviewing us on TripAdvisor, as well as for supporting the center with your visit. I'm glad you enjoyed the displays, and understand that the center can seem pretty small. We're in the midst of a capital campaign for a new building that's been designed, approved by the city, and will be a reality in the next few years! Your visit to the center helps support our efforts at expansion, and we're grateful.

I also wanted to apologize for the Touch Tank seeming bare- this time of year can be difficult when it comes to collecting creatures on the beach. We make a practice of not purchasing any animals, so we collect from the island and release our animals after a short stay.

I hope you'll keep up with us as we grow and change, and will visit Tybee again one day to see our progress. Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

354 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    97
    61
    25
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
101 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Go to support the center but don't expect much”
Reviewed 4 January 2014

The entrance fee goes to a good cause so definitely go, but it's not much. They say there are four rooms and I think there were, but they were NOT big rooms. It's kind of like going into a fish/aquarium store...a small fish/aquarium store.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank terrapinproud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not great, but hopefully the cost will help improve the science center”
Reviewed 25 December 2013

The "4 room" science center wasn't much to behold. There were a few fish, turtles and the like but nothing out of the ordinary. Again, we figured we were helping to fund for an expansion but other than that I wouldn't make it a top priority.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank msadek13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Small but worth it”
Reviewed 18 December 2013

If you are already down on Tybee and just looking for a fun distraction for the kids it is totally worth going in. Cost is $4 and there are 4 small rooms of exhibits and aquariums. We wanted to see the new baby sea turtle but he was hidden due to swimming above the water line behind the front wall of the tank. It would have been nice if they had the type of tank that allowed better viewing. There is a very nice gift shop also.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank jessica b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
48 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice Little Aquarium/Museum”
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Our kids, my wife, and I really enjoyed this small but informative museum. It's a nice way to start out or finish up a day at the Tybee Island beach. They have quite a few local, native species of fish, turtles, and gators. The staff is very friendly and informative. The building itself is pretty basic, but the displays are very interesting. Just don't expect a huge commercial aquarium. This is clearly a small, non-profit museum that could use the few dollars in admission they charge. Decent gift shop, too!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank eastharbor11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tybee Island Marine Science Center also viewed

 
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Tybee Island Marine Science Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing