We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unreal how good this food and the service is!!”
Review of Sundae Cafe

Sundae Cafe
Ranked #1 of 54 Restaurants in Tybee Island
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dover, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
93 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Unreal how good this food and the service is!!”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

You can't judge a book by its cover......can't judge this restaurant by the outside......this is probably one of the most elegant and great restaurants we have ever eaten in. We had a wonderful waitress, Kate, she was so helpful and sweet to us. We had the pecan crusted chicken and the mixed seafood grill.....both were great......and for dessert, we had peanut butter pie that was absolutely out of this world. TOTALLY GO TO THIS RESTAURANT. I wish I lived in the area so I could go there again too!!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Valerie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,547 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,157
    267
    82
    19
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Asheboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Looks like a hole in the wall, but the food is amazing!”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Located in a small strip mall near a convenience store, you might be tempted to pass by. However, you won't be disappointed by going in and experiencing the incredible food and exceptional service.

It's a very small space, so go early for lunch or make reservations for dinner. We were there at 11:00 AM and were seated right away. Within 30 minutes the place was packed.

You could tell there were lots of locals eating there, which is always a positive sign.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
102 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Amazing gem hidden in a strip mall”
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

Our B&B owner recommended this eatery and called to make the reservations. Reservations are a must! Small place with closely set tables makes it a bit noisy. But the food more than offsets the noise. Amazon seafood entrees -lasagna, cheesecake, fish, oysters. Staff is over-the-top! We went twice in one week!

Helpful?
Thank Kathy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalamazoo
Level Contributor
34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“First Class Cusine”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Who would think that in a strip mall by a gas station there would be such an up scale restaurant. When you drive up it is a little off putting but once you enter the building you are amazed. The décor is very modern and professional. Service is attentive and the food is fantastic. A nice mixture of southern and continental. The chicken was so flavorful and the chopped salad was crisp and fresh. Try the pork chop it was huge and so yummy. This is a place you do not want to miss. Had to try the desserts and the key lime pie was some of the best we have had. We were lucky to get reservations but on the weekend they do not take them so go early and enjoy one of the best meals you will have in Georgia.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kjhoffmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
774 reviews
300 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 426 helpful votes
“Do not miss this place”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

From the location between a gas station and a liquor store, this looks like a greasy spoon, but it is NOT. The decor is modern, the service attentive, and the food is fantastic.

I had a fish sandwich (grouper) which I ordered without the bread and a side of okra and tomatoes (50 cents extra). The 2 fish fillets were grilled to perfection. It came with 2 slices of tomato and a large leaf of lettuce (for the sandwich) that were both very fresh. The side of okra and tomatoes was like nothing I had ever tasted. I am pretty sure it had some sort of ham in it, but not an overpowering taste. Wonderful.

My friend had a crab cake sandwich and coleslaw. The crab cake was bun-sized and great tasting. The slaw was great and not swimming in mayonnaise as it is some places.

We arrived right at 11:00 a.m., opening time, and the place filled up in about 15 minutes. I would recommend reservations for dinner, and be prepared for a wait for lunch if you don't arrive at 11:00 a.m.

We saw several firefighters and police officer's vehicles as we left the restaurant, so the locals love this place.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank capitollover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sundae Cafe also viewed

Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Sundae Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing