We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Run Away From This One” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sky Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sky Suites
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Tybee Island
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Run Away From This One”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

This was one of the worst hotel experiences I have ever had. Upon check in, we were greeted by the owner in a dirty wife-beater shirt. The room smelled like smoke even though it was a non-smoking room. There were several holes in the wall. The bedspread was stained and had what looked liked cigarette burns. The sheets were stained. The towels were threadbare at best. I had booked on a travel site and was charged more than I had booked. When I questioned it, the owner became belligerent. No matter how badly I wanted to stay in Tybee, I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank queenofthebears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    4
    8
    5
    66
See reviews for
25
34
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

Im a local savannah resident and had some friend's want a room and the better places on tybee were all booked so I resorted to calling this place. 1st phone call and he answers but is talking to someone in lobby so he just hangs up on me. 2nd phone call and he picks up and hangs up. 3rd phone call and he finally answers and when I ask about a room he says he has I room left. I explain to him im a local and want to hold the room and offer him a credit card to book it but he says no its fine ill hold it just come on down. So I say again that I'll give him a card. He insists its fine and I explain that im in town and have to close my shop and come down so he says about 30 mins right and I say im leaving now headed to him. I get there and in an arrogant tone he says he sold the room and I only had 30 mins. Huh...I offered guarantee on the phone with this man with my credit card. I left and will never visit that establishment again!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
14 Thank boatnut1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Tybee Island hotels

Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

Great location seconds away from a grocery store and beaches, shopping and tons more!! Will definitely come again!! Pool outside but i didn't use it because the beach was across the street! Thanks Mr Patel:)

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
5 Thank Candi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a night to visit the island and experience the nightlife around town. Perfect hotel in my opinion.... within walking distance of alll activies, food, the beach and bars. The room was clean and the best part it was cheapest around town and literally a 1 block to the beach. Definitely worth the stay if you aren't picky.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
8 Thank ExploringLively
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

The room smelled like funk. There were burns in the bedspread. Cock roaches scattered when bathroom light went on. The front desk did give me a freshly laundered bedspread when I took the funky smelling one to them. Avoid this place if u can! Ok if you're only on the island to party.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Sheilatea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
1,675 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 611 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

not the Ritz, but not a dump. it was okay, nothing special. short walk to the beach. the motel has a different name now. The desk receptionist seemed pleasant. I found the bed comfortable. Free Wi-Fi was nice.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank jlantern3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013 via mobile

It 's dirtiest place i'v ever been. Wow! The carpet is covered with stains, hair and dust everywhere. Towels in spots and very old.
The mirror is covered with traces of the hands. Non-smoking room that stank of cigarette smoke.
Ran away.
Swiming pool, was close but i would never even put my finger in .

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kizimova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tybee Island
0.6 mi away
Desoto Beach Hotel
Desoto Beach Hotel
#1 of 8 in Tybee Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,059 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sea & Breeze Hotel
Sea & Breeze Hotel
#7 of 8 in Tybee Island
3.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
11.1 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ocean Breeze Inn
BEST WESTERN Ocean Breeze Inn
#10 of 29 in Hilton Head
4.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Tybee
Hotel Tybee
#2 of 8 in Tybee Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dunes Inn & Suites
Dunes Inn & Suites
#3 of 8 in Tybee Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sky Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sky Suites

Property: Sky Suites
Address: 905 Butler Ave, Tybee Island, GA 31328
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Tybee Island
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Tybee Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Sky Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Sky Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing