We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“will stay here again...”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Royal Palm Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tybee Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Royal Palm Motel
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Tybee Island
Macon, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“will stay here again...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

nice motel not far from the beach walkover, staff very friendly and helpful, rooms quite, the pool is great.

Room Tip: bring your own pillows, coffee,and shampoo. bring a beach cart to carry your stuff
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ratmom48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    39
    12
    2
    10
See reviews for
38
22
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Smyrna, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

Very basic, extremely clean rooms. The pool is very nice and clean, too. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. It's fairly close to the beach but it was too far to walk with all our stuff - chairs, cooler, etc. The are lots of parking spaces near the beach on the side streets. We would definitely come back!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Betsy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hinesville
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

This is a great place that is minutes from the beach! We rented a suite that slept 10 people very comfortably. It is a family friendly environment with a very clean pool. the staff is friendly and do provide towels daily. It is in walking distance to the beach, stores, and restaurants. It is not a very romantic spot but it is great if you are planning on bringing the kids along.

Room Tip: The rooms on the end have more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tracy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kmc779, Manager at Royal Palm Motel, responded to this review, 12 December 2012
Thank you for the great review! However, I would like to point out that our suite only sleeps 6 people.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carnesville, Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

My husband, daughter and her friend,and I stayed 4 nights in a room with 2 double beds. It was very clean and the staff was very friendly. The room had a small fridge and a microwave which came in handy to save a little on eating out every meal. There is a small grocery store a couple of blocks down. The location was good for us. You could cross the street in a crosswalk and then it was a short walk to the beach which was not nearly as crowded as the main strip by the pier on down. We saved money staying here which helped since you have to pay pretty much everywhere you park other than the motel. We had a really nice time and hope to return again next year. The only complaint I had is the parking spaces at the motel are really tight.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank time4fun706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2012 via mobile

One of the cleanest places I've ever stayed. The place is a little older, but who cares. The staff is very friendly, even loaned me a hair dryer. See y'all again!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lovey7256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
conyers,ga
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

Double Tree,Peabody,Hilton........This is not for you,keep looking. If you want to expierience the early days of motor lodging, this is it. Small rooms,very clean,comfortable bed,nice flat pillows,super clean swimming pool.Towels were supplied daily,attentive staff.We stayed the week-end of Memorial Day,May 25-28 20012. Trop storm Beryl provided nice breezes,and lots of big waves at the beach,very little rain.If your itinerary is to stake out at the beach,enjoy good restaurants,do some shopping,this place will do just fine.We returned exhausted every day,only to find this to be a nice oasis of comfort.Had a few drinks at the pool every evening while the grand kids spent their last reserves of energy We had a party of six,and two rooms,no complaints at all.Be sure to bring your own coffe.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelhawkConyers_ga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warner Robin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

This was a terrible stay. My wife and I checked in around 5 p.m on a Friday. No one was in the lobby but the front desk lady KATHY COOK was on the phone over 20 mins and just ignored me. Finally we got our room which was terrible. Sleeping on the ground would have been more soft. Terrible pillows and decor all together. Smallest room ive ever stayed in. During special time instead of calling my room we got a knock from front desk. Then again 5 mins later and there was a note on my door. Unprofessional as can be. Paying over a hundred bucks for this type of stay was uncalled for. My advice save up for a vacation and stay elsewhere or off the beach. Sleep in the ocean would be a better idea than this hotel.Also the shower wouldn't drain.

Room Tip: Don't stay at this hotel is my tip
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tybee Island
0.6 mi away
Desoto Beach Hotel
Desoto Beach Hotel
#1 of 8 in Tybee Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,089 reviews
0.6 mi away
Admiral's Inn
Admiral's Inn
#5 of 8 in Tybee Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sea & Breeze Hotel
Sea & Breeze Hotel
#7 of 8 in Tybee Island
3.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
0.5 mi away
Hotel Tybee
Hotel Tybee
#2 of 8 in Tybee Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dunes Inn & Suites
Dunes Inn & Suites
#4 of 8 in Tybee Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Palm Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Palm Motel

Property: Royal Palm Motel
Address: 909 Butler Ave, Tybee Island, GA 31328
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Tybee Island
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Tybee Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Palm Motel is a small family owned and operated motel that is located one block from the ocean on Tybee Island. It is an old, but well maintained property. We like for our guests to be informed that the rooms are "nothing fancy", but are clean and comfortable. All of our rooms include a fridge, microwave, mini coffee pot, bathroom, TV with cable, and air conditioning. We have a 20'X40' swimming pool. We strive to maintain a family style atmosphere, so we do not allow parties, loud music, or overcrowding of rooms. Parking is free, but limited to one vehicle per room.We have a 48 hour cancellation policy. We have a 2 night minimum for reservations any time and a 3 night minimum during holiday periods.Sorry, but pets are not allowed in the rooms or on the beach on Tybee Island. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Royal Palm Hotel Tybee Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing