We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No frills, but it worked great for us!”
Review of Royal Palm Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tybee Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Royal Palm Motel
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Tybee Island
Crossville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“No frills, but it worked great for us!”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

My sisters and I stayed here a couple of weeks ago. The room isn't perfect, but the price is and the beds were clean and comfy. Plenty of hot water for three back to back showers, plenty of towels (you do have to ask for extras but they will happily give you all you need) and the air conditioning worked great. The pool was clean and the staff was very friendly. It's a short walk to the beach or you can pay to park closer or pay to ride the hopper. If you're considering a trip to Tybee but are on a tight budget, you should check out the classic Royal Palm!

Room Tip: Parking is tricky if you get a room on the backside of the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Karen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    40
    12
    2
    10
See reviews for
38
22
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clover, South Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We go on vacation to do the tourist thing, not stay in the room. With that being said, this place was great for sleeping and showering. The room was small so was the bathroom. The beds were comfortable. Pillows not so much. (bring your on pillow) The carpet was very dirty (keep your shoes on), but everything else seemed to be very clean.
Great place to stay for the budget minded folks like me. I want to spend my money sightseeing and playing.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed for a girls weekend to Tybee. Close walk to everything. Older, but very clean rooms. Stayed upstairs in Room 121. Probably the least expensive hotel in Tybee, but much better than expected. We had a fabulous time and will be back very soon!! Bring your own shampoo and hair dryer, this is a no frills room, but perfect for a small family with a tight budget!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Chrissy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dry Branch, Georgia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We arrived on Monday , July 7 and checked out Thursday , July 10 2014. The office staff was pleasant and welcoming. He accidentally overcharged my card and immediately fixed it. We stayed in room 123 ( upstairs) . The room was clean but very outdated. The wifi worked great though so that was a huge plus. The beds were hard , hard , hard. I am use to a tempurepedic mattress so no hotel ever compares. The smoke detector began beeping at 12:00 that night and I called the front office to have someone change it. After no answer, I walked downstairs and realized the office was closed until the next morning at 9. As soon I woke up , I informed them of the situation they immediately changed the batteries. The hotel is super close to the beach but parking can be tricky if you are driving a big SUV or truck. Evelyn , the housekeeper , kept us supplied with clean towels . The pool was the best part bc it is centrally located between all the rooms. We met some nice people and built friendships with them. It was a no frills hotel that is budget friendly. The only downside is you have to pay for the ice. It can get expensive if you are trying to fill a cooler. We would more than likely not stay here again bc we like staying closer to the pier. It was a little to far for us :)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracy Brooks H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

Everything about the place is terrible!! The staff is rude, the floors are so nasty my feet were black, wi Fi didn't work the rooms were so small I ask to be reimburse or pay for bigger they told me no people in the pool talking about doing drugs and using foul language reported it and nothing was done I'll NEVER go back

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank lacyself
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Spent Memorial Day Weekend 2014 here.Very reasonable rates,no frills.Staff was great,kudos to Evelyn the housekeeper,the room was immaculate!The pool was great,also very clean.Would definately recommend this motel to anyone wanting a clean,decent,reasonably priced place to stay!It is a very short walk to the beach and shops/places of interest.

Room Tip: Bring your own shampoo,soap,etc.Does not have continental breakfast.Coffee maker in the room,you hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rochelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Great place to stay! Very affordable, rooms were clean, beds were comfortable, bathrooms were clean, staff was nice, pool was clean, free wifi, I have nothing bad to say about this motel...2nd time staying here and I will be back!

Room Tip: rooms on opposite of office are bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Charlene J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tybee Island
0.6 mi away
Desoto Beach Hotel
Desoto Beach Hotel
#1 of 8 in Tybee Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,100 reviews
0.6 mi away
Admiral's Inn
Admiral's Inn
#5 of 8 in Tybee Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sea & Breeze Hotel
Sea & Breeze Hotel
#7 of 8 in Tybee Island
3.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Beach House, A Holiday Inn Resort
0.5 mi away
Hotel Tybee
Hotel Tybee
#2 of 8 in Tybee Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dunes Inn & Suites
Dunes Inn & Suites
#3 of 8 in Tybee Island
3.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Palm Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Palm Motel

Property: Royal Palm Motel
Address: 909 Butler Ave, Tybee Island, GA 31328
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Tybee Island
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Tybee Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Palm Motel is a small family owned and operated motel that is located one block from the ocean on Tybee Island. It is an old, but well maintained property. We like for our guests to be informed that the rooms are "nothing fancy", but are clean and comfortable. All of our rooms include a fridge, microwave, mini coffee pot, bathroom, TV with cable, and air conditioning. We have a 20'X40' swimming pool. We strive to maintain a family style atmosphere, so we do not allow parties, loud music, or overcrowding of rooms. Parking is free, but limited to one vehicle per room.We have a 48 hour cancellation policy. We have a 2 night minimum for reservations any time and a 3 night minimum during holiday periods.Sorry, but pets are not allowed in the rooms or on the beach on Tybee Island. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Royal Palm Hotel Tybee Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing