We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The smell of death....” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Country Hearth Inn Union City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Country Hearth Inn Union City
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Union City
Herndon, Virginia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“The smell of death....”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

Until the Atlanta weather disaster forced me into the Country Hearth Inn, Union City, GA. I thought I had stayed in the world's worst. I was wrong. I was really, really wrong. From the moment you enter the lobby until the manager has to break into the room reserved for your torture, there is nothing good to say about this level of hell.

First, the door to the room was broken. The front desk clerk had to break me in via a magnet and large master key since the electronic lock had long ceased to function. The signs of a crowbar being used earlier were obvious, and the fact that the security bar was dangling uselessly were a sign that this was not going to be a good night. I mentioned these details to the hotel employee, to which he replied "you sleep now" and walked away (NOT making that up). The only thing missing in the room was the chalk outline from previous victims, which ironically is the only sign the room has EVER been visited by housekeeping. One power outlet in the room was functional, the rest useless holes in the walls. The towels were dirty, the carpet was filthy, the cigarette burns in the bedspreads offered a nice color contrast to the rest of the filth that covered them. The faucet in the bathroom was broken, only a Houdini-like action brought water out of the tap.

The only way this live version of Dante's Inferno gets more than one star is from the staff, that is plain and simple. Any review suggesting this is a viable, acceptable or non-lethal form of lodging is a lie. The only suitable tenant for this hostile hostel is Wes Craven, he can use it without modification for the location of his next scream flick.

Room Tip: Sleep in your car, it's better. Seriously.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Randy_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    0
    2
    2
    13
See reviews for
9
5
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

They need to shut this place down, room had pealing paint and mildew on the wall, heater vents was filled with sheet rock debris, Furniture is very worn, television is very old, carpet is dirty, telephones don't work, staff is terrible, Marijuana smell all down the halls, staff doesn't speak English well and they are not courteous, I stayed from 2am - 12pm and I didn't even take a shower, the bathrooms were dirty, they charged to much for the room, I only stayed because I was really tired and they changed my room from the first one (which was a disaster) and I endured this tragedy, they false advertised the breakfast, because it was only cereal, in all reality, I thought I might get sick from breathing. I'm gonna end this review because I can go on and on, they need to be reported to the dept. of health, do your self a favor and stay away from this place.

Room Tip: Stay away from this place..
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Derrick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broken Arrow
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

I read the reviews and decided to book for my family for a place to stop on our way to Florida. We arrived at 11:30 p.m. and went into the lobby to find a 3 inch bullet proof glass window between the lobby and the guy checking us in. That was a bit weird but he was friendly and got our room key to us with little wait. We went back out to our van - and these people were watching us unload (they were staring out of their windows just watching us - like 3 rooms of people - it was very creepy). We carried our bags into the hallway and the moment we opened the door were blown away by the cigarette smokey smell. Then we turned a corner only to find a giant, bowling ball size hole in the wall - that was a bit disconcerting. We walked into our room to find a giant hole in our comforter and the lights were dim and didn't come on all the way. We all looked at each other (my 3 children are all grown) and walked right back out, got into the van and left. We had prepaid the $54.00 on Orbitz - totally didn't care if we lost our money. We did NOT feel safe at this hotel. 100% sketchy. We turned our key in and just told the guy on duty behind the bullet proof glass that we did not feel safe and had to leave.
We drove another hour south and found a nice family hotel to stop at and get some sleep. Whew!! What a scary ordeal. I'm not sure how my experience varied so much from the other posters who have stayed here? We did not feel was not a safe place for our family.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 5inOklahoma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairburn, Georgia
Level Contributor
125 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

I had to catch a flight out of Atlanta. My house was in desrepair, and I wanted someplace cheap. I decided to do the Country Hearth. The motel was really nice. Staff was nice and helpful. Our room was clean, and the beds were nice. Motel is close to the airport, I-85, and a few restaurants. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STOCKBRIDGE, GA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

This is the first time I ever chose to stay in a hotel other than the Marriott, Hyatt or the Hilton. but do to my belongings getting missed placed including wallet. I was really impressed with the exterior not to mention the luxurious entrance and just simply blown away with the service and the apperance of the business suites. When I say alot for less its really and understatement. When the airlines called to return my belonging I chose to stay here and been sold with Country Hearth Inn. Ever Since........

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maddod00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2011

my family and i spent a night there it was horrible the carpet on the floor is in dire need of replacement. the internet wasnt available we had to go to the front desk for towels the linens were dirty it was awful for the price we paid we asked for a refund but to no avail.

Room Tip: try a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank p s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2010

The first time my boyfriend and I stayed it was late and we stayed overnight just to crash! The second time we went however there was a beer cap in the bathroom on the floor, cigerette butts and paper behind the desk, dispoable cups under the bed and the room had the worst ordor! Upon pulling the covers back we found a large brown stain on the comforter! The guy at the front desk was very friendly and gave us a full refund since there was NO way we were sleeping there!

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CyntRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Union City
23.4 mi away
Country Hearth Inn & Suites Atlanta / Marietta and Banquet Hall
7.5 mi away
Jameson Inn and Suites-Riverdale
16.4 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites-Mableton/Atlanta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.0 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn and Suites Stockbridge/Atlanta
16.2 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Douglasville
21.7 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#9 of 13 in Newnan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Hearth Inn Union City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Hearth Inn Union City

Property: Country Hearth Inn Union City
Address: 6710 Shannon Pkwy, I-85 at Exit #64, Union City, GA 30291-2024
Region: United States > Georgia > Union City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Union City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Country Hearth Inn Union City 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Country Hearth Inn Union City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing