We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy meat lovers, Happy veggie lover”
Review of Smok'n Pig B-B-Q

Smok'n Pig B-B-Q
Ranked #4 of 237 Restaurants in Valdosta
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Phone 229-245-8BBQ - it looked like it had just opened
West Palm Beach, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
105 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Happy meat lovers, Happy veggie lover”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

After a week in North Carolina eating lots of BBQ and beef, this veggie lover was ready for something fresh from the ground. Oh, glorious day. The boys got their pork ribs and fried chicken. I got fresh collards, salad bar and fried okra (an indulgence). This is not a fancy place, but certain items are exquisitely southern.. like the okra, the mac & cheese (declared the best ever), the sweet corn bread and the overly cooked green beans (not my favorite, but my husband felt nostalgic). The pork ribs were spectacular, the smoked chicken less so. I found the dessert that came with our meals entirely too sweet.. peach cobbler with soft serve ice cream. Service was excellent.. quick, attentive and genuine. Our server recommended the mac & cheese and the okra. Price.. you can't beat it. Get there early and you may be able to beat the tour buses.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CBRabenecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

985 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    593
    265
    91
    31
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Breckenridge, TX.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Good BBQ”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

I'm a rib girl and they had excellent regular ribs! The Baby-back ribs were a disappointment though. Loved all the sides, and I would go there again.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Texasgal54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Harbor, Florida
Level Contributor
147 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great BBQ in Valdosta!”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

This is a very clean restaurant with great service. The sauces are good. I loved the chicken but the pulled pork was good too. The baked beans were good and the corn was hot but not mushy. The salad bar was fresh and delicious. We plan on making this a stop whenever we are heading up to Atlanta.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank winrobaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wish there was a 3.5 on scale”
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

The meat was very tasty, fresh, and satisfied my BBQ longing. The fried sides are fresh (okra, fries) and tasty. Sweet tea is perfect. Green beans canned, but well prepared. Peach cobbler peaches were certainly canned. Salad bar items were adequate, most of it likely from a container. Very good value and satisfactory if you are not expecting the quality that comes from garden fresh or even well prepared frozen sides. I would return if staying in Valdosta...but more likely will seek out better further up in central Ga.

Helpful?
Thank loxareeder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simpsonville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great BBQ”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Had lunch here today. By far some of the best BBQ I have had in a while! I live in SC, so I am no stranger to BBQ. Food was excellent. Staff was friendly and attentive. Highly recommend.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Smok'n Pig B-B-Q also viewed

 

Been to Smok'n Pig B-B-Q? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing