We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location and Atmosphere were nice”
Review of The Bistro

The Bistro
Ranked #105 of 237 Restaurants in Valdosta
Price range: US$9 - US$26
Cuisines: American, Contemporary, Bar, Pub, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Enjoy fine American cuisine in a relaxed setting for all occasions, from a romantic evening to an anniversary party. The Bistro Restaurant and Piano Bar serves a varied menu of new American cuisine, classics and daily specials, featuring the best seasonal products available. Enjoy delicious desserts, an extensive selection of appetizers, a full bar, and superb wine service all in the warmth and elegance of our main dining room that surrounds our guests in an intimate and romantic atmosphere, creating a unique and elegant American dining experience.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Location and Atmosphere were nice”
Reviewed 23 October 2012

I did not eat here, although I did jog by it and the outdoor seating and interior were classic downtown style fine dining. I would try it out if looking for a nice dinner spot.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tochdown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    13
    9
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
99 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Hit or Miss .. mostly "hit"”
Reviewed 25 July 2012

For South Georgia, this is pretty good fare. And most my meals their have been enjoyable. But like ALL restaurants it can be hit or miss. Last time was a miss... mostly due to steak being overcooked and waitperson not the most attentive server. All in all, if you’re in this part of Valdosta, you’ll be pleased. And nice, restored historic downtown to walk around...

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valdosta, Georgia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Food good most of the time.”
Reviewed 20 June 2012

My wife and I used to go there to celebrate special occasions. The food was good. I especially like the sesame-ginger crusted tuna steak. They also had/have a good pepper corn steak. The food is very pricey and for this town it does really rate upscale. But over the years it seems to have stagnated. No change in menu at all, no evidence of a chef that tries to come up with unique and local dishes. Before we go back again we will probably ask around and see what people think.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sogafyrfytr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valdosta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
442 reviews
225 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Very average”
Reviewed 19 April 2012 via mobile

My wife had a gift certificate so we decided to use it. Wow, the service was horrid. Not sure what was going on but the service was incredibly slow. Our waitress apologized and whined about all that was wrong, but there was no way the food could make-up for the service. I had salad and steak and it was pretty average...it was a pepper steak but it had some kind of sauce over it....but no way to tell what it was. My wife had a salad and crab cakes which she said was good.

Helpful?
Thank Ken S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillsboro, Oregon
Level Contributor
168 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Good food, lit dimly”
Reviewed 27 March 2012

We visited early on a weekend evening and the restaurant was quiet. There are tables outside for open-air dining but we chose a table indoors to get away from the heat, even though the dining room was lit rather poorly. The menu was good, however, and the service was prompt. The food also turned out to be good quality and well presented. An extra side dish of vegetables is recommended if you're really hungry. The adjoining bar seemed to be lighter and more of a 'scene', with live music on the go.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kanikoski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bistro also viewed

 

Been to The Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing