We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good food, fairly high prices, service... eh.”
Review of The Bistro

The Bistro
Ranked #85 of 238 Restaurants in Valdosta
Price range: US$9 - US$26
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Enjoy fine American cuisine in a relaxed setting for all occasions, from a romantic evening to an anniversary party. The Bistro Restaurant and Piano Bar serves a varied menu of new American cuisine, classics and daily specials, featuring the best seasonal products available. Enjoy delicious desserts, an extensive selection of appetizers, a full bar, and superb wine service all in the warmth and elegance of our main dining room that surrounds our guests in an intimate and romantic atmosphere, creating a unique and elegant American dining experience.
Hahira, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Pretty good food, fairly high prices, service... eh.”
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Chef Sean is to be commended, not only for the immense workload he was under (large party of over 30 people in one sitting), but also for his preparation which was really pretty good. I cannot say excellent because his tomato based sauces were a little too "raw" in their presentation (overwhelmed the rest of the sauce's contents), and the shrimp was a trifle overdone. All in all though, he pulled off a Herculean task with his VERY limited staff (they had been alerted beforehand that such a large party would be there but had only 2 servers and no bussing staff for over 30 people in one party alone - it could have been SO much easier on them with ONE person extra doing some of the legwork of bussing). Drink mixups happen too but if one orders a blueberry "Margerita", which is described as coming in a SUGAR rimmed glass, one is naturally a little shocked to receive it in a SALT rimmed glass. The homemade REGULAR Margerita was missing that certain something that made it lip smacking (it tasted almost entirely of ice cubes and tequila), but my partner said his martini was wonderful. Win some lose some. Naturally some of the food arrived a little less than piping hot, and while the wait was longer than would have been appreciated, it was not appalling. It was the check mix-ups and LONG long long wait for the CORRECT check and subsequent receipt, that was most taxing. At this point I am not entirely sure I would try a repeat performance in a much smaller party, as I would be truly disappointed if the food was as lack luster in a more controlled environment. Perhaps some day...

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Deborah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    13
    9
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Davie, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent food and charming, attentive service”
Reviewed 4 July 2013

We found this by reading other TripAdvisor reviews while driving from our home in South Florida to Alabama. It was a refreshing respite from our long drive. The head chef ,Sean, and our waitperson, Jason, did their jobs wonderfully We started with the night's special appetizer - a combo of Cajun fried oysters, shrimp scampi and crab puffs. . (Crab seems to be a specialty of the chef.) Then we shared a Caesar salad. ( Great Kalamata olives included) Our entree was the Drunken Angus filet with garlic mashed potatoes and sautéed veggies. All were very tasty. The hot bread with seasoned butter spread was great. We also enjoy Bar drink as well as good wine (a very long wine list). The ambience was stunning. The separate large bar lived up to its earlier reviews. TripAdvisor once again paid off for us. Thanks!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kitty P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valdosta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Bar!”
Reviewed 27 June 2013

I have ate at this restaurant and I have had some wine at this restaurant. They have a pianist who plays on certain nights which really makes the atmosphere romantic and magical. However the food it pretty but not what I would call fabulous. The plates are VERY Expensive. Be expected to pay about $50 for two people. If money is not an issue than this place is very nice. If you are looking for drinks only, this is very good place to go with some friends and have some drinks at the bar. I would not recommend it as a family environment but more along the lines of couples, friends, and business meetings.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Another Valdosta gem”
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Great food, great service. Steaks, Martini's, crab stuffed grouper, and more. Go early and you can always get a table. One of our favorites.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank pjoepondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
226 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Wonderful Food, Attentive Service”
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Went on Good Friday after a day at Wild Adventures with our 7 and 9 year old. We prefer non-chain resturants and this was reccomended by our hotel clerk. Great choice.

Not crowded at all for a Friday night - we got there around 8 pm. The piano bar looked like it could be fun, but we ate with our children in tow in the main dining room.

Crab bisque was good, Vadalia onion dip was very good. Husband loved the surf and turf. I enjoyed the chicken marsala. Best chicken marsala I have had in YEARS, since my favorite place in Cumming, GA closed. Prices were reasonable for quality and quantity.

Our waiter was attentive and professional.

We will go back on our next trip to Valdosta.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank plum9195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bistro also viewed

 

Been to The Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing