We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No longer my favorite Hampton Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn Suites Valdosta Conference Center
Ranked #3 of 33 Hotels in Valdosta
Certificate of Excellence
West Palm Beach, FL
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“No longer my favorite Hampton Inn”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I want to preface by stating it is this Hampton Inn that caused me to switch chain loyalty to Hilton. This WAS my favorite Hampton Inn, but I can no longer say that. This hotel has gone down in quality and has done so rather quickly.

I am sitting here at a weird angle in my 3rd room because only at this angel can I get internet connections. I was told "some rooms have better service than the others." Not any time I've stayed here before, and that doesn't bode well for the hotel as I was in two other rooms on different sides of the hotel before finally settling on this one and I wasn't getting service.

My air conditioner is noisy, but that's a sacrifice in order to get a cold room, which is why I switched out if the first room. Not to mention, two of the three room choices, smelled bad. The chosen one smells like propane.

Finally - breakfast. Nowadays, a decent breakfast can be found at any similar hotel. But this Hampton's breakfast WAS so much better until recently. They are sausage happy. But don't be fooled, it's not real sausage...it's Turkey sausage, amend not the good kind; it's disgusting. I liken it to a dog treat seasoned with sausage spices. And the other staple common to this hotel is... Wait for it... Sausage gravy (with biscuits) most days. The golden egg is their delicious maple-flavored Lil Smokies but I'm told, due to cost effectiveness, will not even see these treats unless it's a Mon-Wed morning. At least at Marriott or even Choice hotels I get real meat. THIS IS THE SOUTH, real meat should be a required offering.

The pluses...great customer service and beautiful interior.

I'm returning on Sunday and I was told to expect sausage and gravy. No Internet, hot smelly room and more sausage? No thanks. Reservation cancelled.

Room Tip: Don't expect working wi-fi, love turkey sausage and enjoy a warm room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FlaMomofTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lavinasada, General Manager at Hampton Inn Suites Valdosta Conference Center, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
We’re sorry we didn’t provide the high quality of services you deserve. This is not typical of our hotel and staff, and we have addressed the issues you mentioned. We try to make each guest experience a great one at our hotel as your satisfaction is important to us. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you’ll give us another opportunity to make it right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

959 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    602
    216
    86
    32
    23
See reviews for
406
220
48
209
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, United States
1 review
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The lobby and dining area were clean and well appointed. The "fresh fruit" at breakfast left something to be desired, but the remainder of the foods available acceptable. The room was clean and tidy. The restroom was also clean and well stocked. The room lacked an in room safe, and the air conditioner was somewhat noisy. I would, however, recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank John A P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lavinasada, Manager at Hampton Inn Suites Valdosta Conference Center, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you very much for choosing us during your travels as we know you have many options! We look forward to seeing you again and having the opportunity to serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodstock, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Hotel was great unless you wanted to get into the WiFi in your room, we could not stay logged on with any device. Hotel could not help with the issues. They gave us a 1-800 number to call and they told us that there must be something wrong with our room that the Wi Fi was blocked.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Sara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lavinasada, Manager at Hampton Inn Suites Valdosta Conference Center, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
I apologize for the struggles you had with the internet. Our internet package is 2 1/2 times more robust than brand standards require. Unfortunately, as with any technology there are issues sometimes but the 1-800 tech team, who exclusively manages the WIFI, are usually able to resolve the problems. I have followed up with them and expressed that "must be a problem with your room" is not an acceptable resolution.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brunswick, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Spent only one night at this hotel when traveling with family earlier this year. Must say that the staff was extremely courteous, and professional. The free breakfast and free internet were simply icing on the cake. Rooms were spacious, pool looked good (but didn't get a chance to indulge), and the hotel was super accessible from the interstate, shopping areas, and quite a few restaurants. The price was quite reasonable too, and no surprises as is expected from the Hampton brand. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zoya H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lavinasada, Manager at Hampton Inn Suites Valdosta Conference Center, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us regarding your stay. The team works very hard to ensure that each guest has a terrific stay. Please let us know if we may do anything to improve your stay the next time you are here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

I normally don't write reviews but I wanted to share my experience in hopes it will help others in the future.
We did not have a good stay at this hotel! Our room was located just off the elevator next door to a "Hospitality Suite". We did not notice this detail our first night as there was no party going on inside. However we did have other issues with our room. Our door would not completely close and it rattled and shook every time someone got off the elevator or walked down the hall. Our toilet ran constantly unless you jiggled the handle a few minutes after every flush. The air conditioning unit was not fully seated into the wall and it rattled when it turned on. The water backed up in the bathtub ANKLE DEEP every time anyone took a shower (and it was not because the drain plug - it stayed raised up but the water didn't drain).

Our second night was even worse due to being next to the hospitality suite. Since the door to our room did not completely close, every time someone entered the hall or entered/exited the suite next door, our room door would rattle and shake. Also the constant in and out from the party meant guests in the halls being really loud, and kids running up and down the halls. So....we had to endure the rattle, shake, and noise constantly from the time the party in the suite started around 7pm until 12:15am. The party ended at 11:30p and the cleaning crew vacuumed and banged around until 12:15am. Besides the door rattle we could hear the music from the party through the walls.

Why on earth the hotel would place a family with 3 small children in a room next to a party suite on a two night stay escapes me. We have always stayed at Hampton Inn because we feel like we know what to expect during a stay. In my opinion this hotel is far below Hampton Inn company standards. We will not return to this location.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Melinda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lavinasada, Manager at Hampton Inn Suites Valdosta Conference Center, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
I sincerely apologize for the experience you had while staying with us! This certainly isnt the norm. The hospitality Suite is only used for professional meetings Monday - Friday 99% of the time. This was a very rare exception that was made inadvertantly. As far as the mechanical issues with the door and tub; were you able to let us know about those so that we could repair them? I am very concerned first of all that we didnt repair these before you arrived and secondly if we didnt repair them after you reported them. Please contact me at the hotel to discuss this further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traverse City, Michigan
Level Contributor
103 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

You arrive hungry and tired, after a nine-hour drive, and not much sleep the night before. You have leftovers in a cooler and you're glad the hotel has a microwave, which you've come to expect. You're greeted warmly by a friendly staff and you are pleased with the nicely appointed room. You have a lot of baggage and there's space to stash everything without creating a trip-fall hazard. The first thing you unpack is the food; the fridge has a small freezer, great for the cold packs, and enough room for everything in your cooler. Time to eat! Out come the leftovers, the flatware you carry, and a couple of disposable plates. A few minutes in the microwave should do it. You open the door to the appliance and ... there's no turntable. The roller ring is there and the motor works, but it can't be used without the plate. Staff responds politely and a plate is delivered to your room. Open the microwave and ... it's the wrong size. Down to the desk, you go, explain the problem, it gets checked out and ... the microwave will have to be decommissioned. Another is found, and you enjoy dinner just seconds before your stomach would have started to digest itself. A comfortable bed, an adjustable thermostat, a decent night. Morning coffee awaits! You open the packet, put it in the coffee maker, add the water and wait. Six minutes pass while you listen to the gurgle of the machine and ... see no coffee. Why? The carafe is for a Sunbeam; the coffee maker is a Mr. Coffee, and no contact exists to trigger the basket to release the coffee into the carafe. No tragedy, since you discover the problem just before the water would have begun to overflow. You rinse the equipment and carry it down to the desk to show the clerk on duty. Again, you are treated well, and the error noted. And so it goes. Breakfast is the typical expanded continental and there is fresh coffee. We would be able to rate this inn much more highly for the personable staff and the comfort and decor of the premises. However, until management understands that working appliances are as important as clean sheets and towels (as these were, and of good quality) the weary traveler will rightfully seek out establishments that do not only understand but make sure of it before the guest arrives.

Room Tip: You'll be safe choosing any room, except those near the ice-makers and, if you're very sensi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JWrites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lavinasada, Manager at Hampton Inn Suites Valdosta Conference Center, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
We sincerely apologize for our lack of attention to detail with the appliances! We know how frustrating it can be. We will address this and all of our daily procedures to make sure we are performing at the level that our guests expect. Thank you for bringing this to our attention and we will resolve this going forward. We hope to have another opportunity in the future to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, fl
Level Contributor
97 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We arrived late night to our room. Unfortunately it was over the holiday weekend and there were no parking places available. I finally squeezed into one and it was not close to the hotel. There was no valet parking

The room was excellent and very clean. Like most hotels these days the toilets are very low to the ground. I personally do not like that.

They offer a little light breakfast at no charge in the morning. No parking charges which should be the norm for any hotel you stay at.

Staff was courteous and pleasant.

Room Tip: Stay away from pool area as it can be very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lavinasada, Manager at Hampton Inn Suites Valdosta Conference Center, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Thank you very much for braving the holiday weekend with us. We are a prefered hotel for the Wild Adventures theme park and they were at full capacity for the weekend as well as the city and the hotel. Difficulty parking certainly is not the norm. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Valdosta hotels
1.6 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Valdosta
1.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson - Valdosta
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Valdosta
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Valdosta Hotel & Suites
1.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Valdosta
1.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Valdosta
Comfort Suites Valdosta
#6 of 33 in Valdosta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Suites Valdosta Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Suites Valdosta Conference Center

Property: Hampton Inn Suites Valdosta Conference Center
Address: 2 Meeting Pl, Valdosta, GA 31601-7710
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Valdosta
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Valdosta
#3 Business Hotel in Valdosta
#4 Romantic Hotel in Valdosta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Suites Valdosta Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking for a hotel in Valdosta where you can relax and unwind, you'll love the Hampton Inn & Suites® Valdosta-Conference Center hotel. Our gorgeous four-story hotel is conveniently located adjacent to the James H. Rainwater Conference Center, and just moments from Wild Adventures Theme Park, Valdosta State University, Kinderlou Forest Golf Club, Historic Downtown Valdosta, Moody Air Force Base and more! At the Hampton Inn & Suites you will find clean, fresh comfortable rooms that are sure to please. In fact, we have 184 of them! If you’re traveling with your family, you may opt for a room with two beds. Or, if you’re here by yourself on business, why not book a room with a plush, king-sized bed so you can stretch out and relax? Whatever brings you to our hotel, we want your stay to be as pleasant as possible, so let us know how we can help you today. We love having you here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HRS, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Suites Valdosta Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Suites Valdosta Hotel Valdosta
Hampton Inn Hotel Valdosta
Hampton Inn Valdosta
Valdosta Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing