We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not as good as Panera Bread Co, but an acceptible substitute” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Atlanta Bread Company

Atlanta Bread Company
Ranked #105 of 236 Restaurants in Valdosta
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Florida
Level Contributor
115 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Not as good as Panera Bread Co, but an acceptible substitute”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2013

We stopped by the Atlanta Bread Co outlet in Valdosta on the way North. (by the way, you have the name wrong. It's Atlanta Bread, not Atlantic Bread).

The roast beef sandwich was as ordered and good.
The corn chowder was the best I've ever eaten.

Their bakery selections pale by comparison to Panera Bread Co, however.

They do offer the "real" thing (Coca Cola) whereas Panera is limited to Pepsi (ugh!).

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank john439
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    18
    4
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
103 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“YUM!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013

Never a wait, good reasonable priced food, fresh, and they have free Wi-Fi! I go all the time!!!
Soups are pretty good, salads are good too.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank BorninFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valdosta, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“No biggie”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2013

I'm a huge Panera Bread fan, so this is small competition. Pricey, but they have free coffee on Fridays. My husband really likes the seasonal butternut squash soup, and I like getting a kids meal option because it comes with a cookie :) Panera is currently not in the area so until then they will do for now.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kristen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
97 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Gone downhill, smaller portion sizes too.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

this use to be a fun place to go. Great food, large sandwich sizes... not anymore.
You use to be able to go up to condiment counter and pickup mayo, mustard, lemons for your water. NOT ANYMORE. The manager said “We were losing too much money on that.” SO NOW, you have to ask for every little thing. Really pathetic.
Also, have (had) been going here for years, but last time I noticed how much smaller their sandwich (bread) came on, to say $$$ no doubt. I won’t ever be back, unless someone else is paying.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochelle
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Not Panera”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012

I think this chain is a Panera rip off, but they have a long way to go. I had the pick 2, or 50/50 with French onion soup and the Balsamic Salad. The salad was pretty good, field greens with blue cheese and dried cranberries, but the soup was tepid, served with a cold piece of provolone on top and a small sliver of french bread. Panera gives you 1/4 of a baguette and a large crock of soup. The coffee was excellent, I must say.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Sissy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Atlanta Bread Company also viewed

 

Been to Atlanta Bread Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing