We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ate Here by Default”

Bubba Jax Crab Shack
Ranked #1 of 237 Restaurants in Valdosta
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Lake City, Florida
Level Contributor
96 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Ate Here by Default”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We were meeting family in Valdosta for an early evening dinner. As most of the highly rated Valdosta places are closed on Sundays, we decided to try Bubba Jax as it is just off I-75. We were off to a bit of a poor start when our waitress informed us that they had no cold mugs. Other than this minor inconvenience, there were no other problems. Most had the shrimp and grits appetizer which is adequate as an entree for all except those with very hearty appetites. The shrimp and grits were excellent. Another reported that the grouper sandwich was excellent. We did wonder if the fish were actually grouper based on the price, not the taste. Locals told us that this restaurant had been open for a few years. The appearance was that of an old structure, ie., rustic. The service was good and the price excellent.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank floridatraveler32055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    247
    106
    18
    2
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“fresh seafood good price!”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

As a native Floridian I HIGHLY recommend this restaurant! Friendly owners, staff & customers z a favorite with locals! We were impressed with reasonable prices and perfect preparation of snow
Crab, oysters & shrimp, onion rings, cheese grits & fresh crispy generous salads - try the house dressing! Even the dipping sauces were freshly prepared & great!! We plan each trip north & south to hit here for a meal!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lochapoka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monroe, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Hometown Restaurant”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I went to visit my daughter at Valdosta State University. We were looking for a non chain seafood restaurant. I looked at the reviews on trip advisor and found Bubba Jax. Cute hometown restaurant with great seafood and wonderful service.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurinda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macon, Georgia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Definitely money and time well spent!”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We were in town for Wild Adventures and wanted a good local dinner, this place hit the spot! The owner was our server she was amazing! Very informative sweet and took great care of us! The food is some of the best food I've ever had in a restaurant! I recommend this to any and everyone! We will make the drive just for dinner sometime!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank cfoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great!”
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

Great food, wonderful service! I'm not a huge seafood fan so I just had a chicken sandwich and coleslaw (both delicious). My Husband had a shrimp salad and loved it! Wonderful waitress, good food, decent prices. Definitely recommend!

Helpful?
1 Thank photomom79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bubba Jax Crab Shack also viewed

 

Been to Bubba Jax Crab Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing