We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good in a pinch”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Valdosta
Ranked #27 of 33 Hotels in Valdosta
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    107
    87
    61
    39
See reviews for
159
82
33
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Valdosta
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Seeing the hotel from the street makes one wonder if the right decision was made. Look past this and enjoy the accommodations. The room is nothing special but it was VERY clean and smelled great. No breakfast but right next door to a Burger King. Will stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Volfan68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, General Manager at Howard Johnson Valdosta, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Thank you so much. We try to provide clean rooms each and every time. I am pleased that we succeeded with your stay. Thanks again and see you next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

The map said this location was closed, but it is not. I can only assume it was closed recently due to renovations. The bathroom was very clearly updated and looked nice. I rolled in after 1am and was met by a friendly desk clerk. Our room had no bad odor (no odor at all) and was very clean. We paid a great price for the night's stay. The motel's location is seedy, but we had no issues.

Room Tip: Perhaps all rooms are not yet renovated. Ask for an updated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Olaf G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, General Manager at Howard Johnson Valdosta, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Thank you for your comments. I will pass them along to the staff. It was a pleasure having you as our guest. Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
117 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We were looking for a place to crash for a few hours on our way down to Orlando. We had stop in a previous city that was booked solid due to events in the area so we headed further south and stopped at a Super 8 - they only had a smoking room but they recommended their "sister" hotel, the Howard Johnson in Valdosta stating that it "was very clean and would meet our needs." It was very inexpensive and we didn't expect 5 star, but this was ridiculous!

Check in was quick and easy (guess when you have over 50 rooms open on a Friday night) and we got a room with two double beds. The first thing we were greeted with was the horrendous odor, which seem to come primarily from the bathroom....smelled like backed up sewage. NO JOKE...my husband walked across the parking lot to the gas station/convenience store and purchased one of the smelly pine car odor items and hung it from the bathroom rod to help mask the smell.

They still have beds with the nasty, old (and ugly but that doesn't matter) and stained bed spreads. The sheets had some stains and burn holes as well. My girls and I slept on throw blankets of our own that we placed on top of the sheets and used our own pillows.

Dust galore...so warning if you have allergies...my daughter (10, who loves watching Hotel Impossible) went to touch the top of the paintings and they were caked in dust and one of the paintings had a huge crack down the center as well. My husband moved the TV as well - tons of dust and some odd red stains underneath.

Sign on the back of the door says "Days Inn" but seems to me we were at a Howard Johnson's! (Minor detail but something that doesn't take much effort).

To avoid the smell for a while I wanted to sit outside but there were no chairs available so I took the stained chair from the room outside to sit and read and have a drink.

Pool area did look nice but the HJ store front area was a joke! According to my husband and kids, who visited the area on Saturday morning, HJ's convenience store it looked like a complete dump and looked as if someone puked in one of the areas on the floor and it was never cleaned up. They had signs hung up warning people "if you break it, you buy it..." etc. but some of the words were misspelled...funny more then anything but again the lack of cleanliness, not so funny.

In the end, my husband kept saying, "you get what you pay for." NO, NO, and NO...I have done many road trips and paid less for rooms - from mom and pop motels to chain motels/hotels, the room were basic BUT CLEAN!

This review could have been different if a little effort was put into the room, but after watching maid service for a while the next morning, I'm not surprised....a lot of standing around, smoking and on cell phones.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rhundt67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, General Manager at Howard Johnson Valdosta, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
I am so sorry about your visit with us. This is very unusual to hear that our rooms were that bad. I would like to know what room and when you you stayed with us so that, I may address the issues. I would also inquire as to whether or not you let us know while you were here about your stay. The store is leased to a third party although it does share the lobby building with us. Please feel free to send me an email. Again, please accept my apologies and I hope you will give us another opportunity to regain your trust.
hojo22@williamshotelgroup.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

Right off of I75 . Front desk friendly and rooms were clean. Good value for the price. Swimming pool looked good but I did not get in. Stopped for one night on way to Florida and was great for our needs.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank JerCable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B, General Manager at Howard Johnson Valdosta, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Thank you for your remarks. We do try to provide clean rooms. I am greatful that we met your needs. See you again real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Valdosta hotels
3.8 mi away
Econo Lodge Valdosta
Econo Lodge Valdosta
#17 of 33 in Valdosta
167 reviews
4.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Valdosta at Valdosta Mall
6.0 mi away
Kinderlou Inn
Kinderlou Inn
#15 of 33 in Valdosta
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Quality Inn At The Mall
Quality Inn At The Mall
#22 of 33 in Valdosta
82 reviews
3.7 mi away
Days Inn Valdosta/Near Valdosta Mall
3.8 mi away
Sleep Inn , Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn , Inn & Suites
#11 of 33 in Valdosta
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Valdosta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Valdosta

Property: Howard Johnson Valdosta
Address: 4598 N Valdosta Rd, I-75 Exit 22, Valdosta, GA 31602-7604 (Formerly Valdosta-Days Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Georgia > Valdosta
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 33 Hotels in Valdosta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Valdosta 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Valdosta,Georgia! Near Wild Adventures, Valdosta State University, South Georgia Medical Center, Moody Air Force Base and Freedom Park. Welcome to our Howard Johnson Valdosta hotel conveniently located by the Florida Border off I-75. Our pet-friendly hotel offers affordable accommodations with easy access to major local attractions. Conveniently located with a restaurants on site. Make a splash in our outdoor swimming pool. Check email with free WiFi, and take advantage of free parking including space for large vehicles. All of our guestrooms include a microwave and mini-refrigerator and we welcome pets for a nominal fee. Shopping is near at Valdosta Mall and if you are in town for an event, you will find Rainwater Conference Center, Mathis Municipal Auditorium and Valdosta Regional Airport just minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Howard Johnson Valdosta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valdosta-Days Hotel Valdosta
Days Inn Valdosta
Valdosta Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing