We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Jeeva Beloam Beach Camp
Nearby Hotels
Ekas Sunrise(Jerowaru)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (244)
Filter reviews
244 results
Traveller rating
176
49
15
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
176
49
15
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspink beachtanjung ringgitfish marketprivate beachhidden paradisedirt roadjeeva beloammeal timesmountain bikingfire pitbeach campcity liferemote locationindian oceanblue oceansecluded placewild monkeys
Filter
Updating list...
196 - 201 of 244 reviews
Reviewed 30 May 2013

We just came back from Jeeva Beloam and wish we had stayed longer. Our 7 year-old son did not want to return home and wants us to move ourselves to JB - permanently! Everything nice that has been said here is true. The cove, the beach, the water, the cliff - everything is just perfect! We wanted to get away from the hustle and bustle of city life and I am glad I made the choice to stay here for my husband's 35th birthday weekend.

We were picked up from the airport by Joko and his colleague and the drive was comfortable. Towards the last 9km, the road got bumpy but it was not too bad. Upon arriving at the property, we were just mesmerized by it all. I had to pick my jaws up from the ground because it is really THAT breathtaking.

We lazed around the next 3 days and went to Pink Beach twice to swim, snorkel and kayak. Went to Tanjung Ringgit too and the layout reminds me of Great Ocean Road in Melbourne (just like one reviewer commented). Thank you to Rahman, Aris and Pak Meli (sp?) who entertained us (especially our son) during our stay. Thank you to our waiter (I forgot his name!!!) who was more than obliging to all our requests. Thumbs up to the chef/cook for all the wonderful meals and the delicious birthday cake for my husband. Thank you for making it so special to us and we hope to visit Jeeva Beloam again in the near future.

Room Tip: All the rooms are the same - they all face the beach. Our room - Lime (5) - is the nearest to Tenda Restaurant.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grungeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

If you were instructed to close your eyes and imagine a perfect beach, it would probably look a lot like this one: a wave-battered curve of fine white sand nestled among lush green hills. The setting is impossibly beautiful, and the architect and owner have only enhanced it with a cluster of structures that appear to have sprouted right out of the sand. You'll have your own A-frame style "beruga", far more luxurious than the "beach camp" name implies.

Food is served in a beauifully open tent-like structure overlooking the cove, and was surprisingly elaborate considering the remote setting. The staff were consistently gracious and attentive, especially those in charge of the daily excursions (like the food, included in the room price). The day I arrived, Irwan took me mountain biking to nearby Tanjung Ringgit, where we checked out canons left from the Japanese era, a cave full of noisy bats, and stunning sunset views of Mt. Rinjani and neighboring Sumbawa. the following morning we went snorkeling and kayaking from "Pink Beach", only a few minutes away by truck. All the equipment was in great shape, and of higher quality than is typical in this part of the world.

While the spa wasn't yet open during my visit, I was able to get a massage on the deck of my beruga from Riadi. He told me he learned traditional Sasak massage from his uncle -recommended, and probably unlike anything you've experienced before, with lots of attention paid to the vascular apparatus.

The balance of my days was spent reading, resting, exploring the cliff side walks, and playing in the dazzling blue waves. All in all, a deliciously hedonistic escape. I hope to be back!

Room Tip: All of the rooms -houses, really- face the beach, with terrific views and sounds. While all five (soon ten) rooms are extremely private, the further away you are from the restaurant, the more isolated you'll be.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AmericanExplorer69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

After returning to Jeeva Klui for second time in April 2013, we decided to book a few nights at the new Jeeva property Beloam. We were very happy we stepped out of comfort zone and took a punt on the Beloam Camp. Beloam is set in an amazing location and is a great place to get away from everything. The Beloam setting reminded us of the coast on the Great Ocean Road in Australia.

Our booking was for three days and two nights. We were the only in-house guests on both nights. A few external guests came for lunch on all three days to check out the only accommodation in this part of Lombok.

In between not doing much, we took advantage of the camps offering of trekking, morning swimming and kayaking at Pink Beach and a sunset tour. Java our camp host was fantastic. He was full of information and full of personality.

The accommodation is great. The bathrooms are open and designed in a funky way . Power did not operate in the afternoon but there were always great breezes on all afternoons of our stay. This is five star “glamping” not a five star hotel.

We were a little worried about some of the negative comments on Trip Advisor , but we found these comments to be totally unfounded. The road is rough but no rougher than a gravel country road in Australia. The staff are fantastic and all full of personality. We found the location hot with a much dryer heat than Klui. The beach is a great way to cool off

If you are thinking about going to Beloam – just do it. The area will develop over the next five years (i.e. developers recently purchasing the land surrounding the close by Pink Beach) but if you go now, you too may be the only guests to enjoy the scenery, service and serenity.

Room Tip: The original rooms will get the sun later in the morning if you like to sleep in!
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank wazngret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

The world has enough bland identikit concrete hotels in over-touristy areas, if you want those fine - don't come here - save this gem the rest of us!

Recommended by our Tour Op (Ethos Travel in London) as they had just returned from an inspection - Nihiwatu in Sumba was not in our budget, but this untouched corner of Lombok was beautiful. Surprisingly luxurious Beach Villas (only 5 - but maybe 5 more to come) on a semi private white beach (so clean it squeaked under your feet), my highlight was lying on our huge day beds under the stars (remember them! - most stunning natural display i've seen in years as no light pollution) with a cold (ok, lukewarm!) bintang beer listening to the waves.

Daytime involved long walks, relaxing, and just relaxing. No shops, no bars, just you and nature. But this is why you came right? The staff are lovely (there are limitations - location and language sees to that) - but everyone was determined to make our stay a lovely one, and it highly memorable. No tv's, no wifi, no phone reception - bliss! But you have AC, great food, huge beds, any shortcomings will be slowly ironed out (more sun umbrellas please, and perhaps water coolers in the room?).

I'm planning my next trip already, for longer next time. Despite what others may have said - this is a great place to bring kids (of 8+) - as long as you can wean them off their iPads / gameboys. Bring a frisbee, go exploring. Thanks you JB!

Room Tip: All seem identical to me!
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Moonchild123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013 via mobile


We decided to combine our stay in Jeeva Klui with the luxury camp at Jeeva Beloam

It's true what the website highlights, "a secluded cove" too secluded if you are traveling with your family. "One of few untouched places in the world" well, that's true; we were truly impressed by the beauty of this place. However:

At the moment of our stay we were informed it was the soft opening, I still don't think that's an excuse for all the shortcomings that we encountered. It makes me sad to write this review considering that we had such an amazing time at Jeeva Klui. We decided to leave the camp the next morning.

The property is amazing, no doubt about it. The cove is breathtaking and the whole blue sky, turquoise water and no soul around made it really peaceful. But the ride from JK to the camp took 3 hrs. And the last 40min of the trip is on a road trip. By the time we arrived we were a bit annoyed.
But them we were blown away with the whole scenery. We were taken to our room just to discover that the bathroom had a terrible smell...we requested to change the room. Ours had the best view so I convinced my husband to stay in this one and try to overcome the smell problem, one thing we don't appreciate is when people come up with silly excuses foe their shortcomings..
My husband could t stand the smell anymore in the middle of the night and I felt terrible to have imposed him to stay in that room

The next morning things looked up when we sat at the open restaurant. You can't deny is an amazing setting. The staff is quite friendly but they all rely in one guy only whose English is reasonable. We understand that the camp is Located in such a remote area and it might be extremely difficult to find English qualified staff to work over there so we didn't care too much

You have set menus for every meal and although that bother us a little bit, we were also understanding of their limitations. The service was so great and the food outstanding that we also decided to chill a bit and enjoy the experience.

However (the second one) we found the place is not adequate enough for guests. That side of the island is drier and hotter than Seminggi...there is absolute no coverage for the sun and believe me we have no problem laying outside and getting tanned from time to time, but the heat was unbearable. The beach is also quite nice but there is not a single chair nor umbrellas where you can escape from the sun...

Although we were informed about the electricity shortage, her comes the third however...we couldn't believe that we had to drink warm beer at happy hour. Well, we didn't.I'm sorry to say but I can live without the AC or whatever limitations that this camp presents but no smile is gonna cove the fact that nobody likes to drink warm beer after such a warm day.

We requested to leave and go back to Jeeva Klui, we were lucky we knew the other property and that we managed to get the same room.
But we also had to wait for manager to return to the hotel because guess what..you can't make phone calls outside the hotel!!

We were really impressed with the nature and all, but you can't expect people to enjoy the stay with all these shortcomings.

The minute we stepped into Jeeva Klui we felt looked after again, the manager couldn't apologize enough. They were extremely nice, offer a spa treatment but we were leaving the next day very early so we had a courtesy dinner.

It's a shame, the property has lots of potential but they have to put their act together. Buy a generator and keep Drinks chilled if weather is supposed to be that hot.

We would talk about this experience, the trekking we did and the peacefulness and the scenery we found here but I would t recommend it to anybody with children or who is in for a relaxed holiday.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MsTravelbug76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Supriyanto S, Owner at Jeeva Beloam Beach Camp, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2013

Thank you for your comments on Jeeva Beloam Beach Camp. First of all we appreciate very much your comments, both positive and where we need improvement, and feedback.

Jeeva Beloam is in a remote location on the tip of Tanjung Ringgit and is basically on the opposite side of Lombok from Jeeva Klui. The trip from Klui takes between two and three hours, but usually closer to three hours, depending on road conditions. From the airport the trip to Beloam generally takes between one to one and a half hours. The last 11 km of the trip is on a road developed during the war in the 1940's when Tanjung Ringgit's Tangsi Beach, the 'pink' beach, was a military outpost. Sometimes it feels like the road hasn't been improved since then! Although the local government plans to resurface the final stage of the trip to Jeeva Beloam, so far only about 4 km of the road has been repaved. Recently we have arranged to take the final portion of the trip by boat from the pier at Teluk Temeak to Tangsi Beach. We work with an outside partner for this service and the boat must be booked in advance. We apologize that we were unable to offer this service when you stayed with us.

The rooms at Jeeva Beloam are designed based on the concept of traditional Sasak Berugas. The bathrooms, although covered, are open air. The area around Beloam is not developed and the forest reserve is home to a variety of wild life with a thriving population of owls and eagles in the area. The smell in your room emanated from the bushes bushes behind the beruga where you were staying. Staff at Beloam should have noticed the smell in your room, identified the source and of the smell and taken steps to remove the source of the smell and spray the area prior to your arrival. Again, we apologize for this inconvenience and our staff should have asked you to change rooms until the source of the problem could be identified and steps taken to remedy the situation.

As part of our effort to help the local community, we have mostly hired staff from the area. We are starting to work with a local teacher to provide English lessons to improve the language skills of staff. We have also recently hired new staff who are proficient in English.

We are pleased to let you know that we now have a palm leaf shade on the sun deck in front of the restaurant and have put large shade umbrellas on the beach near the sun loungers. Thank you for your input on this.

Jeeva Beloam does not have phone coverage or electricity. Although it is possible to get reception on cellphones at certain locations at Jeeva Beloam this is sporadic at best. We have installed a base station for phone coverage but unfortunately it is not working as planned. We hope to have this problem resolved in the near future.

There is no electricity from PLN at Jeeva Beloam. Electricity is generated through a combination of solar power and generator sets. You should never have been served warm beer. This was an oversight on our part and we apologize for this mistake. Going forward we will be sure to keep cold beers in the frig.

Once again, thank you for your comments and input. We are sorry for the inconveniences and hope that you enjoyed your overall stay in Lombok and at Jeeva Beloam.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews