We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Ever” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Castaway Cay

Castaway Cay
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Bahamian Out Island currently owned by the Disney Corporation, which is accessible only by arriving on a Disney cruise ship.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best Ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

Castaway is a dream island. We had a fabulous time. We stop here while on our DC, it was my husband, myself and our 2 boys ages 12 ans 13. We did the 5km run on castway island. It was a wonderful experience. The service and the food is outstanding.
It was definitely the highlight of our trip. The kids loved the snorkeling as well as riding a bike thruout the island.
The Disney Dream was beautiful.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank ungo16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,509 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,240
    179
    55
    17
    18
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
97 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Wish i had one more day here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

It is odd that the Disney Cruise Line is not on Tripadvisor, but their island is.

So this is a one day stop on the DCL island. You arrive early am and spend all day on the island, to be back on the ship by about 4:30 pm.

It would have been so nice if you could spend an evening as well, it is a pretty island and more comfortable around and after sunset.

Lots to do, a beautiful lagoon, sailing, diving, snorkeling, jet-skiing, etc.
Everything you need on a beach.

Lunch at Cookies is yummy BBQ.

Everyone is friendly, the place is clean and well maintained.

If it weren't part of an expensive cruise, i would vacation on this island!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mik H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wyoming
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Disney Dream and Castaway Cay were PERFECT!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

We were able to take our 16 year old son and 13 year old daughter on a much anticipated Disney Cruise. Since becoming "mousejunkies" we have been hoping to have the opportunity to take our children on a land sea package. We finally made that happen in January of 2013. The Disney Dream was amazing. What really sticks out in our mind is the Broadway style nightly productions and the rotational dining. Everything that we love about Disney World can be found here on a smaller scale...even a ride. The kids loved the Aqua Duck...though the wait could be lengthy at times...no Fast Pass for this. :o)

The highlight of the trip though was Castaway Cay. The kids loved the beach and snorkeling (even in the cool water). We also loved biking around the island...so much fun! Next time we would love to take a Disney cruise that makes two stops to Castaway Cay.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank FourTs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
44 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Castaway Cay Was Nice, But A Couple Notes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

We had a good time at Castaway Cay, but wanted to give others a couples of things to watch out for. There were people being bitten by sea lice. Apparently this is not uncommon in the Caribbean. Several people came out of the water with red rashes and it was identified as sea lice. When we were at the beach, several occurrences of this happened near the water slides. The remedy from what was mentioned is to shower with hot water, but don't expect the rash to go away immediately. The problem is that we did not find any hot water. So you may have to go back to the ship to shower. Also, watch out for crabs that bite and jellyfish in the snorkeling areas. The key is to not stand up or stick your hands in the grassy areas. You may also want to note that if you bring your own snorkel equipment, you still need to wear the yellow blow-up/floaty life vest.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlingame, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Family Fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

The sixth day of our cruise was probably the most fun of all the ports of call for my family. With a 4-year old in tow, we were able to enjoy the lovely beach and take in the amazing beauty of the clear turquoise water. We went on a glass-bottom boat excursion and had the opportunity to view some of the sea life and learn a bit about the ecology of the area. While onshore, we ate at Cookie's Too-- the food provided was more akin to a backyard cookout, albeit on a major scale; the food options could have been better but we couldn't really complain given the location. As we weren't there for the food, we were satisfied with not having to worry about where/what to eat for lunch. The only regret about this visit was that it lasted only for a day.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Eh_and_Em
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Castaway Cay also viewed

Eleuthera, Out Islands
Great Abaco Island, Abaco Islands
 
Marsh Harbour, Great Abaco Island
Paradise Island, New Providence Island
 

Been to Castaway Cay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing