We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice cabin, just plain uncomfortable furniture”
Review of Mountain Top Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mountain Top Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Warm Springs
Guntersville, Alabama
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice cabin, just plain uncomfortable furniture”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We booked 4 nights in a cabin (Falcon's Nest cabin 14A) at a cost of 683.76 +75.00 cleaning fee, which comes out to 189.69 per night. On the positive side, we could have had several more people staying in the cabin which would have made it an exceptional value, but it was our anniversary and it was just the two of us. The cabin is CLEAN, I will give them that. The furniture is a hodge-podge of designs and as expected in a rental unit, not exactly attractive but the biggest problem is that every piece of furniture in the place is just downright UNCOMFORTABLE! The beds are hard as nails, there were 3 in our cabin and each mattress felt like a board, like they went out and bought the cheapest, hardest piece of junk mattress they could find because they thought a "firm" mattress might hold up longer or something. It was so bad that after 3 nights, we left and drove on home Saturday night because we were both feeling so sore and beat up from the mattress we couldn't bear another night there. The sofa was either leather/pleather? but again, had a comfort level of a 3 on a 1-10 scale so sleeping on it wasn't appealing either. The porch had nice views and more very uncomfortable furniture (no splurging on comfy loungers) and the kitchen table was a wooden table with wooden chairs and some kind of rope tie-on pads, again, so uncomfortable that sitting at it for any length of time made you very sore. The unit is fully equipped, everything worked, it had a washer and dryer and dishwasher and working hot tub (probably the most comfortable place in the unit) but the kitchen utensils, pots and pans were old, scratched and sadly lacking. Not even a complete set of pans, if you are thinking of cooking any sizeable meal BRING YOUR OWN COOKWARE. We wanted a quiet getaway and we certainly got that, it is quiet and woodsy and it is a nice LOOKING cabin, just not a comfortable place if you are going to be there for more than a night. I would love to have seen some of the other cabins to see if all of the furniture was as bad. Again, not in disrepair, just I've slept in car seats and gotten a better nights sleep...in fact my car seat is more comfortable than all of the furniture in the place. The place is well maintained, no leaks, pests or anything of that nature. I cannot really comment on the staff, we saw the check in staff for 3 minutes to check in, dropped the keys off Sat night in drop box. Something I did find odd is that they give you an envelope to "tip" your cleaning staff....now mind you, you PAY a $75 cleaning fee when you check in, you are expected to "tidy up" before you leave, remove all trash, clean dishes and put up in cabinets, etc. so you are doing a good bit of the work yourself and then paying $75 and they want you to TIP on top of it? I thought it was insulting, especially considering the fact that NO ONE stops by to change linens or towels or tidy up while you are there so what are you TIPPING them for? I'd say the $75 fee to clean was plenty. I might go back again to the area but would definitely want to find somewhere more comfortable, even if it meant paying more.

Room Tip: get one with good reviews for the beds!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MARGARET P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabrielle R, Manager at Mountain Top Inn, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Hello Margaret,

We here at Mountain Top Inn & Resort appreciate that you took the time to write a review of our establishment. We are always looking for ways to improve our guest stay and feedback like yours gets the process started. The cabins here at Mountain Top are individually owned and are in a rental program with Mountain Top Inn. Each cabin does have its own unique charm and decor. Some are more modern and some keep with the rustic woodsy feel like the one you enjoyed. We are working hard with the cabin owners to take in the suggestions and feedback that the guest give to us. We would love for you to try us again in another cabin or at our lodge for short weekend getaway. I would suggest calling our concierge's for your next visit to get the amenities and comfort that you are looking for in a vacation stay. They would be happy to help!

Again, thank you for the review and we look forward to your next visit.

Warm Regards,
Gabrielle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    53
    35
    18
    22
See reviews for
85
84
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Just got back from a trip to pine mountain, Georgia, with my girlfriend and had a great time. The rooms are very nice and clean, and the house keepers and general staff were very nice. The only Problem with the whole trip is that I had to deal with the manager Ellie, or should I say Ice Queen. Argued over some stupid charge with us for 30 minutes and left furious. All I know is that if you go avoid this "person" if you can call her that.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor have an exceptional view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 509Arnold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed in Ellermont 19b - had a great time! Saw previous post that made us nervous. Posted from someone who was obviously picking at any reason to give criticism. The staff was super nice and the cabin had anything we could have needed. To previous poster - you are not staying at your own home. Things are different - it was not a Hilton hotel but a cozy cabin in the woods. We stayed with 7 people - we were not cramped and stayed for 1/3 of what we would have paid at one of the Callaway cabins and were able to enjoy all of the activities nearby.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newnan, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We stay at Mountain Top Inn ( Lodge) between Pine Mountain, Ga and Warm Springs, Ga. last weekend. The resort on top of the mountain has individual cabins for rent, some more secluded than others, and guest rooms, a pool, and a wedding chapel.
They also have a Lodge right down the road. We stayed on the third floor ( best views on third floor and also have high ceilings with beams on top floor ). Our room was a basic room but was like a little log cabin inside with log furniture. Very nice with fridge, microwave, coffee pot.
Rockers on the back porch over looking the valley. Some of the rooms have fireplaces and Jacuzzi's. It was very peaceful and a good view of nature. Right down the road is Warm Springs - where there are craft and antique shops and a few places to eat. On the other side of the mountain is Pine Mountain, Ga also with craft and antiques shops and food eateries. Callaway Gardens is right down the road and also Roosevelt State Park. There is a few look-out points high up to see below the mountain. We enjoyed our stay at Mountain Top and plan to visit again.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the top floor for better views and higher ceilings with wood beams. Some of the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AngelaT0220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cedartown, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed at Heavenly Haven (4A). Clean but quite dated. Mouse in the living room. Door handles and furniture handles loose & falling off. Cleaning staff rude when she came by cabin. Management accommodating. Wouldn't stay more than 1 night in this cabin.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Amydm7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed in the lodge for a short weekend trip, wish we had planned more time here! We had a suite with fireplace and jacuzzi (it's heart-shaped! Haha!). The wooden walls smelled amazing- that combined with the mountain view really made us feel like we were on a mountain vacation. Other reviews mentioned cleanliness as an issue, but that might be with the cabins- the lodge seems like a new build and is clean and nice.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank ash1083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Mill, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

We stayed in cabin 19B on 11/22-13 to 11/24-13. To say that we were extremely disappointed in this venue is an understatement. It is a 9 year family tradition to come to the
Christmas light show at Calaway gardens. We always stay in the gardens but because my daughter and family were joining us this year, I wanted to make it special. Realizing that the cabin is old is one thing, however the furniture was in disrepair, the carpeting is stained and the sofa sleeper in the upstairs reading room was not fit to sleep in. This cabin has not been maintained to a standard of the rate charged. The window coverings were wrinkled and installed very poorly. The mini blinds either did not work or needed to be replaced. I don't think the inside or outside windows had been cleaned in a very long time. The refrigerator had mold growing on the outside.
There was insulation blowing out of the heat register in the lower bath. Because it was a cold weekend we had to run the heat so this was an issue. The batteries were hanging out of the smoke alarm and not one screen on any window so no wonder bees and insects get inside.
I understand that we were in the woods but there were wasps inside of the cabin and as we were sitting on the sofa my daughter was stung. As stated in the rental agreement, we washed all dishes, stripped beds and put out the garbage. We were charged the same rate as we would have been charged for a two bedroon villa in Calaway PLUS a cleaning charge of $125. GO FIGURE???
On the positive side. The hot tub on the deck was in good working order and was enjoyed by the family.Basically the bathrooms were clean and the beds madeup. However, we feel like we were grossly overcharged for the condition of this cabin.I did leave a list for the manager but to this date(12/6) have had no response.

Room Tip: In good concscience,I could not recommend this resort to other travelers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank 335Roberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Warm Springs
5.4 mi away
The Lodge and Spa at Callaway Gardens
6.4 mi away
Valley Inn Resort
Valley Inn Resort
#4 of 5 in Pine Mountain
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
17.3 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham LaGrange
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Lagrange near Callaway Gardens
17.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites LaGrange / I-85
17.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mountain Top Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountain Top Inn

Property: Mountain Top Inn
Address: 177 Royal Lodge Dr, Warm Springs, GA 31830-3143
Region: United States > Georgia > Warm Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Warm Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Mountain Top Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mountain Top Inn and Resort offers a memorable vacation for our guests on top of Pine Mountain, GA. Enjoy all we have to offer, including cabin rentals, Lodge & Guest Rooms, and a log wedding chapel. Enjoy all the amenities including a swimming pool with a mountain view, hot tubs or jazuzzis, fireplaces, internet, cable tv, and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mountain Top Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountain Top Hotel Warm Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing