We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Fitzpatrick Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Quality Inn(Washington)
US$94
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$79
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Cullars Inn(Lincolnton)(Great Value!)
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Econo Lodge(Thomson)(Great Value!)
US$61
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$56
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$85
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$71
ComfortInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rodeway Inn(Thomson)
US$60
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$49
RodewayInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$73
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$51
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$127
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$81
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$93
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Day Nite Inn(Elberton)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (113)
Filter reviews
113 results
Traveller rating
77
23
9
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
77
23
9
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrestored hoteltown squarejockey clubvery comfortable roomthird floorthe claw foot tubbed and breakfastenjoyed our staydesk clerkbusiness tripgasink
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 113 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2014

My wife and I were looking for a historic town to visit on our return trip to Louisiana from Savannah and Charleston. We had originally wanted to stay in Madison, Ga. but the desired location for our stay was booked at this time. We chose Washington as an alternative and were originally booked into another B & B which closed (we found out for good reason) before our trip so we decided on the Fitzpatrick (built 1898) as an alternative accommodation. The hotel is very well restored and maintained but is obviously not getting the visitors that it needs as it is for sale. Like others we found that the check in was a little different but the room and breakfast were very nice and the sleep and bath were excellent. Washington is a great little town that has lots of history from Calloway Plantation to Robert Toombs House (War Between the States notable) with many other old homes to view and purchase (lots of old homes for sale as is hotel). The dining was sparse with the Jockey Club (very good and friendly) and a Pharmacy the main choices (more on that in separate review). We hope that such a nice little town does not fall into a funk that so many small towns have experienced with the young either moving away or people no longer being able to afford the old and often large historic homes. The visitors bureau was very nice and helpful and the old library was also of interest with the Confederate Treasure chest but shops were sparse though old homes were plentiful. Washington is certainly worth the visit and the Fitzpatrick is a great choice for the stay (or maybe you can buy it). Worth a day to visit !

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank scot1ru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

As city dwellers, visiting the Fitzpatrick was a little bit of a shock. First, there was nobody at the front desk when we arrived, so we simply called the phone number listed and the clerk hurried over within minutes. He was very quiet, just like the hotel. That day we did spot a few souls in the nearby cafe, but for the next two days we may have been the only occupants at times. We were also informed to return by 11 pm since the front door is locked and we wouldn't be able to get in. That was fine with us, and we never did ask if we could get a key if we missed the cut off. The place is absolutely gorgeous and although we stayed in the most reasonable room in the place, it was roomy, had a fireplace, good tv and great wifi reception, plus the bathroom was not a disappointment. The complimentary continental breakfast was kept out for us when we knew we may be waking too late and may have missed it otherwise. One morning we even ate outside in the back yard. It would be a lovely place to rent for a wedding reception or some other nice event. I would highly recommend this and will return again if we visit the area again.

Room Tip: The third floor requires you to be able to climb at least one flight of stairs.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mojodrag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

This is a wonderful historic hotel in a fantastic little spot. It is a beautifully restored hotel with high end amenities. The bed was top quality and also beautiful, the room had high ceilings, old hardwood floors and lots of woodwork, the doors and hardware were beautiful and the old claw foot bathtub was a real treat and has a shower too. There was a spacious closet and plenty of drawer space. The windows faced the quaint town square and had beautiful stained glass above each window. There was a very nice breakfast available and the staff was VERY friendly, warm and accommodating. The little town of Washington has many antebellum homes and several are available to tour. There is also a plantation nearby, (Calaway), that is open to tour.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Beautiful restoration in an historic setting. Quaint town square. Very accommodating and friendly atmosphere. With 5 family members staying, the manager was helpful in placing us in rooms to suit our very needs.

Room Tip: Second floor bay front king room was huge and purposed a comfy rollaway for child.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank EarlandPatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

My wife & I stayed at this hotel for a couple of nights and we were the ONLY guests, which made for an unusually quiet hotel - total silence and even though my wife didn't care for the ultra quiet, I actually thought it was fine. The owners allowed us access to and from at will and we had the nice continental breakfasts in the mornings. We did see a desk clerk once to check-out, but essentially we were on our own in this grand old remodeled hotel. The room and bath, reception and breakfast room was very nice and it is clear that the hotel is used for weddings and meetings, etc.. We were there at the beginning of a week and the entire town was quiet and not busy anywhere. I was there on a family-history gathering trip, so all was great anyway.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jimmclendon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
christy t, Owner at The Fitzpatrick Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Jim,
Thank you for your review. I am glad that you had a pleasant stay.

You brought up a very good point that Washington is very quiet Sunday - Tuesday with many of the stores and museums closed during that time. Based on your review, I plan to update our website to reflect this so that customers coming to town for a getaway are aware and can plan their trip accordingly. Additionally, the Fitzpatrick only opens mid-week (Sun-Thu) if a guest requests accommodations so the hotel can be very quiet during those days of the week especially if we have opened for just one guest.

We hope to see you again on your next trip to Washington.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews