We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent Hotel, But No B&B” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Fitzpatrick Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Fitzpatrick Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Washington B&B and Inns
Inman, SC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Decent Hotel, But No B&B”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2009

Just returned from a quick get away trip to Washington, Ga. Lovely southern town with beautiful antebellum homes and full of southern history. My wife and I stayed in Tower Room 307 at the Fitzpatrick Hotel. The Fitzpatrick Hotel was nicely restored, well furnished and a visual delight. Minor repairs needed here and there, but overall the hotel was in great shape to be dated from the late 1800's. The only thing missing from this pleasant location were the nice extras usually associated with a southern B&B. There was only one small hand soap in our room, no specialty soaps, shampoos or lotions for the ladies. No cookies or wine from the kitchen in the evenings, and most importantly, there was no breakfast available except cereal, cake and fruit. We don't call carbs breakfast in the South. I will say that we had a great supper at the hotel with lamp chops, steak and ahi tuna.

Overall, Washington, Ga. was a lovely town, friendly folks and a unique hotel. Besides the lack of grits, eggs and bacon and the fact that we were pan-handled outside the hotel, we enjoyed our stay. One other tip, skip the Battle Creek Memorial site. Not much to see, and out in the middle of nowhere.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChDoBishop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    23
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
19
63
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville, AL
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2009

I have always had a perfect stay in this hotel. The staff takes the time to get to know you, appreciate your individual needs/quirks, and make sure that they are all tended to. The hotel itself is pretty magnificent, with period correct appointments. Rooms are spacious, with sitting areas, clawfoot tubs, and armoires that give the space a warm feel. The cafe is perfect for Starbucks coffee and pastries in the morning, and the restaurant is amazing for dinner. I have the Boursin filet usually, and the temp and flavor are right every time. We will also spend time after dinner in the little side bar to chat with the staff and unwind for the night. Here is where you can appreciate the sincere interest and appreciation that these people have for the quality of your stay. We will return again and again.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JPOG71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
318 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2007

Once upon a time the Fitzpatrick was a wonderful place to stay but a few months ago it was sold and it ain't what it use to be.

Lets begin with check in which took 15 min and I was the only person in the lobby. Then there was the attempt to down grade me from the room that I booked with no cash back. The room was nice but it lacked chairs and rugs although the wood floor was nicely refinished. The bathroom only had a very narrow small shelf to place your things with poor lighting. I return to the hotel about 10pm on a Saturday night and the lobby was vacant and after waiting 10 min I called the front desk on my cell phone and got placed on hold forever. Breakfast was the worst with fresh fruit being canned fruit with a fresh apple added, the pastry was store bought, coffee was luke warm and we never got our tea. When I commented about the food was told it is this way all the time. When it came time for check out the person was on the phone and when they hung up they walk away from the desk so after another long wait I just left the keys on the desk and went on my way. With so many bed and breakfasts in town why would anyone stay at the Fitzgerald is beyond me

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — service
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank riceland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2007

This is a very nice hotel. Clean and very impressive.

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Ken_Alexander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, GA
Level Contributor
86 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2007

For New Year's Eve we stayed at the Fitzpatrick in Rm 205 - the Tower Room.

We agree with all of the above posters who gave this hotel high marks.

The coal fire (actually gas) in the fireplace was the perfect added touch.

  • Stayed December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank irablock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2006

This is a beautifully restored, impeccably maintained, friendly and gracious establishment. I stay in luxury hotels all the time for business, and I'd choose the Fitzpatrick every day over larger full-service properties. The price is amazingly low for the pleasure of staying here.

  • Stayed October 2006, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ahcpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2006

Everything about the Fitzpatrick was outstanding. It was like stepping back in time to a gentler way of life--around the turn of the 20th century. In our room on the third floor, I thought I detected a female presence and smelled a flowery perfume, but nothing scary, and, of course, it could have been my imagination. We met another couple who said they heard the place was haunted by a lady in green, phantom piano music, party sounds near the ballroom, and so on. But the Fitzpatrick is the sort of place that wouldn't be complete without a ghost or two.

I highly recommend the Fitzpatrick. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2006, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Washington
1.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 1 in Washington
3.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
21.0 mi away
White Columns Inn
White Columns Inn
#2 of 6 in Thomson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
20.8 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#5 of 6 in Thomson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Thomson
Hampton Inn Thomson
#1 of 6 in Thomson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
0.2 mi away
Southern Elegance Bed and Breakfast
20.9 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#3 of 6 in Thomson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fitzpatrick Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fitzpatrick Hotel

Property: The Fitzpatrick Hotel
Address: 16 West Square, Washington, GA 30673
Region: United States > Georgia > Washington
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Washington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Fitzpatrick Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This fully-restored, historic hotel sits directly on the square in lovely downtown Washington and allows guests to experience luxurious accommodations reminiscent of another era, while providing all the modern amenities our guests have come to expect such as: hot-breakfast, DSL, 24-hour on site staff, off-site health club facility, satellite television, restaurant on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Fitzpatrick Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitzpatrick Hotel Washington
The Fitzpatrick Hotel Washington, Georgia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing