We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (63)
Filter reviews
63 results
Traveller rating
61
1
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
61
1
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kilpatrick hills erskine bridge great communication thought of everything loch lomond glasgow city on arrival wonderful stay short drive home from home cameron house leigh anne alex sheep wee accommodation scotland
Filter
Updating list...
56 - 61 of 63 reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2012

The cottages were easy to find & Alex Fleming met us on arrival. These cottages truly are located in one of the most stunning locations we have been to. The outlook was mesmerising, i sat outside in the lovely seating area with a cup of coffee 1 morning whilst the rest of the family sleeping, taking in the beautiful view, it was bliss and really was a highlight of the holiday. The interior was superb, high quality, modern with lots of home comforts and lovely personal touches such as the fantastic, and very full, welcome hamper. The location was perfect, we went for a picnic up to the loch Humphrey 1 day, which the kids loved, a visit to loch Lomond the next and then a packed day in Glasgow. Really can't express how much we absolutely love these cottages, kids are already asking "when can we go back"?! We will be in touch very soon....

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2012

We were the first lucky people to get to stay in these beautiful cottages and found it very hard to leave!

Inside, the cottages were beautifully renovated with everything we could possibly need. Little touches like the welcome hamper and selection of childrens toys/ books and DVDs ensured our stay was relaxing from the moment we got there.

Outside, the views were amazing, the enclosed garden with play area and surrounding fields and streams were a perfect place for our two young boys to run around. The fact that they could see sheep from their bedroom window was an added highlight for them!

Everything had been so well thought through, having a boot room with washing machine and tumble dryer is very handy with children!

And lastly, the service; Alex and his wife were lovely (and their boys) and couldnt do enough to help.

With family in Glasgow, we will certainly be returning year on year and would highly recommend Gavinburn Cottages to everyone.

My 3 year old still says it was his best holiday ever...cant ask for anything more perfect than that!

Room Tip: We stayes in the two bed cottage but were lucky enough to get a nose around the 4 bed also, which was just as beautiful.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vikki G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012

Wow what a place.From the moment we drove up the road the the Gavinburn Cottages,we loved it.Alex Fleming was there to greet us. The view was stunning.When inside we certainly were not disappointed. There was a welcoming basket,filled with more goodies than i have evr seen in a welcome basket.
It was comfortable,modern, yet homely.The special touches were seen in every room.Everything was there you didnt need to move.
Highly highly recommended.Worth every cent

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank coachCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

We found Gavinburn Cottages by complete chance when searching for a place to stay for my parents first trip to Scotland (from South Africa - so it had to be stunning!) ... and we could not have been more lucky / fortunate to come across this gem!!

Not only was the booking process a breeze, but on our arrival we were greeted warmly by the owner and had been left a 'welcome' basket in the cottage too (which contained all the essentials we needed - including booze! )

The cottage - is newly decorated (beautifully done!) and every possible need is catered for. The beds were extremely comfortable and the house was kept very warm with central heating as well as a fireplace in the living room. Nothing was missed or forgotten

The view - absolutely spectacular and breathtaking! From any front facing windows is a breathtaking view over the Clyde and Glasgow city. The land is privately owned and hence is so peaceful

I highly recommend this accommodation ... you will not be disappointed!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the two bed cottage - which was beautiful, but I am sure the other 4 bed is just as stunning!
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

What a beautiful cottage all the touches of a hotel but with the beauty of self catering. The views are amazing you can sit out for hours listening to the peacefulness while watching the sheep. A perfect location for a relaxing getaway.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank veevo8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews