We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another lovely stay at Gavinburn”
Review of Gavinburn Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Old Kilpatrick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gavinburn Cottages
Milton Keynes, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Another lovely stay at Gavinburn”
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We returned to Gavinburn last week and had another lovely visit. This time we stayed in the Glenlivet which is very comfortable and finished to a very high standard. The location and the views are fantastic. It is so handy for Glasgow (our teenage kids got the train from Old Kilpatrick into Glasgow Queen St), Loch Lomond and the Clyde coast.

We would not hesitate to recommend the cottages and will are looking forward to returning in August.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
11
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
England
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

Seven (eight including baby) of us stayed in the Auchentoshan cottage in November for the weekend. The cottage was ideal, had everything we needed and very comfortable. Each room can be double or twin, and they even provided a cot for our youngest group member. The kitchen isn't big but is well equipped - we self catered for the whole weekend and had everything we needed (inc. dishwasher). Our plan had been to go either to the spa at Mar Hall (if you plan to do this, talk to the owner of the cottages as I think he can arrange a discount) or out for a walk. We choose a short walk (15 mins - it was tipping it down!) but actually we were more than happy to stay in for the whole weekend eating, drinking and playing games. The lounge/dining room is spacious and cosy with the log fire. If you do go as a big group although there at two showers they can't be used at the same time due to water pressure. It didn't matter to us since we weren't going anywhere but others may like to leave extra time to get ready if you do venture out.

The views from the cottage are stunning, even at night the view over the river to the lights of Glasgow is great. We were treated to several firework shows too since it was bonfire weekend! All in all a great weekend.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Sligster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlexF75, Owner at Gavinburn Cottages, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Many thanks for the lovely comments and we glad you enjoyed your stay. You will be glad to know that we have resolved the water pressure issue by installing a new powered water system.
Regards
Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellon, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

Visited with friends and kids over New Year, great location with stunning views, particularly at night. Handy for Glasgow and Loch Lomond both, but once you're at the cottages, feels like you're completely in the countryside. Cottages are thoughtfully planned, very well decorated and kitted out to a very high standard, including a lovely welcome hamper of essentials and luxury items. So many self catering cottages don't really provide you with all that you need - not so at Gavinburn, kitchens are equipped with quality to ensure you can cook whatever you want to and the thought that has gone into providing all sorts of other gear, such as kids' toys, kids' plates and cups and flexible bedding/bed arrangements to name a few, really make you feel at home. To sum the cottages up? Feels like the owners know what you want as a guest and have tried their very best to provide it for you. A few of our group have spent quite a few years working in five star hotels, Gavinburn Cottages has a very five star feel, well worth a stay.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank caesar911t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Alex was meticulous from start to finish of our holiday always asking if everything was ok. He made us welcome on arrival and we totally enjoyed our stay. The rooms where spacious and clean, the quality was second to none, the views magnificent from the cottage.
We also had family from Australia over staying so the big rooms worked a treat.
Wouldn't hesitate to book again and recommend this location to family and friends in the future.
Thanks Alex.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rusgi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We had a lovely week here with our 3 young children. We stayed in the MacAllan. The cottage was modern, clean and very well equipped. The views were stunning both by day and night. The neighbours (2 highland cows named Toffee and Fudge) were friendly.! The location gave us the best of both worlds - being in the middle of the countryside for playing outside and walking and then only 10 minutes away from Glasgow's amenities. The cottage was lovely and cosy with its stove burning away of an evening with gorgeous views of Glasgow's evening lights past Erskine Bridge. The beds were big and comfortable. The kitchen was very well equipped for all self catering needs. The utility room was a bonus as it meant no big bag of washing to take home. Really cannot fault this at all and we hope to return next summer.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerryallan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

A total of eight of us stayed in the Auchentoshan Cottage for three nights. It was great. We arrived on a cold, wet evening and took great delight in warming up in front of the wood burning fire. We also had a great welcome basket including milk in the fridge so we could warm up with a cup of tea. The cottage was spotless. Very clean. The beds were VERY comfy and large. And Alex the owner was great during the booking process and afterwards. We stayed here as we were attending a wedding at cameron house and it was just perfect for us. We would definitley stay again and reccommend to anyone looking to make a visit to glasgow. Thank you Alex for a wonderful wee getaway!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank love2travel3012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Hi

Had a fantastic time staying at these cottages. The views are just breath taking - simply amazing. You can see for miles. At night you can see the Glasgow lights in the distance, daytime you have the river and mountains. You have to see it to believe how good they are.

The cottage is also perfect (we stayed in Auchentoshan) they provided you with a lovely welcome box. The cottage has everything you need. Was meet by Alex and they were very helpful.

Perfect location - If you are staying in and around Glasgow this should be your first choice. Really recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Old Kilpatrick
0.9 mi away
Erskine Bridge Hotel
Erskine Bridge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Erskine
1,362 reviews
1.8 mi away
Golden Jubilee Conference Hotel
3.4 mi away
The Abbotsford Hotel
The Abbotsford Hotel
#3 of 4 in Dumbarton
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Travelodge Dumbarton
Travelodge Dumbarton
#2 of 4 in Dumbarton
207 reviews
14.2 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
0.8 mi away
Mar Hall Golf & Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gavinburn Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gavinburn Cottages

Property: Gavinburn Cottages
Address: Kilpatrick Hills | Glasgow, Old Kilpatrick, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G60 5HW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > West Dunbartonshire > Old Kilpatrick
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Old Kilpatrick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Gavinburn Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly refurbished self-catering holiday cottages set high in the spectacular Kilpatrick Hills with stunning views of Glasgow and The River Clyde. Only 10 miles from Glasgow Airport, Glasgow City Centre and Loch Lomond. Perfect location for exploring Scotland and ideal for hill walkers and mountain bikers as we have some of Scotland's top rated trails, right on our doorstep. Sleeps 1 to 22 guests in luxury single or super king doubles. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing