We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (62)
Filter reviews
62 results
Traveller rating
60
1
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
60
1
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kilpatrick hills clyde estuary views are amazing glasgow city thought of everything everything you could possibly need home from home location is ideal short drive wonderful stay on arrival wi fi welcome basket cameron house highland cows leigh anne log burner
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 62 reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2014

This was our second time staying at Gavinburn and it was just as excellent as the first time. This time we stayed in two cottages - the Macallan and the Glenlivet. They both have open plan kitchens and living rooms. We honestly cannot recommend Gavinburn enough. They are fully equipped with everything you would ever need. Alex has thought of everything from DVD's, mini shower gel, towels, tea, coffee, sugar, kitchen utensils, tea lights, Yankee candles, board games...the list goes on! There is also a utility room where there is a washing machine etc and freezer. The welcome basket of eggs, cereals, bread, jam, marmalade, milk, shortbread, chocolate biscuits and a wee bottle of whiskey was also well received! The cottages have everything you could ever need! We had a great time staying here for a long weekend recently and we look forward to staying again.

Room tip: The Macallan has a walk in shower and is great for someone who is disabled.
Date of stay: October 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank love2travel3012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2014

We stayed in Glenmorangie Cottage for a week in June as we were attending a wedding in Glasgow. The accommodation was quite superb with everything you could want. The location meant we had easy access to Glasgow both by train and by car, as we visited a number of Charles Rennie Mackintosh sites. It was also handy for Helensburgh and the Kyles of Bute. The cottage looked out over the Clyde with the Erskine bridge in the foreground, no noise from the bridge.

Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jishome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2014

A beautiful cottage with spectacular views. The cottage was very well equipped, even bin bags were provided. Heaven in the highlands. A wonderful cottage set in the hillside. A walkers delight.
Irene and family

Date of stay: August 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Irene189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2014

My wife and I recently spent a week visiting Glasgow and the surrounding area. We could not have done any better than to choose to stay at the Gavinburn cottages. The location is awesome, even with the grey drizzly weather you can still get great views of Glasgow to the East and the Clyde meandering out to the ocean in the west. Although they feel remote and rural it's 2 minutes drive and you can be on the main route into Glasgow (about 10 mins drive) or to Loch Lomond (10 minutes the other way!). It was also very easy to cross the Erskine bridge and join the M8 for a straight forward trip across Scotland to visit Edinburgh.

We stayed in the smallest of the cottages, the Glenmorangie. We found it to be very spacious with a separate kitchen, bathroom and bedroom. It is very well furnished and feels like a home from home, especially with the wood burning fire going in the evening. The kitchen is well appointed with pots and pans, even a potato peeler and pizza cutter!!

Alex, the owner, sent us a text on the morning of the day of our arrival to say the cottage would be ready by 2pm, probably much earlier, so it was nice to know our arrival was expected and they were waiting for us. We were not disappointed.

We were sorry to leave after a lovely week, saying goodbye to the sheep and highland cattle which wander around the adjacent fields. We will be coming back.

Room tip: Our cottage, the Glenmorangie, was spacious and great for my wife and I. I'd have complete confidence in recommending any cottage which matches your needs. They are all lovely.
Date of stay: August 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Skw192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We spent 10 days at the cottage. The setting is awesome and the cottage was brilliant. Clean very well equipped and user friendly. The scenery was maginificent and setting peaceful and tranquil. The owner,Alex, was very polite most helpful. Will definitely go back. Highly recommended. Pierre and Julie Cayman Islands.

Date of stay: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pierre1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews