We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top Food Top Pub” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Brondanw Arms

The Brondanw Arms
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Have visited many times over the past two years and always find the hospitality and food to be of a very high standard. The food is wonderfully prepared and presented using fresh local ingredients. There is a well stocked bar and the the owners are friendly and will go out of their way to ensure that you enjoy your visit - the very best gastro-pub in the region!
Staffordshire & Powys
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Top Food Top Pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

I was visiting my sister in Maentwrog and went to this pub last Saturday. Excellent food! very friendly pub/restaurant. Would strongly recommend it. Suggest reserving a table at weekends.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank margaretwright48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    36
    14
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Staffordshire, England
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“As accurately recommended by Trip Advisor!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

This gastro pub was chosen on the basis of Trip Advisor ratings-we were not disappointed. The food we had was delicious. Pub has real atmosphere and very pleasant bar staff-highly recommended! It gets busy and it may be advisable to reserve a table especially if you are in a big party. Would choose to go back when in this beautiful part of Wales.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Trixie27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancashire
Level Contributor
92 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Lovely meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

14 of us went here for my Aunties birthday whilst on holiday in Porthmadog. We drove past it as the signs to find it were not very good, the only sign we saw was for a camp site so then had to turn around. It was more expensive than most pubs but was not a usual pub meal, much more upmarket meal which was very nice, and the desserts are really lovely and a good size too. The only problem we had was that one of the children's meals was much later than the rest of the party, would have been better to bring out all the childrens meals first.
There is plenty of outdoor seating and a good childrens play area so would be lovely on a hot day.
Would recommend this pub for a meal or just a drink but if more than a few of you i would book before you go as the meal seating area is not that big.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dawnella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Lunch”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

Pity this is not better as locals we would go more often. Food ok, but not exceptional, rather overpriced for what you get. On the pus side the staff are very friendly!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Draigcoch21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
Level Contributor
65 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good food .....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2013

We (3 adults) tried here on a Saturday evening. We rang ahead and were told that there were no free tables at 7pm but we could have a table from 6:30 until 8:30, which was fine for us. So, it's probably best to reserve a table if you're going. There's plenty of parking. Our table was towards the front of the pub. There's a good selection of dishes on the menu. It's good pub food with a few other dishes too. There's a good selection of starters. You order food and drinks at the bar. Service was friendly. I ordered a sirloin steak, the others ham. The wait for the food was longer than expected (about 40 minutes) but it was very good when it arrived. I'd asked for the steak to be cooked "medium", and it was. All meals were well presented on large square plates. Everyone enjoyed their meals (cost 40 pounds). Our glasses were collected during the meal and we were asked by the server as well as a member of the bar staff if everything was alright. That was good (it was not an intrusive or automatic question). We were offered the dessert menu but settled for coffee, which was served at the table. We enjoyed the meal and location. It's a pub with eating areas doing very good and well presented food. Only 4 out of 5 because of the wait for the food. Definately worth a second visit!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank eurocross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Brondanw Arms also viewed

Tremadog, Gwynedd
Beddgelert, Snowdonia National Park
 
Porthmadog, Gwynedd
 

Been to The Brondanw Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing