We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Authentico!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hacienda Vieja

Hacienda Vieja
Ranked #28 of 208 Restaurants in Woodstock
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Authentico!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

We were very pleasantly surprised by the new Hacienda Vieja! Originally from California, our search for authentic Mexican eats in the suburbs of GA is often futile. The menu is higher end, less traditional, and boasts many different flavor combinations. We ordered the molcajete and the chile colorado.. The molcajete, served in a mortar like bowl, was generously filled with marinated steak, chicken, chorizo, cheese, and grilled.onions, and served with toritillas, pico, and rice It was simply fabulous and could easily be shared by two. The chile colorado was a large, thin rib eye steak cooked to order, and incredibly tender and full of flavor. The restaurant itself is quite casual, with a full bar, multiple flat screens pinned up throughout, and the typical Mexican furnishings, While the prices were fairly high for lunch and the service was somewhat lacking, the food was DELICIOUS, authentic Mexican fare. We will be back!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Teachurite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    18
    7
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Panama
Level Contributor
176 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Table side guacamole”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Food is ok not the best Mexican in town. But, the best part of it is the table side guacamole needs to add a little more lime.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic Establishment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

This has become our new favorite spot for Mexican food, over the last 6 months. It's a short distance off the interstate, and traffic is rarely an issue. The service is incredible, the food is absolutely heavenly, and the prices don't get any better. The drinks are great and the wait staff has always been on top of their game.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EchoSlim8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumming, Georgia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Waitress mess up”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

New place so we decided to check it out. It was a late Sunday afternoon and the place was pretty quiet. We were given a server that had a lot of trouble taking order and putting it into their system. We ordered items straight off the menu (nothing extra or substituted) but she kept coming back to the table to ask us what we got again. When our food came out she left the rice and beans off one of the meals. When we asked for them it took awhile but she eventually brought out just beans and the wrong kind that I'd asked for from the start. The food was good, and I'll give the place another try. I'm hoping this waitress was just new or has gotten some help since then.

Helpful?
Thank Kelli C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ATL
Level Contributor
43 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A Winner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

Previous restaurants in this location haven't lasted. I suspect this one will. Definitely one of the better Mexican places in Woodstock. Have been here several times and it's now our "go-to" place for Mexican food. My only complaint is that the service can be a little spotty. We've had great service and not-so-great. On the plus side the menu seems to be less cliche that most Mexican places. And it's not super loud like La Parrilla so you can actually have a conversation. 3+3 Burritos, Seafood Burritos, and Burrito Hacienda Vieja are all winners. Chorizo cheese dip is also worth it.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sealgair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Hacienda Vieja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing