We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Musty odor in rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Brasstown Valley Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Young Harris
Certificate of Excellence
Jasper, GA
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Musty odor in rooms”
Reviewed 8 August 2013

I have stayed at this "resort" two times and each time the room has had a very humid feel and an overwhelming musty odor. Housekeeping came by this last visit and sprayed the floor with a de-odorizer. The outcome being that we not only had a musty odor, but also a wet floor. If you go to this resort, I would highly recommend that you reserve a room on a floor other the second or third floor, each of which are at ground level. My friends in the higher floor levels did not have this problem. The rooms in the hotel are clean and acceptable, but not overly elaborate. The hotel staff are friendly and helpful. The seafood buffet is very over rated and over priced in my opinion....a lot of fried food. The public areas are a natural material which makes for a warm feeling.

Room Tip: Stay on floors level 4 or higher to avoid a musty odor in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Randy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrasstownStaff, General Manager at Brasstown Valley Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Thank you for choosing Brasstown Valley Resort & Spa as your Georgia Mountain destination on two different occasions. I appreciate your positive feedback regarding our staff and our public area finishes.

I apologize that you experienced challenges with room accommodations during both visits. We have taken steps to address any concerns with rooms feeling damp or musty. While our efforts have helped we understand that this is a process. We are committed to eliminating any concerns as shared by our guests. I will review your specific room with my team to resolve the matter.

It was a disappointment to read that you felt our seafood buffet is over rated and over priced. Our seafood buffet is extremely popular and highly praised by many guests. We do provide a number of fried items but we also include steamed crab legs, oysters on the half shell, boiled shrimp, baked fish, carved beef, blackened salmon and lobster-crab salad. That being said, I will share your comments with my team and review our selections with a focus on meeting everyone's preferences.

Thank you once again and please return often.


Charles Burton
General Manager
Brasstown Valley Resort & Spa
6321 Highway 76-Young Harris, Georgia 30582
tel (706) 379-4600 -fax (706) 379-9999
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

872 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    450
    260
    90
    43
    29
See reviews for
163
376
17
145
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (326)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cartersville, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We were looking for a special place to spend our anniversary and found this beautiful place on LivingSocial. Although we had heard of Brasstown Valley Resort, we had never had the opportunity to visit there. Beginning with the reservationist, every member of the staff that we came in contact with did their utmost to help make our trip to Brasstown Valley Resort one of most special anniversary celebrations in our 29 years together! We enjoyed a couples massage at Equani Spa, played golf, relaxed by the pool and went for walks. All of the food, from the breakfast buffet to lunches at Brassies to a romantic dinner, was always awesome. We loved our stay, will definitely go back and would highly recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Rooms with a fireplace would be nice for the Fall or Winter but choose a room with a balcony for Spr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LC_in_Cville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrasstownStaff, General Manager at Brasstown Valley Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Thank you for taking time out of your day to write a review. I am happy to read that your experience was everything you wanted it to be. It is always good to read that our staff are providing the experience we strive everyday to achieve.

It is my pleasure to have you stay with us and I hope you continue to make us your anniversary (or anytime) destination of choice for many years to come!!

Sincerely,
Charles Burton
General Manager
Brasstown Valley Resort & Spa
6321 US Hwy 76
Young Harris, GA 30582
Direct Line 706-379-4600
Fax 706-379-9999
Charles.Burton@Brasstownvalley.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evans, Georgia, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2013

My husband & I just spent a wonderful weekend at this resort and will definitely return! The hotel was beautiful, the golf course was great and so was the food. We had a couple's massage at the Equani Spa and highly reccomend it also. The staff was friendly and very accomodating. A special thanks to our server in the restaurant on Sunday night! She was great. The scenery surrounding the resort was beautiful. We are looking forward to returning in the fall when the leaves start to change. Great place for families or couples.

Room Tip: Request a room with balcony overlooking the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrasstownStaff, General Manager at Brasstown Valley Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Thank you for choosing Brasstown Valley during your recent getaway. I appreciate your positive feedback regarding our facility, staff and food. It is our mission to provide "magic moments" for our guests which we work hard to deliver each and everyday. We welcome to opportunity to be your resort of choice for many years to come.

Please feel free to contact me if I can be of any assistance in the future and thank you for being our guest.


Charles Burton
General Manager
Brasstown Valley Resort & Spa
6321 US Hwy 76
Young Harris, GA 30582
Direct Line 706-379-4600
Fax 706-379-9999
Charles.Burton@Brasstownvalley.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We spent the weekend here for a wedding. Everyone was helpful and made our stay a memorable one. Though the pool was unexpectedly closed for the preparation of a corporate event, we were able to persuade the staff to allow us to jump in and cool off, as the event wasn't until later in the day.
What a beautiful location! The mountains afforded us a cool respite from the heat (it was in the 90s back home in New England that weekend!) and there were plenty of photo opps.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrasstownStaff, General Manager at Brasstown Valley Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am very pleased to read that the wedding was a memorable one. We pride ourselves on providing our guests with a place to "Leave your worries at our door". We look forward to being your destination of choice for years to come!

Thank You Again!!

Charles Burton
General Manager

6321 Highway 76Young Harris, Georgia 30582
tel (706) 379-4600 fax (706) 379-9999
cburton@brasstownvalley.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisiana
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

I definitely recommend staying here! We were staying with friends and they brought us here just to see this outstandingly beautiful resort. I was in utter peace and awe just being in such a lovely location. The serenity of this spot is breathtaking. The hospitality of all of the staff was second to none. Pool area, gym area, bar, and oh that fireplace! Would love to return during Christmas to see this resort in full decoration.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amyjemesouviens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrasstownStaff, General Manager at Brasstown Valley Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Thank you for the kind words regarding your visit. We would love to have you stay with us. Christmas is a magical time at the resort and we love to share that magic. I am glad you stumbled across us, thanks to your friends! I look forward to Brasstown Valley Resort & Spa being your destination of choice for a long time to come!!

Charles Burton
General Manager
Brasstown Valley Resort & Spa
6321 US Hwy 76
Young Harris, GA 30582
Direct Line 706-379-4600
Fax 706-379-9999
Charles.Burton@Brasstownvalley.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
deerfield beach
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We held my family's 40th reunion at this resort. It was one of the best reunions that we've ever had!! The doormen were extremely friendly and helpful. They greeted us daily throughout our 3 day stay. The lobby was rustic with large picture windows for watching the beautiful mountain views. The stables were filled with horse and colts; and the cabins offered separate individually locked bedrooms that opened up to a common area (kitchen, den). This place makes you feel at home but with the plus of no cleanup!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shervince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrasstownStaff, General Manager at Brasstown Valley Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Thank you for choosing Brasstown Valley for your 40th Family Reunion. I appreciate your positive feedback regarding our facility, staff, and food. I will personally thank each of them for creating "magic moments" for you and your family.. We welcome to opportunity to be your resort of choice for many years to come. Again thank you for being our guest and we look forward to seeing you during your next visit.

Please feel free to contact me if I can be of any assistance in the future and thank you for being our guest.


Charles Burton
General Manager
Brasstown Valley Resort & Spa
6321 US Hwy 76
Young Harris, GA 30582
Direct Line 706-379-4600
Fax 706-379-9999
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simpsonville, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Great place to relax, play golf, and enjoy the awesome view of the mountains.
No matter the time of day the view is spectacular. Trails meander through the property.
Horse stable on property for riding. Spectacular sunsets to view from porch.
Dining room open for a great breakfast with lots to choose from, omelets made daily to order.

Room Tip: Definitely get a room with a view, spectacular sunsets over the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingfoolsofsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrasstownStaff, General Manager at Brasstown Valley Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Thank you for choosing Brasstown Valley for your recent stay. I appreciate your positive feedback regarding our facility, staff and food. Our golf course is repeatedly ranked as one of the top courses to play in North Georgia!! I would have to agree with you about our Spectacular views...they are simply amazing!! Please return often as our guest!

Thank You,

Charles Burton
General Manager

6321 Highway 76Young Harris, Georgia 30582
tel (706) 379-4600 fax (706) 379-9999
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Young Harris
1.8 mi away
Ridges Resort & Marina
Ridges Resort & Marina
#2 of 2 in Young Harris
656 reviews
4.1 mi away
Lake Chatuge Lodge
Lake Chatuge Lodge
#2 of 5 in Hiawassee
271 reviews
14.1 mi away
Harrah's Cherokee Valley River Casino & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Helen
18.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Helen
Hampton Inn Helen
#3 of 19 in Helen
901 reviews
18.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Helen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brasstown Valley Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brasstown Valley Resort & Spa

Property: Brasstown Valley Resort & Spa
Address: 6321 US Highway 76, Young Harris, GA 30582-2717
Region: United States > Georgia > Young Harris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Young Harris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Brasstown Valley Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled among the North Georgia Mountains, Brasstown Valley Resort & Spa quietly redefines the typical mountain getaway. Just a short two-hours from Atlanta, there is something for everyone at Brasstown Valley Resort & Spa. No longer a secret, the 18-hole championship golf course was named among Golf Digest magazine's top places to play. The Stables at Brasstown Valley Resort & Spa offers one- and two-hour guided horseback trail-riding for every skill level. And the 7,500-square-foot Equani Spa, inspired by the area's native Cherokee people, serves up treatments to maximize strength, health, appearance, mental acuity and spiritual balance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Brasstown Valley Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brasstown Valley Resort And Spa
Brasstown Valley Hotel Young Harris
Brasstown Valley Resort Young Harris
Brasstown Valley Resort & Spa Georgia/Young Harris

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing