We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Horned Owl was a surprise” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Snake River Birds of Prey National Conservation Area

Snake River Birds of Prey National Conservation Area
Ranked #43 of 124 things to do in Boise
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Habitat for many species, including the golden eagle and the peregrine falcon.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Horned Owl was a surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

We enjoyed exploring the Conservation Area. The roads were easy to follow and pullouts had interpretive signs. I learned to recognise the kind of terrain that supports raptors, so later in the trip we were able to recognise similar places and look for raptors.

Down at the Snake River, we were delighted to see a Horned Owl sitting in the low branches of a tree by the river.

We were there in the middle of the day and didn't expect to see many birds - so we were pleased by the water birds on the Snake River. On a hot day, it's nice to picnic on the green grass by the river at the dam.

The Conservation Area might not appeal to people who are not birders.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Tirralirratripadviso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    8
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A nice drive out to a lovely cliff overview of the valley!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

The drive is long, but nice when you want to get out of town. On the way to Dedication Point is Initial Point, the first surveyor's point in Idaho. It's to the left, just a small hill, but still has lovely views. Continuing on the road you will reach the dedication point with outhouses and a pull-out and nice picnic benches on the trail. The canyon views of the dam and Snake River are picturesque at all times. Following the road down to the dam and gravel roads leads to more views, warm summer swimming and great fishing!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MightyMouse777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
75 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A bust”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

Its a long drive down to dedication point to learn that you probably won't see birds unless dressed in camo in early morning in the spring. Skip this one.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Holmeswk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pretty neat but smaller than I expected”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

They clearly do some amazing work with breeding endangered species and it was great to hear about it and see the exhibits. The facility as a whole was smaller than I anticipated. Also, the outdoor demonstrations don't start until the Fall, which was a bummer. But we had fun anyway.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rancho Mirage, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Beautiful views and GREAT for birding!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

This whole valley is teeming with life. Gravel paths which you can easily drive on with a regular car give you access to great views as well as nesting areas for birds of prey. I arrived late in the season unfortunately as this was my first trip and did not know that most of birds are gone by late June. However, I did find some great Osprey in a nesting area and was able to get some great shots with a 100-400 mm lens. I recommend this area for anyone interested in seeing this fantastic birds.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Vector4530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Snake River Birds of Prey National Conservation Area also viewed

 

Been to Snake River Birds of Prey National Conservation Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing