We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Late night dining perfected!”
Review of Berryhill

Berryhill
Reserve with OpenTable
Berryhill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #116 of 791 Restaurants in Boise
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$31
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Idaho Street
Description: Restaurateur, caterer and celebrated chef John Berryhill presents his popular fine yet casual restaurant dining in sexy uptown digs, right in downtown Boise. Berryhill's downtown Boise restaurant is within 2 blocks of Boise's finest hotels and attractions...enjoy the experience, it's all about you! Berryhill's Northwest cuisine influenced by an array of flavors from around the globe.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
149 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Late night dining perfected!”
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Tried Berryhill when most were finishing dinner, we were greeted by friendly staff and a live jazz trio that we chatted with at the bar. As it was late we started with dessert and drinks, ran into old friends and couldn't pass up trying the pan roasted chicken. So glad we did!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    31
    11
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth
Level Contributor
717 reviews
292 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
“Berryhill & Company”
Reviewed 9 November 2013

After being told it would be an hour wait for anything other than a seat at the bar in two other downtown restaurants I 'discovered' Berryhill & Co. No wait, nice table in the wine room. Perhaps the white table cloth atmosphere and large number of servers/bar tenders decked out in all black scared other diners away. They missed out. B & Co offers a wide selection artfully prepared and presented. The tomato bisque had chunks of fresh tomato flesh. The filet perfectly seasoned and broiled was matched with a Stetson Hat sized bucked of Salt & Pepper French Fries which were the hit of the entree.

BTW, they offer Thanksgiving either as a take away meal or a dine in buffet. That might be worth exploring.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellensburg, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“dog lovers should boycott”
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Last summer my husband & I luncheoned here on their outdoor patio. We had our well-behaved Cavalier King Charles Spaniel with us; no problem. On our return trip this summer, we were seated again, with our dog, on the very same patio; no sooner settled at our table, the owner/mgr. comes over to tell us to leave because we had a dog. We walked a few blocks away, saw outdoor seating at the Alavita restaurant, inquired if we could be served, told "yes", we proceeded to enjoy a very pleasant dining experience. The food & service were excellent, and the price very reasonable, much more so, than the "snotty Berryhill. We will never dine there again even sans the dog, and will not fail to inform friends & family of our shabby treatment . From, "Veronique's Atelier"

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank veroniqueatelier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Go for the food & atmosphere--service not so much”
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Located in downtown, this is an attractive restaurant with upscale atmosphere, good food and wine. But, the quality of the service (indifferent, server had to be reminded to bring items, etc.) we received detracted from the meal and I reflected that in my tip.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank MaryDenver28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Overrated”
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Dinner here was unsatisfactory on many points
Food: Menu writing was too cute, difficult to ascertain what a dish was about. The "Angry Pasta" was mere spaghettini overdosed on Thai red pepper. I added shrimp, which were OK.
Service: Our server was apparently understudying to be a bartender as he spent considerable time hanging around the bar as the bartender showed him how to make drinks. Of course, during that time he was not concerned with serving our food. And, to me the ultimate sin, a busser who says "You guys through working on that?" Is it that hard to train the staff to say "May I clear these dishes for you?" It was 101 degrees outside and the front desk person wanted to seat us next to the open door through which the staff would be passing continually.
Ambiance: Unremarkable.
All in all, pretty much a pedestrian experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank picky1Oregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Berryhill also viewed

 

Been to Berryhill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing