We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boring” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of World Center For Birds of Prey

World Center For Birds of Prey
Ranked #2 of 124 things to do in Boise
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Currently the World Center for Birds of Prey is closed to the public due to damage from snow and ice. We hope to be open by March 1st. Thank you for your patience! We hope to see you soon! Experience birds of prey eye-to-eye and explore the mysteries of their flight, survival, and relationship with humans. Live bird demonstrations and falconry heritage tours complement hands-on exhibits for all ages. Enjoy panoramic views of the Treasure Valley from the interpretive trail and gazebo, or browse the gift shop. Admissions and purchases support conservation programs worldwide.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Baby buggy parking, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Boring”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

The "bird show" was terrible, our family expected to see something more than a handler holding a half blind, partially deaf bird while she gave a 15 minute speech on the importance of protecting falcons. She asked for it to remain as silent as possible and when a parent got up to remove their crying baby from the audience she asked that people not move from their chairs, not sure how both requests could be fulfilled in such a circumstance. When she opened the session for questioning, she was annoyed that people were asking questions. It is almost like she didn't expect anyone to take her up on her offer.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank Bridgette D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    272
    99
    21
    6
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Birds might not be your thing but give it a chance”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012 via mobile

I wasn't too sure what to expect from this place considering I'm not much of a bird watcher or anything. But I was pleasantly surprised at how interesting the birds were, especially the bald eagle. And the staff is very friendly.

Helpful?
Thank CaptainBeardman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
197 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Wonderful Education Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2012

This place, located just a bit south of Boise proper, is a really unique opportunity to learn about the large birds of prey that have now become so scare in the wild. The exhibits are informative and easy to understand, and, most importantly, are really interesting. The most fun for the kids is usually the birds themselves. There are a number of injured birds (eagles, for example) that are caged because they can't be let loose in the wild. And several times a day the docents will bring out a hawk or one of their other large birds to provide a detailed talk about the bird, and to give a unique opportunity to see a magnificent creature up close and personal. Great place for an educational family experience that the kids will really enjoy.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank IdahoKid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fun for all ages”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

We had a group of nine people aged 5 to 49, and everyone enjoyed our visit (including the two teens). The tour guides at the center are extremely well educated and informative. I recommend that you take advantage of all the programs offered, and ask about visiting the Archives. We learned all about falconry and got to go into a real Bedouin tent set up in the Archives building. The birds were fascinating and beautiful, and the kids enjoyed the arts and craft room!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank OrganicMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
195 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“A focused look at birds of prey”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

This is an enlightening & entertaining place to visit. Great exhibits comparing & contrasting the the various birds as well as areas for viewing the birds & even scheduled events to watch them fly. They have some very rare birds in captivity & are breeding others, i.e. the CA condor, for reintroduction to the wilds. This is awe-inspiring place. Be sure to viist their library, complete w/the Arabic section.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank pfcoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed World Center For Birds of Prey also viewed

 

Been to World Center For Birds of Prey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing