We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, OK Hotel”
Review of Hotel 43

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel 43
Ranked #20 of 58 Hotels in Boise
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Location, OK Hotel”
Reviewed 9 March 2008

We stayed at Hotel 43 for two nights on a weekend getaway. it was recommended to us by a friend. It seems to mainly be a hotel catering to business people; it has that atmosphere. it is actually an old hotel redone with a very modern motif. The location is what is great. It is just across the street from Grove Plaza, a full block set aside for concerts, the sports arena, the conference center, and some shops. You are one block from the newest shopping area with fun shops and restaurants, and all of downtown is just a few blocks away.

The room we had was a boutique king; it was clean and well appointed, but nothing really special. There was free wireless internet. The staff was friendly and attentive, but we did have to call twice to get a phone to work in our room. Which reminds me that there is a $10/night fee for parking, whether you have valet or you do it yourself, and while the parking garage is just next door, it does get busy and crowded, so seemed easier to have the valet do it.

We did not eat at the restaurant or have room service (it was very expensive). Overall, a decent hotel.

  • Liked — The Location in downtown Boise
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank IdahoMaryB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    115
    29
    5
    8
See reviews for
24
104
11
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boise
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 February 2008

During our stay, we were celebrating our 26th wedding anniversary. The dinner at Chandler's was excellent and we were both blown away by the jazz singing of Brianne Bower that night. The bed was most comfortable and staff very pleasant. The only complaint we had was the elevator on the left side kept getting stuck... which made us a little nervous to take it. We look forward to many more weekend get aways at Hotel 43, but in the mean time have become frequent visitors to Chandler's for their great food and fantastic jazz music.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank Bucer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, ID
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2007

My husband and I spent one night at the cool, renovated Hotel 43 and enjoyed it. The location is in downtown Boise and near all the shopping, restaurants and just a little walk (10 min?) to the museums and Julia Davis Park. The staff was very friendly and we stayed in a very hip suite.

What we liked:
Decor was fresh and modern and our room was very clean.

LOVED the bed. Huge, soft and comfortable.

Two plasma TV's and TWO toilets in the suite.

The tub was large, centered between the bathroom and sleeping room, romantic with curtains with nice flowing water feature. We loved it.

LOVED the lemon scented soap.

LOVED Chandler's - the steak house next door. Dark and cozy with candles, live music, great food, excellent service. However, we had reservations (8 p.m. on a Sat. night) and still had to wait 35 min. to sit at a table. We had drinks at the bar while we waited but wish it did not take so long because we were very hungry. It is a very popular restaurant so it can be loud at peak hours.

What we didn't like:
Don't bother to park in the garage next door - it costs at least $10. Try to arrive at the hotel after 4 p.m. so you can park on the street over night and pay nothing.

Lobby is small and cold in the winter - sliding glass entrance doors constantly open and close and let all the cold air in.

Breakfast on the room menu is way overpriced! Hotel cafe was closed on Sunday morning. Downtown Boise is dead on Sunday's and food is hard to find. We had to drive to a McDonalds to eat and that was pain.

No stocked mini-fridge and no soda or snack vending machines in the building! [--]?!

Itty bitty shower in the suite.

OVERALL...
it is an excellent hotel and I would recommend it to friends. Just be sure to bring your own snacks!

  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank a_traveling_couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrenton, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2007

My wife and I stayed for one night at Hotel 43 this weekend. It is a wonderful hotel in a great location. I can't help but believe that the negative reviews on here are carry-overs from when the property was called The Statehouse Inn. I never stayed at the Inn, but have never heard good things about it.
The staff was wonderful at the time of check-in, offering us bottled water and hand made local Huckleberry Chocolate. Our room was not huge, but was certainly adequate. This is a boutique hotel, not The Wynn! I feel that the public areas as well as the rooms were well appointed. My only conplaints would be with the bathroom, or more specifically, the shower. With the amount of available light, there should either be an additional light over the tub OR a lighter colored shower curtain. The shower also uses a Water-Pik shower head. This is a little difficult to get to a good stream for a shower. If I want a massage I'll go pay for one. If I want a shower, just give me a good stream with high pressure. The head was also a little low, but that is common in many hotels. I don't agree with another reviewer who said that they couldn't use the toilet comfortably. Unless his legs are REALLY LONG and he likes to stretch out, I don't see the problem.
All in all, I would certainly recommend this property to others. Pleasant staff and a great location!

  • Liked — Staff, Decor, Location
  • Disliked — Shower Head
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MedicBK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, KS
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2007

When the owners of Hotel 43 decided to revamp and transform this old proprerty in downtown Boise and turn it into a swank and modern property, the owners should have stayed true to the vision - throughout the hotel and not cut corners when it came to space. Everything from a decor standpoint is brand new and very nicely done. However the ergonomics and space issues throughout the hotel keep this property from soaring to heights previously unavailable in Boise. The first time you notice the tight quarters is when you step off the elevator. We stayed on 6. Come off the elevator and the hallway is so tight, you cannot walk two people pulling roll-away bags down the hall without bumping into each other. Next, the rooms are very small - no more than 300 square feet. Again, nicely decorated, modern furnishings, the bed was comfortable, and HVAC worked well. The room was clean and tidy. wireless interent access was however unavailable - which is unforgiveable for a new property. But - by far - the most confining part of the hotel stay was the impossibly small bathroom. I could not use the toliet without the door striking my knees. It's impossible to step out of the tub without closing the bathroom door. My wife and I felt like we were stationed on a submarine in that bathroom. The shower head in the bath tub was mounted at chest height - I'm 5'9 - not that tall -so to get my head wet I had to duck down. We really had higher expectations, and recieved a fair nightly rate, but this one is not for the claustraphobic. At this point - it's too late to fix these issues, they would have to remove walls and completely redo the space. It's a shame, it's really a nice place, great downtown location but comes up short on space.

  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank BusiestBizTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 June 2007

I've stayed at the Grove, but no more. Hotel 43 was simply perfect. Everyone from the doorman to the front desk was delightfully friendly and very helpful; they even lead you to your room and present you with a custom-made chocolate from a local chocolatier. The room was well appointed, comfortable, and nicely set up for business use (with automatic high speed internet and a comfortable desk). The lobby is a visual treat; they need to include pictures of it on their website. Loved every minute of my stay.

  • Stayed May 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Renee75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boise hotels
0.2 mi away
The Grove Hotel
The Grove Hotel
#7 of 58 in Boise
773 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Boise Downtown
0.3 mi away
Inn at 500 Capitol
Inn at 500 Capitol
#9 of 58 in Boise
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Modern Hotel and Bar
Modern Hotel and Bar
#6 of 58 in Boise
725 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Riverside Hotel
The Riverside Hotel
#8 of 58 in Boise
780 reviews
0.6 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Boise Downtowner
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 43? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 43

Property: Hotel 43
Address: 981 W Grove St, Boise, ID 83702-7036
Region: United States > Idaho > Boise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Boise
#12 Business Hotel in Boise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel 43 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel 43 conveniently located in the heart of downtown Boise is perfect for the business and leisure traveler. Each of our 112 guestrooms feature upscale furnishings and amenities reflecting our dedication to superior service and facilities. The hotel features panoramic views of downtown Boise and the Boise valley. Complimentary airport shuttle service is available for our guests convenience.Step outside our door and you are surrounded by beautiful Downtown Boise. Enjoy a wide variety of restaurants within walking distance such as PF Changs. Walk to the BoDo District/ the newest entertainment and shopping area downtown. Along the way you will find many delightful boutiques/ gift shops/ salons/ day spas/ jewelry stores/ art galleries and the State Capitol to explore. Visit the popular cultural attractions including the popular Basque District and Grove Street Illuminated public art display. Entertainment is abundant with the Egyptian, Edwards and Flicks theaters/ the Quest Arena and the Knitting Factory Concert House. Take a relaxing stroll on the Boise River Green Belt and visit several city parks or the one of a kind Anne Frank Human Rights Memorial. Business travelers will appreciate the convenient location to the Boise Convention Centre/ corporate headquarters and banking services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel 43 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
43 Hotel Boise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing