We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible service and terrible hygiene”
Review of Hotel 43

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel 43
Ranked #17 of 58 Hotels in Boise
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Due to some overwhemling demand it seemed like all of Boise was booked on the 17th so my aunt and I were left with a very limited choice in hotel arraingments. Although we booked in advance, when we arrived and had anticipated that all the amenities were taken care of the hotel suprised us with a hidden parking fee not mentioned on the website or when we made reservations, and due to our prior situation we had no other choice but to pay the parking fee or we would have been forced to park on the street. As far as service goes, we weren't all that impressed either. The valet service was impeccable, but aside from that our room service and the service at the front desk was less than par. After a long day in Boise my aunt returned to our room and opened up our closet door only to find two used condoms wrapped in a blanket and stuffed into the top compartment of the closet. I had taken the condoms down to the front desk and in an effort to be more sanitary I was going to confront the hotel staff. I found myself being laughed at and no service was provided to adjust the situation. However, if that wasn't bad enough, I had come to find myself in contact with ANOTHER used condom at the bottom of the closet the next morning, I once again took it to the front desk, but to no avail. We left on the 19th and were absolutely appauled by the terrible service and terrible hygiene we found ourselves dealing with. If I had any other choice, I would have definitely taken the opportunity to stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank TerriBristow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel43GM, Manager at Hotel 43, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2013

I am horrified that you encountered this situation in your guest room during your stay. This is not the service and experience our guests should have and I sincerely apologize your stay did not meet your expectations as well as ours. I have issued a full refund of your stay and you will receive the refund through Expedia. If you would like to discuss your stay please contact the hotel directly at your convenience. We appreciate your feedback with Tripadvisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (307)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

184 - 190 of 307 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2013

A great boutique hotel, rooms were stylishly decorated and service attentive. Beds very comfy which is always good! Loved the hotel 43 teddy! The steakhouse is great quality - a little pricy but worth it

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coolesfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013 via mobile

My husband and I recently stayed here for 5 nights during a business trip. Upon check in the front desk staff was friendly and helpful. The lobby is small but stylish.

The hallway (at least on the second floor) had a wild looking two tone red zebra print carpet. The room was stylishly appointed (luckily without tyre wild carpet), cute teddy bear wearing a hotel 43 robe in the center of the bed looked a little out of place in the modern dark interior room but we liked it.

We didn't have a lot of noise from hall or others rooms which was great! Bed was soft and comdy. Our room was a "pure" room which apparently is more hypoallergenic with bedding, pillows etc. We had to ask for feather pillows from the front desk because the hard foam ones on the bed were very uncomfortable (they brought then to our room quickly).

There is an attached parking garage which is convenient but you MUST make sure to have your parking permit showing at all times or you will be ticketed. Ours apparently fell off the dash when we closed the car door and we found a $50 ticket on our window when we went to get the car. The hotel valet quickly dealt with it but just be careful with the permit!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KWT-traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013

Just returned from a stay at Hotel 43 in Boise. Great place to stay, rooms were clean and nice, bed was super comfy and quiet for sleeping. Great location right downtown, nice steakhouse right in the hotel, Starbucks and breakfast also. Staff was knowledgeable and friendly. Definitely would return.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
Thank bigeasy43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2013

Hotel 43 was perfect in every way. The king-sized room gave me more than enough space, including a sitting area. Electric plug-in sockets were right where they should be for easy access. The bed was comfortable and the staff was unbelievably kind and helpful. Extra plus: The hotel is connected to an excellent steakhouse with a live band. Food and drinks were terrific.

Room Tip: The fitness center is very small and limited. However, the hotels hands out passes to the YMCA five...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CEO-on-the-go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Our Thirtieth anniversary stay was fantastic. Well appointed room with super bath and bedding appointments. With Chandlers Steak house in hotel you are next to one of the finest restaurants in Boise. Room was quiet and the staff helpful and friendly. We will do this again.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Stayed one night here. Cool lobby, nice front desk reception, quick check in. Nice wide hallways. Cozy rooms, modern furniture and very comfortable beds. Restful night. Loved the bar at Chandlers for a cocktail before retiring for the evening. Definitely would stay here again on our next trip to Boise.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AASeattleFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boise hotels
0.2 mi away
The Grove Hotel
The Grove Hotel
#8 of 58 in Boise
882 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inn at 500 Capitol
Inn at 500 Capitol
#1 of 58 in Boise
234 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Boise Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Riverside Hotel
The Riverside Hotel
#7 of 58 in Boise
890 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Modern Hotel and Bar
4 mi away
Oxford Suites Boise
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 43? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 43

Address: 981 W Grove St, Boise, ID 83702-7036
Region: United States > Idaho > Boise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Boise
#12 Business Hotel in Boise
Price Range: £146 - £258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel 43 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel 43 conveniently located in the heart of downtown Boise is perfect for the business and leisure traveler. Each of our 112 guestrooms feature upscale furnishings and amenities reflecting our dedication to superior service and facilities. The hotel features panoramic views of downtown Boise and the Boise valley. Complimentary airport shuttle service is available for our guests convenience.Step outside our door and you are surrounded by beautiful Downtown Boise. Enjoy a wide variety of restaurants within walking distance such as PF Changs. Walk to the BoDo District/ the newest entertainment and shopping area downtown. Along the way you will find many delightful boutiques/ gift shops/ salons/ day spas/ jewelry stores/ art galleries and the State Capitol to explore. Visit the popular cultural attractions including the popular Basque District and Grove Street Illuminated public art display. Entertainment is abundant with the Egyptian, Edwards and Flicks theaters/ the Quest Arena and the Knitting Factory Concert House. Take a relaxing stroll on the Boise River Green Belt and visit several city parks or the one of a kind Anne Frank Human Rights Memorial. Business travelers will appreciate the convenient location to the Boise Convention Centre/ corporate headquarters and banking services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel 43 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
43 Hotel Boise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing