We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It deserves a higher rank than Tripadvisor gives it among Boise hotels”
Review of The Grove Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Grove Hotel
Ranked #7 of 58 Hotels in Boise
Certificate of Excellence
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
48 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“It deserves a higher rank than Tripadvisor gives it among Boise hotels”
Reviewed 5 January 2013

This hotel starts to show its age (elevators, switches are old) but it is very good in every other respect. Valet parking has recently gone up in price to $16/night (some travel websites may not have updated this price) and self parking is also available for slightly less.

Restaurant in the hotel was also above average for dinner.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank m124124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

773 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    407
    219
    86
    35
    26
See reviews for
125
176
37
337
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kennewick, WA
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2012

We have traveled to Boise often in the last few years and stayed at numerous properties in the downtown area. The Grove Hotel is my favorite. The staff members are always friendly and go out of their way to make everything perfect. The rooms are spotless and comfortable. You won't get this kind of hotel experience at a chain.

There are tons of great restaurants within walking distance and we feel safe walking around downtown at night. If you are there on a weekend, the Capitol City Market on Saturday mornings is great fun.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2012

I loved the grandeur of this old hotel. It is in a perfect location in Boise, easy walking to everything, maybe a little hard to drive to the first time since all the streets around it are one-ways, but that's just Boise! The staff was very friendly and helpful. Our only complaint would be the valet parking - they rushed us out of our car when we pulled in, and then when we walked to dinner a little while later, there was our car parked right out on the street. We had asked the valet where it would be parked and he said it would be in a parking garage under the hotel. I'm sure they keep a good eye on the vehicles, but it just made us a little uneasy. Other than that, this is a top-notch hotel in a perfect downtown location.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JDS18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

The Grove Hotel is in a good location in Boise. It is near the Basque district street which features a small museum and restaurants. The hotel os an easy walk to the state Capitol and close to a bus stop for a trip to Boise State University. The room was comfortable but the meeting rooms were mediocre. The staff was pleasant and responsive.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamsmick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manteno, IL
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2012

Picked this hotel because the Hampton/Courtyard was about $80 higher so I decided to try it. It is definitely an old high end hotel. It was very dark like the hotels of old. The rooms have been updated some and they have tried to modernize. The only real complaint was the mattress and pillows. Not like you find in most hotels of this caliber. The wallpaper is getting very old and dirty. I just do not think they went far enough in the renovation process. Staff is very nice. Very good value based on the other downtown hotels.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Manteno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhode Island
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2012

Stayed here for our 32nd anniversary while vacationing in Idaho. Highly recommended- attentive, friendly staff. Weather was perfect, nice area to walk and explore. Ate at the Cottonwood Grill for our anniversary- Fabulous!!!! FlatBread, the Matdor and Bardenay, Pinnacle Bar are wonderful. Buffalo Wild Wings-great Jamacian wings and great place to watch the Patriots football game!!! Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Great view of Boise State stadium
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Davenlola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
284 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2012

We (there were three adults in our party) spent five nights here the first week of October. Overall it was an enjoyable experience. We chose this hotel because it was one of two full service hotels in downtown Boise and the only one that had suites plus great rates. The lobby décor was rather dated but cozy. The location was convenient to just about everything in downtown Boise, including some really good restaurants.

We had a tower suite located on the thirteenth floor, which is the top hotel floor. There are two additional stories which are private residences. The suite bedroom had plenty of space with two double beds (matresses need replacing), a large closet, a flat screen TV and a large window overlooking south downtown Boise. The living area had two overstuffed chairs, a couch that had a pull out bed, another flat screen TV, a desk and a large window overlooking east Boise. The kitchen area had a small sink, a compact refrigerator (not a mini bar fridge but one for the guest’s use) and a small closet. It was the perfect size for us. The one major drawback to the suite was the bathroom. It was not a small bathroom but a “tiny” one. There was no room to put anything. I made the mistake of hanging a personal item of clothing on the towel rack and housekeeping threw it in with the towels – never to be seen again. An overweight adult would be very uncomfortable in that bathroom. The tub/ shower combination had a type of spa tub which made the side of the tub higher than a regular tub and there was no grab bar, so getting in to take a shower was very challenging and an accident waiting to happen. Housekeeping kept the room clean and well stocked,

Parking was super convenient. We had the self-parking option which was seven dollars a day. We just took an elevator from the lobby down one floor to a single level garage. There were always plenty of available spaces. The garage is well lit and secure with an attendant on duty at all times at the only exit / entrance. We were glad we chose the self-park over the valet.

We had breakfast every morning at Emilio’s. The food was OK and the service was usually pretty good. The lobby bar was attractive and had very fair drink prices for a hotel. We encountered two bartenders during our stay – the male was great and we learned a lot about Boise from him but the female was rather unpleasant and we just avoided the bar when she was on. One of the things mentioned on the hotel website is the Zone sports bar which we were really looking forward to trying but the hotel staff informed us it is only open during the hockey team’s home games. That was disappointing to us and the hotel should update their website information. We did not use the fitness facilities.

.All in all, it was a good stay and should we find ourselves in Boise again we would probably stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michbren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boise hotels
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Boise Downtown
1.6 mi away
The Riverside Hotel
The Riverside Hotel
#8 of 58 in Boise
778 reviews
0.2 mi away
Inn at 500 Capitol
Inn at 500 Capitol
#9 of 58 in Boise
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Modern Hotel and Bar
Modern Hotel and Bar
#6 of 58 in Boise
724 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel 43
Hotel 43
#20 of 58 in Boise
284 reviews
4.1 mi away
Oxford Suites Boise
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grove Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grove Hotel

Property: The Grove Hotel
Address: 245 S Capitol Blvd, Boise, ID 83702-7220
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Idaho > Boise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Boise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Grove Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located at the heart of downtown Boise, The Grove Hotel offers luxury, elegance, and exceptional customer service at surprisingly affordable rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Grove Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grove Hotel Boise

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing