We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Boise Hillside Suites
Ranked #2 of 12 Boise B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cosmopolis, Washington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed 19 August 2012

We spent 4 nights at this wonderful bed and breakfast and wish we'd booked more! We were in John's Study, which has two rooms and a private balcony. The rooms are beautifully appointed and as one post stated, it looks like you are the FIRST guest to stay in the room (please note, there are no fumes of new paint or carpet that would make you feel ill, yet everything IS new). Our stay was quiet and peaceful. So nice to sit out on the balcony to read or just look out at the trees and the city. I appreciated the separate rooms in this suite so when one of us was asleep, the other person could be up for a snack or to sit on the couch or go outside. The breakfast delivered to our door in a picnic basket was a special treat to look forward to opening each morning, and having a choice to sit in the common area with other guests or eat in our room or on the balcony (our preference) was great.
Marylee and Keith are wonderful hosts. I highly recommend staying at this jewel and will never book another Boise hotel if there is a vacancy at the Hillside Suites.

Room Tip: John's Study is up a flight of stairs; the other suites are drive up access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TJPJ4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    26
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
112
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Forest, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2012

We came to Boise looking at it as a potential retirement spot in the future. We wanted a Bed & Breakfast rather then hotel and could not be happier with the choice of the Hillside Suites. The owners, Keith & Mary Lee provide breakfast every day promptly at 9:00 a.m. by delivering a basket of scrumptious and fresh items such as bacon & egg soufflé, cereal, fresh fruit and fresh baked goods directly to your door. You would not score this kind of service at a 5 Star hotel yet the prices are a fraction of what you would pay for that kind of service. There are several different sweets of varying sizes. We stayed in Marjorie's Library, a fairly large one Bedroom Suite with private bathroom, a couch, wood burning fireplace (although we were there in summer and did not use it), hot tub, refrigerator, microwave and single serve coffee maker (fresh cream for coffee is provided). In addition, they have a Roku for access to mainly online viewing services such as Netflix and Amazon. Also, we screwed up our rental car reservation and had to go back to the airport a few days later to pick up our car and Keith and Mary Lee generously provided us a ride to the airport. We could not have asked for a better stay--I would take this over the 5 Star hotel every day and twice on Sunday. If you do stay here, be sure to stop in at the Sol Bakery in very short walking distance--the owner Carrie is very conscious about using whole grains in her baking and everything is both healthy and good tasting. We would highly recommend staying here--you will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: If available select Marjorie's Library as it is the largest room and the price difference is not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2012

We're Boise locals and decided to have a staycation for our first anniversary. I was looking for a quaint place to celebrate that matched out honeymoon experience. I booked Joan's Sweet as it was the smallest room they had. MaryLee greeted us as we pulled up and made us feel welcome. The bed was the most comfortable bed I'd ever slept in and the breakfast was wonderful. The only downside is the shower is tiny in this suite but we're looking forward to coming back and staying in the other rooms.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank needhamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katy, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 August 2012

This was my first time ever at a B&B, so I was a little unsure of what to expect. After reading the information on the Boise Hillside website, I decided we could give this place a try. When you arrive, you feel like you are hours away from it all, yet it's only a few minutes away from downtown Boise. Keith gave us some great dining suggestions for dinner while showing us our room (John's study). The room was very clean and looked brand new, like nobody had stayed there before. The bed was really comfotable and provided a GREAT night's sleep. In the morning, a delicious breakfast was delivered to our room in a charming picnic basket. I really liked that you can enjoy breakfast in the comfort of your private in room dining area or on the balcony overlooking the hillside. They have Roku TV in the rooms, so there is a wide variety of movies and TV to watch in the room. We only stayed one night which was unfortunate. When we return to Boise, we will certainly stay there longer. They make you feel welcome, provide a beautiful and clean property AND make a delicious breakfast. What more can you ask for???

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walla Walla, Washington
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

From the moment we found this place, we loved it. We were greeted by Keith who showed us our room - John's Study, and told us a bit of the history of this special home. The room was lovely, had everything we could need and more. The best part of this stay was the delicious breakfast that was delivered to us in the morning.... what a treat! We will definitely return.
Our hosts had a mishap while we were there, so our breakfast the second morning was at a wonderful nearby restaurant - but they paid for our breakfast and promised us a discount on a future stay... we'll take them up on it!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gjpeas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 27 July 2012

My husband & I had planned on staying at Boise Hillside Suites for several days. However, due to unexpected circumstances, we had to extend our stay and, in doing so, we had the wonderful opportunity to experience each of the rooms they have to offer. I can say, without hesitation, that MaryLee & Keith run an outstanding B&B. The rooms are tastefully decorated, very clean, have comfortable beds, great coffee & tea offerings, Roku TV and the breakfasts (Oh Wow!). Opening the basket delivered to our door each morning was like opening a present. Each day the breakfasts were different & so very delicious. The home has an interesting history and the grounds are beautiful. The whole experience was very relaxing & stress free. As mentioned, our extended stay was unplanned. However, MaryLee was very gracious in accommodating us but unfortunately didn’t have a room available for our last night. She was considerate enough to locate us another place to stay. She and Keith really go the extra mile to make their guests feel welcome and valued. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sherry b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
148 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

I had a very restful stay while on a 3-day 1500 mile driving trip. The room (Joan's Sweet) had everything you could want. The shower is small but the water is great. The bed is super comfortable. I ate the dinner I brought with and the breakfast they provided, outside on their patio. It's quiet and secluded. Would loved to have stayed longer. The only downside would be that this room was extremely hot - couldn't seem to get it cool despite 3 fans and an open window. Ceiling fan would probably make it bearable but the ceiling is very low so not sure that would work.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dkFiona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boise hotels
3.7 mi away
The Grove Hotel
The Grove Hotel
#8 of 57 in Boise
635 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Riverside Hotel
The Riverside Hotel
#7 of 57 in Boise
672 reviews
5.2 mi away
Oxford Suites Boise
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Boise Spectrum
3.3 mi away
Modern Hotel and Bar
Modern Hotel and Bar
#6 of 57 in Boise
701 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Boise Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boise Hillside Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boise Hillside Suites

Property: Boise Hillside Suites
Address: 4480 N Kitsap Way, Boise, ID 83703-4026
Region: United States > Idaho > Boise
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Boise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Boise Hillside Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come relax the stay away in this hillside Inn located in the gorgeous North End foothills. Private hot tub, fireplace, HDTV with FREE Netflix. On the hillside, but very close to downtown Boise and all the action. The home is very unique. Quiet, private, and tranquil. The history is equally incredible. It is right on the Oregon Trail! - Private, quiet, secluded- Completely unique architecture- Built into the hillside- Gorgeous views of Treasure Valley and the Owyhee Mountains- Minutes to downtown and close to Bogus Basin Road- Incredible home story and history- Manicured grounds - Array of wildlife- All suites have private entrances - Private hot tub (one room)- Fireplace- Luxury linens - In-room Keurig coffee makers (with free coffee!)- Purified water- Free hi-speed wireless- HDTV with free Netflix - Refrigerators- Microwave ovens ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd so you can book your Boise Hillside Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing