We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We were Spoiled!”

Basque Museum & Cultural Center
Ranked #14 of 130 things to do in Boise
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Contains exhibits and collections that provide a look at the Basque heritage, history and culture.
Payette, Idaho, United States
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“We were Spoiled!”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We were there as part of Idaho's Heritage Conference so we were getting all the bells and whistles. We LOVED the Basque dancers! We loved the video and report on the dig for the well at the Cyrus Jacobs/Uberuaga House and were happy to get to see the site even from a distance. It was all just great - the best food, the kindest servers, the best atmosphere, the best music, the best experience during the whole conference! I definitely plan a return visit!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lucinda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    44
    10
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenfield Twp, Carbondale, PA
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
“A "must visit"”
Reviewed 12 September 2013

This is a part of Boise that you do not want to miss.
The whole area represents interesting people and culture that so many have folks do not even know exist.
Who are the Basque? Visit and enjoy a lesson in history and meet interesting people and taste unique foods.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank MME126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A whole block of Basque sights & tastes”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

The Basque block in downtown Boise is a definite "Don't Miss". The museums, cafes, and market are just a wonderful place to go, and is just a block long. Sit down outside and have a brew!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank GatorDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level 6 Contributor
391 reviews
94 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Interesting visit”
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We visited this attraction on a recent trip to Boise. The staff is very nice -- the display is okay, but limited (but, what the heck - it's $4 for Seniors). We left knowing more about this culture than we did when we arrived - which was our objective!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RichardB562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
80 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“A window on the Basque...”
Reviewed 21 August 2013

This is a small, charming museum about the Basque people and culture, both in Europe and in Idaho. If you're into history at all, I think you'll find it interesting. It's well laid out, easy to cover in an hour, and costs a whopping $5.00. There's also a little gift shop with t-shirts, CD's and memorabilia, as well as some books. I had no idea that Basque was a completely separate language, unrelated to any other European tongue. And who knew that Jai Lai was invented by Basques, or that Simon Bolivar was Basque? There's also a taped interview on the TV with a 105 year old Basque woman describing her arrival at Ellis Island. Also, I really like that this museum is a cultural center for the Basque community in Boise. There's a bar next door with a dance hall for traditional dances, and a pelota court down the block where some of the unique Basque sports are still played. There are also Basque restaurants across the street and a preserved historical boarding-house next door, one of many such where traditional Basque sheep-herders stayed... I liked it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Eammorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Basque Museum & Cultural Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing