We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great sandwiches and salads”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bleubird

Bleubird
Ranked #1 of 788 Restaurants in Boise
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Soups, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Boca Raton, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great sandwiches and salads”
Reviewed 5 August 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

A great corner restaurant for the most delicious and inventive salads, sandwiches and soups. You need to get there early for lunch because the line adds up and ends going out the door. Also, they will only take as many orders as they can fulfill within a certain amount of time, so you could have a substantial wait. It's worth it, though!!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lynda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    182
    17
    6
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Decadence masquerading as simple lunch fare”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Surprising. That creamy first bite of a pastrami reuben. The earthiness of the purple potatoes in their blue cheese potato salad. The zip in their blackberry sage soda. $11.66 for the trio makes it slightly more expensive than other lunch places in Downtown Boise. But let's be honest. It's good. It's worth the wait to stand in line during the hot summer days.

Let's break down that pastrami reuben ($8.50). A healthy amount of thinly sliced beef pastrami sitting underneath purple cabbage slaw and a slce of gruyere chese, with a slathering of russian relish dressing. The slaw makes it fresh, the relish makes it tangy, and the cheese makes it rich. It's familiar, yet surprisingly different.

Pair that with the potato salad and a refreshingly zippy blackberry sage mimosa ($7), and it's pure decadence masquerading as simple lunch fare.

Let's say you want to opt for the Turkey and Brie ($8) instead. A fine choice, I might add. In this case it's the apples and fig preserves that elevate the sandwich, making you wonder why you haven't tasted anything like that before.

You'll find similar offerings with everything else on their menu. From the salmon lox to the smoked pork cubano, Both of which, by the way, I ask for a lemon slice to spritz on top of.

I hate only one thing: They are not open on Saturdays or Evenings. Why? It's selfish really. Because I want to have a mimosa without having to go back to work after I drink it. In fact. I may want to have two.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunnyvale1
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Try the bleu cheese potato salad”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

My husband and I were traveling thru to Portland and stopped to have lunch. We picked the Bluebird cafe from a suggestion on Trip advisor forum. I enjoy eating at local places when we travel. Bluebird cafe was perfect fit for that. I had the Pastrami Ruben. The meat was tender and not fatty at all. The bread that they served it on was fresh and delicious. You should try the bleu cheese potato salad. The blue cheese was not to strong. On the way out the door I saw them making some drinks that looked so good so I ordered a Pomegranate Sage drink. Try it you will like it. The place was clean as was the restrooms. My only suggestion would be for them to get bigger bags to take half sandwiches home in. Our bags ripped when we put are sandwich in them.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sunnyvaleSunnyvale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Idaho
Level Contributor
88 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Oh, yummy, yum. But be warned, not open weekends!”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Picked the Bleubird for a business lunch. Line out the door the whole time I was there, but moved fast. Very telling about its popularity! Inventive, beautiful menu offerings. Had a really hard time deciding. Settled on the Turkey with brie. Drinks are made right there for you, basil lemonaide, rosemary grapefruit drink (I had the grapefruit) were are couple of options. Delish! Sandwich arrived on a paper-covered board with a nice side selection. Tried to go back today, but be warned, they are NOT open on weekends! Boo. Ended up with a really lousy lunch elsewhere. Oh, and only open for lunch!!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patty H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
76 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Best lunch in Boise!”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

This place is GREAT! Basically a sandwich board - usually a line out the door. Hours are Monday-Friday 11-4:30. I had the Salmon Lox sandwich and LOVED it! Also a glass of chardonnay served in a petite mason jar! I could see them as they made each sandwich - not skimping on anything! The bread is fresh and so good! Lunches are served on a small plank board lined w/ parchment. Drinks served in cute mason jars. Not a ton of seating - so tag-team it if you are w/ a friend so one of you can grab a table while the other orders! I would recommend going after 1:30 if you have the option. There is also seating upstairs. This is a WIN for Boise!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mummycentric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bleubird also viewed

 

Been to Bleubird? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing