We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meh...”

Golden Star Restaurant
Ranked #196 of 796 Restaurants in Boise
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Meh...”
Reviewed 29 September 2013 via mobile

Squishy, fatty chicken. Fried greasy everything. Not worth the price or calories. There is much better Chinese food to be had in Boise.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Amber H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    9
    3
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boise
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Long Time Boise Establishment - Okay but not great”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Funny to read the reviews on this restaurant which has been in Boise as long as I can remember. Based on our most recent visit, I'd evaluate it as neither as bad as portrayed by those who hate it nor as good as those who love it.

The food tends to be the "average" Chinese food prepared by restaurants that have been around for a long time so its probably most appealing to people who are used to that taste. Not very imaginative, but certainly acceptable. Portion sizes allow take-out for next day's lunch.

The ambiance, likewise, is reminiscent of the older style Chinese restaurants with dark interior and oriental décor. Service for our visit was average to above average.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MLW2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henderson, Nevada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“We can't do Chinese anywhere else!”
Reviewed 11 August 2012

No matter what, whenever we visit Boise, we have to eat at the Golden Star at least once. The barbequed pork and seeds are the best anywhere.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank cheryltapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Point, Oregon, United States
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best General Tao's Chicken Ever”
Reviewed 28 July 2012

Its been awhile since I've been to Boise but I used to have to get the general chicken at golden star at least once a month. Its what I order at every chinese restaurant i go to and they had the best I've ever had. I thought the fried rice was good too, the green onions really come out in it more than normal. Prices are average to slightly expensive, portions are below average, but that General Chicken tastes like Confucius would make.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Luke E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fresh and Flavorful”
Reviewed 29 March 2012

This is a little local restaurant, tucked in a shopping mall that always serves delicious food. Their fried rice is very flavorful, the crab rangoon has quite a bit of crab meat and all their chicken dishes are not swimming in grease. We eat here often and really enjoy every visit.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Allicat0101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Golden Star Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing