We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is a golf course” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shadow Valley Golf Course

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Shadow Valley Golf Course
Ranked #11 of 27 Outdoor Activities in Boise
Attraction details
Bonita, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“This is a golf course”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

This is a golf course, nice driving range, difficult holes, good layout, good views, this course had it all. I would have rated this excellent but I could not find the blue tees on the first hole and I think it was missing on one other hole. Very close to being excellent. Loved the views and layout. This course should be played. I do not usually loose any balls when I play, but lost two here. Play this course.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Randy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    5
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Scenic, dynamic, challenging”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

Jtudbury is a much better golfer than I am, but I love this course. He hit the nail on the head with his description of the course: beautiful, scenic setting, very well cared for and caters to all abilities. Both front and back have a great mix of hills and mature trees, which is what I love about it. As far as the front being left to right biased, I don't see it. There are many places where you can get yourself into trouble on all 18, but that just means you need to slow your swing down and play a little smarter, or pay the price. As far as tee times go, with a little forethought, I've never had a problem getting one as it seems others can attest to. In this area there are many easy courses to hit "comfortable drives", but there is only a handful of courses that are as dynamic and scenic as Shadow Valley. Anyone carrying a sub-10 handicap should have no problem here. Some people just need to complain, even if they have to really reach for reasons. For everyone else, have fun and enjoy the game.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank hckfrmwybck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“One of the valley's best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2013

This course is always fun. I have played here many times and there is always something new and exiting about it. Great layout and friendly staff. Well worth the drive and money.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank pugzoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
242 reviews
95 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Turn this course into a housing project!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2012

Other than Indian Lakes, this is the worst place for golf in the Treasure Valley. The course caters to golf tournaments so getting tee times is iffy at best. I would not choose a round there if it wasn't for some of the tournaments I play there each year. The course has two personalities. The front caters to amatures (like me) who play right handed and have a natural left to right (fad) golf ball trajectory. The course is challenging and beautiful in its' setting. The comes the back nine. It is so completely opposite of the front nine, you wonder who thought it up? The course immediately changes directions and favors right handers with a draw (pros). The fairways narrow and are lined with huge trees making nice comfortable drives impossible. It is disappointing to have a nice round going on the front only to lose strokes on the back because of the layout of the course. As an amature golfer with limited skills, it is difficult to make different shots so dramatically on one course. Of course there are always going to be challenging courses with a few holes designed to challenge our skills, but not a complete set of nine holes (except for 18 - which comes back to a left to right fad). As you are reading this you probably figure I am so hack with a 25 handicap. Unfortunately, I carry a 9.5 and have a variety of good shots in my arsenal. Just not enough to enjoy playing at Shadow Valley....

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank jtudbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“In the Top Three in Boise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2012

Good tough course. Not super long... even the average hitter can play from the tips... but you need radar mid-irons to hit the greens. Many years ago the staff was run by a lady who apparently gained her experience as a drill sergeant. The new staff is excellent... friendly and helpful.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank tojohndillonesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shadow Valley Golf Course also viewed

 

Been to Shadow Valley Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing